Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2010-06-05 , 16:08
Cesarae's Avatar
Cesarae Cesarae is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 68
Exclamation Pace HD PVR continually rebooting

Hi there,
My HD-PVR (Pace), has worked reasonably well since I purchased it 5 Months ago (mind the lacklustre software, and slow performance), but I have a more worrying issue with my HD-PVR, it happened a few weeks ago when it continually rebooted, I tried to find the problem but nothing worked because before I had a chance to do anything it would reboot. I disconnected it for the night, and in the morning it somehow worked correctly (3 weeks ago), until today. It seems this problem has come about since the s/w upgrade in May.

I highly doubt it has anything to do with overheating as my PVR is in a well ventilated area, not to mention I have installed an extra fan externally (with external power source).

My installation is as follows:
  • Pace HD-Pvr & SD PVR (Xtra View)
  • Twin LNB, 6-way multi switch.
  • Uses the Rf-in port for the heartbeat..
(I have seen a similar post in this forum, but the recipient was not very specific nor were the responses detailed)

Would some sage please help me, I would most certainly appreciate it.

Last edited by MC Rory; 2010-06-10 at 12:12. . Reason: Title
  #2  
Old 2010-06-05 , 16:27
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,409
Cesarae, even though your environment is well ventilated this does not mean that your PVR has not developed a fault which causes it to fail when it warms up; this type of fault is common in electronic systems.

It sounds, from your description of leaving the PVR off overnight and the fault disappearing, that this may well be the case with your PVR; you should not discount the possibility of a "hot fault". But do also make sure that both the Mains plug and "figure-of-8" connector in the back of the PVR are fully inserted.

It's unlikely to be related to the 5-May firmware update; auto-rebooting is not an issue that's been reported for either the Pace or UEC units associated with the upgrade. (though it's since been blamed for just about everything!)

How frequent are the reboots?
Leave the unit off overnight again and tell us if the fault disappears again for a while?

Cheers, S
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 49" S-UHD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp, Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. Home Theatre PC, Chromecast
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System, Slingbox Solo; Chromecast

Last edited by Sandtonman; 2010-06-05 at 16:36. .
  #3  
Old 2010-06-05 , 17:03
Cesarae's Avatar
Cesarae Cesarae is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 68
Default Rebooting

Hi Sandtonman,

Thank you very much for your speedy reply. The reboots are in the best way to describe it Cyclic:
  1. The PVR boots,
  2. Searches for its signals
  3. Loads
  4. Whilst the TV is on it comes up with a picture and is responsive, then within 20seconds it reboots again, and again, and again, then it will work for a little while, then again and again non-stop.
In your opinion might this be a hardware fault? All cables are correctly fitted.

I've searched and found this interesting article on mybroadband.co.za pertaining to this rebooting issue >> HD PVR woes continue

Last edited by Cesarae; 2010-06-05 at 17:20. .
  #4  
Old 2010-06-05 , 17:50
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cesarae View Post
Hi Sandtonman,

Thank you very much for your speedy reply. The reboots are in the best way to describe it Cyclic:
  1. The PVR boots,
  2. Searches for its signals
  3. Loads
  4. Whilst the TV is on it comes up with a picture and is responsive, then within 20seconds it reboots again, and again, and again, then it will work for a little while, then again and again non-stop.
In your opinion might this be a hardware fault? All cables are correctly fitted.

I've searched and found this interesting article on mybroadband.co.za pertaining to this rebooting issue >> HD PVR woes continue
Yip, pretty much for sure with that frequency of rebooting it's a hardware problem in the PVR; (or a sparky power lead -- but you say you've checked that), which would cause this sort of problem.

Only problem, if it's a hot-fault, it may not occur after cooling down for a trip to MC. I'd still turn it off overnight again for a test first so you can explain to them if it goes away on the journey :-)

Cheers, S
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 49" S-UHD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp, Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. Home Theatre PC, Chromecast
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System, Slingbox Solo; Chromecast
  #5  
Old 2010-06-05 , 18:09
Cesarae's Avatar
Cesarae Cesarae is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 68
OK this might freak you out a bit, I turned it back on and it still restarted continuously, but then I got so frustrated with the black box, I pressed the power button on and held it as it was loading, it all of a sudden went into the Searching for channels menu and seems to be working for the time being.

What could this be?
Thank again for your expertise.
  #6  
Old 2010-06-08 , 21:28
Wolfgang Wolfgang is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 230
My Pace HDPVR started re-booting itself continously today. I disconnected power for a while but did not help.

I then left it disconnected for quite a while to cool down before trying it again but that did not work either.

I will leave it off overnight and try again in the morning when it is completely cold.

Might try holding the power button as Cesarae did, but doubt this would work but you never know.

My first HDPVR which I got in August 2008 packed in after two weeks but this one has been working perfectly until today.
  #7  
Old 2010-06-09 , 10:09
Wolfgang Wolfgang is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 230
Well the decoder being ice-cold this morning did not change anything. It still continiously re-boots itself.

So I guess its off to the stores to go and buy a new one. Hope the next one lasts longer than 21 months!
  #8  
Old 2010-06-09 , 10:15
gwalker gwalker is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 7,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfgang View Post
Well the decoder being ice-cold this morning did not change anything. It still continiously re-boots itself.

So I guess its off to the stores to go and buy a new one. Hope the next one lasts longer than 21 months!
Take it in to MC, if you don't have a decoder plan, they charge a repair/swap out fee. Maybe see if you can get the UEC instead! Don't have to spend money on a new unit.
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
  #9  
Old 2010-06-09 , 10:49
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwalker View Post
Take it in to MC, if you don't have a decoder plan, they charge a repair/swap out fee. Maybe see if you can get the UEC instead! Don't have to spend money on a new unit.
Agreed, take it to MC. Regret they will only do a like-for-like swap. i.e. Pace-for-Pace. Cheers, S
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 49" S-UHD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp, Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. Home Theatre PC, Chromecast
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System, Slingbox Solo; Chromecast
  #10  
Old 2010-06-09 , 10:49
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfgang View Post
Well the decoder being ice-cold this morning did not change anything. It still continiously re-boots itself.

So I guess its off to the stores to go and buy a new one. Hope the next one lasts longer than 21 months!
That's hasty, you need to prove the decoder faulty first as it may be something else.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
 
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off