Forum > Value Added Services > DStv Now > Suggestion Box: DStv Now
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61  
Old 2018-02-07 , 15:51
ian16th ian16th is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke7777 View Post
What is there in the profile/account info accessible from DStv Now that you worry about ? Just had a look on my desktop and couldn't see anything 'dangerous'
Anyone logged in can change things, such as passwords and e-mail address.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 2018-02-07 , 16:24
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,594
Quote:
Originally Posted by ian16th View Post
Anyone logged in can change things, such as passwords and e-mail address.
They'll only do once.... and then be without it for the rest of (the year/their life)

Maybe MC can implement OTP for those changes
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4Tuner HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)

Last edited by Luke7777; 2018-02-07 at 16:30. .
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 2018-02-07 , 16:42
ian16th ian16th is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 41
Setting up a OTP system is too complicated for this simple application.

A 2nd level of password protected authority will do the job.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 2018-02-07 , 18:17
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,594
Parental authority should be easier
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4Tuner HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 2018-02-07 , 18:18
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke7777 View Post
Parental authority should be easier
It's karma for what we did to our parents
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 2018-02-07 , 19:16
ian16th ian16th is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 41
With mobile devices this is not restricted to parental authority.

Mobile devices can be used by many people. I used the children initialy, but thinking about it, the problem is bigger.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 2018-02-08 , 06:52
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,594
You can still only have 4 mobile devices linked to your DStv Now, so giving access is all up to you. You either trust them or you don't.

But I hear your pain , and additional authentication on profile info is not a bad idea
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4Tuner HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 2018-02-14 , 13:37
FIFO FIFO is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 60
Can't you guys create a tool tip text function so that when you hover around a title its info can actually pop up instead of having to press on the title to read the info. Its time consuming
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 2018-02-14 , 19:47
Chido Chido is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 13
Is there any way to measure data consumption on dstv now? For example: five hours viewing on dstv now will be how many megabytes consumed?
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 2018-02-14 , 20:12
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chido View Post
Is there any way to measure data consumption on dstv now? For example: five hours viewing on dstv now will be how many megabytes consumed?
Again, we can't really say if you have the same bandwidth quality in Nigeria.

Unfortunately if you confuse others with your questions the Mods may have to ask you not to post, we really can only help with some installation queries for you guys and even that is more difficult as you're much further north on the other satellite system which most here know nothing about.

But maybe a Mod can offer some response tomorrow.
I'm not going to involve myself further though.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suggestion Box: Catch Up MC Nic DStv Catch Up 66 2017-06-05 12:26
Suggestion Box: BoxOffice MC Nic BoxOffice 7 2016-07-29 03:16
DStv Now Now Exclusive to PVR Subscribers Revorushin Customer service 4 2015-04-30 09:29
DStv Mobile for South Africa (Channel List Suggestion) t0209 DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 0 2012-12-10 10:21
DSTV`s Alphabet Filler: Suggestion more repeats for you General 1 2012-05-21 13:16