Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2015-01-18 , 07:28
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,214
Default Reboot Times

I wonder how the massively increased boot times on the various decoders have impacted customer care.

Imagine the extra time required for troubleshooting over the phone and at the walk in centre. I can imagine that these costs are both real and large.

Unintended consequences.
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2015-01-18 , 09:05
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,098
And the now much longer lost viewing time, and the now huge recording gaps, and, and, and... it's truly remarkable that MC could consider this acceptable service
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2015-01-18 , 09:11
gwalker gwalker is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 7,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
And the now much longer lost viewing time, and the now huge recording gaps, and, and, and... it's truly remarkable that MC could consider this acceptable service
Another good reason to discontinue the slow older decoders.
The reason the slower reboot is the scanning of channels. Because there is more channels and transponders, it takes even longer.

It is also does some HDD checks which is better for operational and support reasons. Something has to give.
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2015-01-18 , 09:16
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,098
It's better not to presume too much with partial knowledge only... as has been discussed elsewhere weeks ago, the much slower reboot problem is primarily related to a long pause on all the DVB-S2 transponders, a simple enough issue to bypass.

The real problem it would appear (said this way as I don't have facts to back it up, therefore not wanting to confuse anyone) is a lack of internal support for strongly required user needs, and that from way before the official support discontinuance announcement.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2015-01-18 , 09:24
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwalker View Post
Another good reason to discontinue the slow older decoders.
It would be much easier to discontinue older decoders if the replacements were compelling options.
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2015-01-18 , 09:27
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon View Post
It would be much easier to discontinue older decoders if the replacements were compelling options.
And practically valid ones...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2015-01-18 , 13:01
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwalker View Post
Another good reason to discontinue the slow older decoders.
The reason the slower reboot is the scanning of channels. Because there is more channels and transponders, it takes even longer.

It is also does some HDD checks which is better for operational and support reasons. Something has to give.
By comparison then, what is the boot time for an Explora supposed to be?
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2015-01-18 , 13:12
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
By comparison then, what is the boot time for an Explora supposed to be?
Fractionally under 2 minutes; just measured with a (clockwork, analogue) stop-watch

The 2P takes1 minute 23 seconds, including the time taken to press "exit" to avoid the optional rescan.

Cheers, K.
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 49" S-UHD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp, Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. Home Theatre PC, Chromecast
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System, Slingbox Solo; Chromecast

Last edited by Sandtonman; 2015-01-18 at 13:22. .
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2015-01-18 , 13:35
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,098
*sigh* and there's the problem, the SD PVR's reboots (and other SD decoders as well BTW) are now taking about 3 times as long as they used to (my estimate from memory), all due to a simple oversight that causes unbelievably long delays with each and every DVB-S2 transponder being scanned.

We've been requesting that something be done about this for a very long time now
Further, unfortunately this forum section isn't one much in focus for such attention.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2015-01-18 , 16:30
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandtonman View Post
Fractionally under 2 minutes; just measured with a (clockwork, analogue) stop-watch

The 2P takes1 minute 23 seconds, including the time taken to press "exit" to avoid the optional rescan.

Cheers, K.
Thanks but as just about all reboots on the older decoders now require a rescan, what we need is a value for an Explora reboot that includes a complete rescan.

And yes, even though everyone knows the SD PVR is not DVBS2 capable, the rescan process now behaves as Optimist has indicated, which is a programming matter, NOT anything to do with hardware capability.

So, gwalker, please do not use this as a justification to claim that the older decoders need to be replaced.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reboot after reboot Lollyj SD PVR 0 2013-08-29 13:22
How many times have you redone all your recordings ... Simon HD PVR 2 2009-05-08 19:53
Picture flashes a few times then goes blank surrey HD PVR 4 2009-05-05 21:32
HD to HD - secondary re-boots about 15 times per day jaimo XtraView 49 2009-04-15 09:00