Forum > DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) > General > General > Forum non access from MWeb ADSL
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2014-01-31 , 11:24
chrisvdh's Avatar
chrisvdh chrisvdh is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Henley on Klip
Posts: 894
Default Forum non access from MWeb ADSL

I am unable to access the Forum via my home MWeb ADSL connection. Call has been logged with technical at MWeb, but just a heads up.
__________________
90cm dish and LMX502
Explora 1 (Pri), HD-PVR2 (Sec), XV heartbeat via RF outs
Samsung 65 UHD via HDMI, Samsung 40 SHD via HDMI
Denon AVR-X1400H (5.1 / 2 zones)
  #2  
Old 2014-01-31 , 11:30
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisvdh View Post
via my home MWeb ADSL connection.
Am accessing via M-WEB Home ADSL as we speak, might be another issue - do they supply your actual ADSL line as well (mine is still from Telkom)?
  #3  
Old 2014-01-31 , 11:30
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,590
The forum seems very slow this morning with very little going on. Our access is really very good -----
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.

Last edited by Geoff D; 2014-01-31 at 13:41. .
  #4  
Old 2014-01-31 , 11:32
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,590
It depends on your contract, but

you are paying for the line (and associated telephone number)
Then you are paying for ADSL services - either direct to telkom or via MWeb to Telkom,
Then you are paying for whatever package you have.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
  #5  
Old 2014-01-31 , 11:37
chrisvdh's Avatar
chrisvdh chrisvdh is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Henley on Klip
Posts: 894
The forum is dead slow here at work. Almost a minute to open a thread. The problem at home has been for some time. I originally thought it was cache problems or cookies etc but no. Tried from my son's desktop and he had the same 403 Forbidden message. He then logged on via remote desktop to his worksite (over the Mweb link) and he could open the Forum. Mweb manage the whole line (including Telkom portion). 4MB uncapped.
__________________
90cm dish and LMX502
Explora 1 (Pri), HD-PVR2 (Sec), XV heartbeat via RF outs
Samsung 65 UHD via HDMI, Samsung 40 SHD via HDMI
Denon AVR-X1400H (5.1 / 2 zones)
  #6  
Old 2014-01-31 , 11:37
Staffy's Avatar
Staffy Staffy is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 784
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
Am accessing via M-WEB Home ADSL as we speak, might be another issue - do they supply your actual ADSL line as well (mine is still from Telkom)?
ditto , line with mweb
__________________
SD PVR (Refurbished), XV Not Ready, RF Split between 2 rooms, no active splitter. Ellies Remote Blaster. Dual LNB 60cm Dish
  #7  
Old 2014-01-31 , 11:46
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,094
Mine is 1 Mbps (still waiting for the free 2 Mbps upgrade ), what's yours Staffy?

Just tried both formats for accessing which sometimes behave differently;
http://forum...
http://www.forum...
Both behaving fine.

Don't even ask Geoff about his...
  #8  
Old 2014-01-31 , 12:31
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,094
Sounds like this problem may be location related, but as the Forum is so quiet maybe it needs investigation. No doubt Admin will know best.

BTW, was just testing my line speed again with www.speedtest.net
All results more or less as expected, and says connected to MWEB in Jo'burg, but it also says "Hosted by Neotel" What's up with that?!
  #9  
Old 2014-01-31 , 12:40
Staffy's Avatar
Staffy Staffy is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 784
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
Mine is 1 Mbps (still waiting for the free 2 Mbps upgrade ), what's yours Staffy?
4 totally worth it
__________________
SD PVR (Refurbished), XV Not Ready, RF Split between 2 rooms, no active splitter. Ellies Remote Blaster. Dual LNB 60cm Dish
  #10  
Old 2014-01-31 , 13:44
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
Don't even ask Geoff about his...
heh heh!

Average download speeds are >600 Mbps enough said
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
 
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DSTV on Demand Registration for non-ADSL access xler8or DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 2 2011-02-03 12:50
Why no DSTV on Demand Desktop access for Non Mweb Subscibers? JP du Plessis DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 1 2011-01-04 08:44
Is DStv on Demand exclusive to MWEB ADSL subscribers? Bortner DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 9 2010-09-06 18:53
Decoder linked to ADSL leather General 5 2010-06-03 08:51