Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > HD PVR 2P Decoder reboots very often
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #201  
Old 2017-02-17 , 14:43
MC Strini MC Strini is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 10
@JanHorn & Optimist ... Thanks for clarifying
__________________
Tech Support
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 2017-03-02 , 12:26
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,039
Quick update for the technical team.
There have been no new findings yet.
The investigation will continue with the same high priority.
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 2017-03-02 , 13:08
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 411
Thanks for the feedback Marietjie. It is appreciated. So what you are saying that since this was first reported on 27 September 2015 by Wayne44 we are still not near a solution to the problem. See his post at http://forum.dstv.com/showthread.php...hlight=reboots It seem it a bigger problem and more complex to solve than anticipated.
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10

Last edited by Jan Horn; 2017-03-02 at 21:52. .
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 2017-03-03 , 13:19
MC Strini MC Strini is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 10
@JanHorn .. That's right. It is a very complex problem.

Guys, the technical team has one decoder that does not show the problem and a couple of other decoders that show the problem. The one difference between the working and "not working" decoders is the smartcard versions. They would like to see if the version of smartcard plays a role in this problem.

Please can you let us know what version of smartcard you guys are using.

Go to "Menu > Information Central > Hardware Status" and scroll Right to "CA Status". The value for "SC Ver:"
__________________
Tech Support
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 2017-03-03 , 13:27
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 411
Smart Card 6.0 Build 1
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old 2017-03-03 , 15:21
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 4,854
Smartcard 7 build 2.

Just to add that I was away from 20 to 24 February and therefore never used the decoder during this period although it was left on to do the downloading of programs that I record. Since the 25 I have been using the decoder as normal albeit not as often as before I went away. However, there's still an hour or more that I use it every day. Just not using the interactive applications which is something I've not been doing for a couple of months. Reason I'm giving this bit of useless information is that today is the 3 March and my last reboot was at 16:37 on the 19 FEBRUARY. Longest period I've gone without a reboot. Could it be that with usage the memory doesn't clear itself and "blows a fuse"?

Anyway, now that I've mentioned this good news I fully expect that my next reboot isn't going to be too far away.
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old 2017-03-03 , 16:07
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 411
BB to compare notes. On 25 February the Decoder was powered down to check the alignment of the dish and the skew angle of the SLNB. From the 25 February the only activity on the decoder was the recording of some of the Bond films currently showing on 109. Yesterday I checked and noted that no reboots took place since 25/2,then used the News APP at 12:25. The decoder rebooted at 12:42.
I note you have a different version of smart card. I would have expected to see the same version in light of MC Strini's post
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10

Last edited by Jan Horn; 2017-03-03 at 17:22. . Reason: fixed typo
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old 2017-03-03 , 19:10
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 4,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jan Horn View Post
BB to compare notes. On 25 February the Decoder was powered down to check the alignment of the dish and the skew angle of the SLNB. From the 25 February the only activity on the decoder was the recording of some of the Bond films currently showing on 109. Yesterday I checked and noted that no reboots took place since 25/2,then used the News APP at 12:25. The decoder rebooted at 12:42.
I note you have a different version of smart card. I would have expected to see the same version in light of MC Strini's post
Yes. I also would have thought that we might have had the same version smart card and was surprised that this isn't the case. Any idea what smart card your daughter's decoder has?
As far as the News and Sports Apps are concerned I've deliberately stopped using them. Missing it but not worth the problems of the reboots which have often happened while a recording is taking place.
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old 2017-03-03 , 20:24
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 411
Since I have obtained the Explora 2A I have been using new and sport apps on the Explora the majority of the time. Very glad to report that it does not cause any reboots. The 2P has been demoted to XV and the Explora 2A is the one we now mainly use for our day to day viewing. I do not know what version smart card my Daughter is using but her decoder is much older than ours but they did a swap out after we got our decoder so it could be any version. I will speak to her over the weekend and maybe they are at home and not on the Golf Course when I get hold of her.
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old 2017-03-04 , 12:13
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 4,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jan Horn View Post
Since I have obtained the Explora 2A I have been using new and sport apps on the Explora the majority of the time. Very glad to report that it does not cause any reboots. The 2P has been demoted to XV and the Explora 2A is the one we now mainly use for our day to day viewing. I do not know what version smart card my Daughter is using but her decoder is much older than ours but they did a swap out after we got our decoder so it could be any version. I will speak to her over the weekend and maybe they are at home and not on the Golf Course when I get hold of her.
Is she still experiencing the reboots? I'm certain that if both you and I are experiencing the reboots, after using the interactive apps, then there must be many others who will be experiencing this as well. Yet, nobody else posts about this problem.
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony Entertainment Channel - Picture very very bad LesleyH Picture/Audio Quality 14 2012-11-29 15:39
Pace HD PVR runs very hot then reboots Macman HD PVR 4 2012-01-07 20:10
have to reboot often Gerard0601 HD PVR 3 2010-05-24 17:56
SDPVR reboots very long Theo SD PVR 10 2009-09-30 18:07