Forum > Customer service > Customer service > Deactivating a SD PVR- Does NOT work on line
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2018-02-06 , 22:32
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,591
Default Deactivating a SD PVR- Does NOT work on line

I have tried all day to deactivate my SD PVR, AFTER breaking the XV link.

All it will allow me to do is schedule a de-activation on the 2nd April 2018! It is a stoopid date!

I have tried to transfer the XV subscription to my Pace 4 tuner decoder .....

Why wont it let me therefore deactivate the SD PVR completely????
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2018-02-07 , 07:05
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,594
Annual subscription ?
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4Tuner HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2018-02-07 , 08:53
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke7777 View Post
Annual subscription ?
If so this wouldn't change any costs, so shouldn't be a factor.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2018-02-07 , 09:34
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,594
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
If so this wouldn't change any costs, so shouldn't be a factor.
No, I meant that deactivation might only be effective from next billing date and if that's annual it might explain the April date. Agree that cost will stay the same, however the deactivation process might see it differently
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4Tuner HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2018-02-07 , 09:38
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke7777 View Post
No, I meant that deactivation might only be effective from next billing date and if that's annual it might explain the April date. Agree that cost will stay the same, however the deactivation process might see it differently
Aah... except there's no true deactivation, in reality it's just a decoder transfer so MC must find a way around this then.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2018-02-07 , 09:48
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,594
Or this is all intended, has nothing to do with XV, and deactivation works on full calendar month
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4Tuner HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2018-02-07 , 10:24
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,326
@Geoff - unless you have another decoder activated, it will not allow you to deactive your active one before your next billing date. This is for self service only. You can ask MC Solomon to assist you with this.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2018-02-07 , 11:44
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,591
So the problem is that I have not yet successfully on line managed to activate the replacement decoders for the SD PVR?

Presumably, I should phone in to get this doen as it just does not want to work on line.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2018-02-07 , 12:16
MC Solomon MC Solomon is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 219
Our SelfService does not restrict the disconnections of any decoders if the necessary requirements(billing rules) are met.
If the decoder you want to disconnect is in the main residential account, our billing rules will apply and in this case the disconnection can only happen at the end of the billing cycle.
This is why you were prompted to schedule the disconnection.
It seems like you wanted to move packages from the SD PVR to your HD decoder. If so, our SelfService does not have an option to move packages from one decoder to another within the main residential account. The option is only available under holiday home as holiday switching and that will be between the main residential account and the holiday home account.

Last edited by MC Solomon; 2018-02-07 at 16:16. .
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2018-02-07 , 12:23
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,591
Thanks MC, Yes I see that the process does NOT allow one to successfully Cancel services on a broken decoder and move it to another decoder.

All you can do is break the link between two decoders, which means the SD PVR went on to its own subscription, and then try and activate the other decoder on XV as a secondary. But then that will not work on line.

There should be much more clear instructions on the on line service, maybe with a banner that warns you NOT to try and deactivate a decoder and replace it with another one....?

The call centre has now sorted it all out for me thank you.

If you confirm for me that the SD PVR is now cancelled and completely deactivated
and that the two decoders connected under XV are the UEC as Primary and the Pace as secondary please.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.

Last edited by Geoff D; 2018-02-07 at 15:59. .
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deactivating DSTV when not in use. SimonB Service Queries 3 2013-06-02 17:19
Issue an SMS notification prior to deactivating ZETA and Phillips SmartCards KingKong Service Queries 7 2013-04-08 10:35
Error Deactivating in self service. warlock Service Queries 0 2012-09-10 12:02
Problem deactivating smart card using Serf Service. Minsc Service Queries 2 2012-09-07 16:46
HD PVR Remote does not work Dominic Remote Controls 5 2009-11-30 07:46