Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2014-04-24 , 23:33
sualk's Avatar
sualk sualk is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 674
Default Random Blank Screen Issue

In the last week or so, I've been experiencing a blank screen while surfing through the channels.

My signal strength is 100% and quality is 98%.

This issue just pops up randomly.

A decoder reboot normally sorts things out but why would this only start happening now, after 3 years of having a HD PVR decoder?
__________________
Setup: Twin LNB, Pace HD PVR 2P, HDMI, 40" HiSense Full HD LED TV.
  #2  
Old 2014-04-25 , 06:19
Terminator Terminator is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 676
I sit with the same problem...sometimes I get the "check yout settop box" screen. Same signal and strength
__________________
Explora - Primary
Pace 4 Tuner - Secondary
Samsung UHD TV
  #3  
Old 2014-04-25 , 08:22
MC Fathima's Avatar
MC Fathima MC Fathima is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,749
can you give me some details - which channels/programmes?
how long is it blank for? does it recover after a while or do you do any trouble shooting?
  #4  
Old 2014-04-25 , 09:08
sualk's Avatar
sualk sualk is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 674
It will just happen out of the blue (no specific channel).

The screen just goes black and nothing appears (can't even access the decoder's menu etc.).

I have to switch everything off from the main plug and do a reboot.
__________________
Setup: Twin LNB, Pace HD PVR 2P, HDMI, 40" HiSense Full HD LED TV.
  #5  
Old 2014-04-25 , 09:31
cdbjhb cdbjhb is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 545
We had one instance of this, I'm not sure but I think it was on Tues. or Wed. night and do remember it was at 17:38 - our 2U AND SD PVR both rebooted at exactly the same time, afterwards the 2U was blank in the same way with no functionality except able to go into standby, and also only came right after a hard (power off) reboot.
We were either on channel 180 or 101.
  #6  
Old 2014-04-25 , 09:55
MC Fathima's Avatar
MC Fathima MC Fathima is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,749
thanks for the feedback
please keep me posted if it happens again
  #7  
Old 2014-04-25 , 11:20
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,587
This is the phenomana that started on the 15th April, and it strikes so regularly, to no longer be a random event. Both my UEC HD PVR and SD PVR will reboot at exactly the same time. After this unexplained reboot ( and please NO comments about installation related issues and signal strengthe on tuner x, it is NOT the reason for this), the SD PVR AND the UEC HD PVR 4T will now randomly fail to come backafter the reboot. Blank screen audio loss or both is very common. On the SD PVR, TV2 is hit more often than TV1. Recording continues on the SD PVR, and are then blank. A reboot does not bring back the content either. Recordings complete normally and appear in the playlist, The HD PVR of course terminates the recording.

This IS a CA ( service authentication, etc) related matter, and MC's normal response is to try and ignore these complaints, or blame the users install and signal loss which is wearing very very thin. In the beginning of this latest pahse of such errors and reboots, we were getting all sorts of strange error messages, now those have dried up but clearly the root cause remains.

Something changed recently and whatever that change was is at the root of these problems.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
  #8  
Old 2014-04-25 , 11:22
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdbjhb View Post
We had one instance of this, I'm not sure but I think it was on Tues. or Wed. night and do remember it was at 17:38 - our 2U AND SD PVR both rebooted at exactly the same time, afterwards the 2U was blank in the same way with no functionality except able to go into standby, and also only came right after a hard (power off) reboot.
We were either on channel 180 or 101.

It was between 17:15 and 17:45 and it happened on Wednesday this week for sure.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
  #9  
Old 2014-04-27 , 21:29
ZAP_Tech ZAP_Tech is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 61
I also had this issue a few times, signal strength was 98% and quality 100% when I tried a rescan it said network not found. after a hard reset it worked. It mostly affected the HD range of channels. Cant explain why though... thought it might be cause I need to update my installation I don't have the recommended dish for HD but never had this type of issues before.
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blank screen ! Beast_power SD PVR 3 2012-07-25 03:34
Blank DOD Screen ! Olla DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 4 2010-01-28 13:09
unnatural blank screen Ria van der Moolen Service Queries 2 2009-06-03 15:24
Hd pvr screen goes blank Shaf HD PVR 1 2009-03-18 23:22
Screen goes black at random The-1 HD PVR 9 2009-01-16 08:30