Forum > Decoders > Installation > 3 Decoder Xtraview?
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 2017-03-02 , 17:07
shabzo shabzo is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Sorry meant RF Out

Thanks Optimist! Fully understand the need to ease up on your replies and thanks for all your help thus far
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 2017-03-22 , 12:17
JackEbden JackEbden is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Thank you to everyone in this thread.
I want to do it myself and the question I have is this:
If I have two Explora 2 decoders and the third one is the older Explorer 1, can I connect the two Explorer 2 units using the SLNB for the heartbeat and then run a conventional heartbeat from the primary Explorer 2 (RF Out) to the Explorer 1 (RF IN or RF OUT)? For clarity, the Explorer 1 will be on a separate dish and LNB!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 2017-03-22 , 12:58
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackEbden View Post
Thank you to everyone in this thread.
I want to do it myself and the question I have is this:
If I have two Explora 2 decoders and the third one is the older Explorer 1, can I connect the two Explorer 2 units using the SLNB for the heartbeat and then run a conventional heartbeat from the primary Explorer 2 (RF Out) to the Explorer 1 (RF IN or RF OUT)? For clarity, the Explorer 1 will be on a separate dish and LNB!
yes it should work as far as I know, the HB signal is always available on the RF ports. Should not matter which RF ports either. The determining factor is only important IF you want to allow viewing of content on the other Exploras at the location where the Explora 1 is located.. then it will probably better to go RF out on the Primary to RF IN on the Explora 1.



Maybe we need an answer from MC Field Services on this?
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 2017-03-22 , 13:44
JackEbden JackEbden is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Geoff,
Thank you. Not too phased by viewing of one decoder at other locations, but nice to have if itca be done so will bear that in mind.
My second dish is only 60cm. Do you absolutely have to have 80cm dish for explora. It currently feeds an old HD decoder without any problem, but using Universal 2 coax cable system?
Are Diplexers all the same if not where to get and which model. Ellies I CT?
Jack
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 2017-03-22 , 17:51
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,580
A 60 cm antenna is best but provided the smaller one is properly aligned it will work okay except in bad weather, where service should fail on this one before services on the bigger one fail.

You DO NOT need a diplexer for the Explora 1 IF it is connected to its own LNB. It is only required where it is also connected to the SLNB feeding the other two decoders AND you want to feed HB to the decoders via the LNB cabling.

I presume the older antenna has a TWIN LNB feeding an Explora switch which then feeds the Explora 1? If so, no changes to your install are required.

The HB cable to the older decoder is the only requirement.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 2017-12-17 , 18:43
mamuskmeister mamuskmeister is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Default 3 decoder onstallation

The HD zapper has no RF OUT. How does it work with the 3 decoder
installation?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 2017-12-17 , 22:31
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,580
Presume you are referring to the new 4137 HD decoder 5S or 5U?
If so, this decoder is designed primarily to work with a SLNB configured to pass the HB via the SLNB between decoders.

IF you want to use the older way of running HB via RF, you need to use a diplexer in reverse to allow you to connect the HB cable from the other decoders.

MC have coined a new definition of an XV installation to describe this configuration. Called "Uniview".
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XtraView secondary decoder: some channels disconnect and get lost Hentie Helm XtraView 4 2010-07-28 09:16
Xtraview + second independant decoder Dieter XtraView 1 2010-06-16 13:46
Old Dual View decoder + HD PVR & Xtraview Compatible? Spook XtraView 12 2009-10-10 11:16
NEW Primary Decoder & Xtraview not working xarsus XtraView 1 2009-04-29 10:03
Shutdown & Restart problem with the 1110 decoder with the Xtraview connection Basil XtraView 3 2008-11-24 13:27