Forum > DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) > DStv Products > HD PVR > HD PVR very poor SD picture quality
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2008-12-12 , 13:25
Geronimo Geronimo is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Default HD PVR very poor SD picture quality

Picture signal on SD channels is definitely choppy most of time. HD is fine. This is a subtle fault which most people are not aware of but can be cleary seen on stacatto behaviour of scrolling news banner on news channels ie not smooth.
I am sure Multichoice are aware of problem but do not know what to do about it.
Everybody should return decoders for refund - only then will something be done!
  #2  
Old 2008-12-12 , 13:30
Patrick No 1's Avatar
Patrick No 1 Patrick No 1 is offline
Changes remote batteries moderately.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: On the Intertubes.
Posts: 875
See issue 008 HDMI SD Video Stutter.
  #3  
Old 2008-12-12 , 13:37
Dominic's Avatar
Dominic Dominic is offline
AKA Gadgenator (Changes remote batteries daily)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Margate
Posts: 1,847
After I've changed my settings on the MENU it's much better (It looks for me).
I go to MENU, ADVANCED OPTIONS, EQUIPMENT SETTINGS & change the option on top to 1080i
__________________
Follow me all over @DominicMullerZA
  #4  
Old 2008-12-12 , 14:57
braniac braniac is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
I agree HD is awesome BUT SD is ****!
  #5  
Old 2008-12-12 , 16:45
Richard Richard is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 37
I agree - The SD picture is really soft, both via the HDMI and the Component outputs. Doing a side by side comparison with the SD-PVR, the SD-PVR is much sharper than the HD-PVR.
  #6  
Old 2008-12-12 , 16:57
Dominic's Avatar
Dominic Dominic is offline
AKA Gadgenator (Changes remote batteries daily)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Margate
Posts: 1,847
Did you people try changing that settings? to see if it's on 1080i?
After that my SD Channels looked better
__________________
Follow me all over @DominicMullerZA
  #7  
Old 2008-12-12 , 17:30
braniac braniac is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
I have just solved my problem.

I need to get a Digital TV .

CRT TV seems to give problems with HD PVR.

Thanks for your help guys.

Signing off .
  #8  
Old 2008-12-12 , 22:11
Wolfgang Wolfgang is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 230
My SD channels have always looked good.
  #9  
Old 2008-12-14 , 15:31
gambit gambit is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 401
Geronimo: You may be experiencing this problem which i had.

http://forum.dstv.com/showthread.php?t=417
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off