Forum > DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) > ... cellphone number is not registered ...
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2013-12-13 , 16:42
Misen75's Avatar
Misen75 Misen75 is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 60
Default ... cellphone number is not registered ...

I sometimes get this message when renting a movie on my HD PVR:

"We are not able to process your rental request as your cellphone number is not registered to this smartcard. Please SMS the smartcard number displayed on your BoxOffice screen to 37569 before you start renting."

This means I have to pay for 3 SMSes to rent a movie instead of 1, but I only have one cellphone number. Why my number is sometimes deregistered?
__________________
90CM DISH | UNIVERSAL TWIN LNB | EXPLORA (PRIMARY) | PACE HD PVR 2P (SECONDARY) | 50" LG LED HDTV | DSD 1131 (EASYVIEW).
  #2  
Old 2013-12-14 , 08:10
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,357
Not sure when you'll get an answer as quite a few Mods are on holiday now, maybe call the BO call centre in the meantime - perhaps an agent or supervisor can try reset your account for you.
  #3  
Old 2013-12-17 , 08:34
MC Nic's Avatar
MC Nic MC Nic is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Randburg
Posts: 4,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misen75 View Post
I sometimes get this message when renting a movie on my HD PVR:

"We are not able to process your rental request as your cellphone number is not registered to this smartcard. Please SMS the smartcard number displayed on your BoxOffice screen to 37569 before you start renting."

This means I have to pay for 3 SMSes to rent a movie instead of 1, but I only have one cellphone number. Why my number is sometimes deregistered?
Morning Misen75,

Are you by any chance renting movies from different PVRs?

MC Nic.
  #4  
Old 2013-12-17 , 08:38
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,413
Wink

I was asked this question over the weekend. Did not know the answer.

What happens IF you have more than one PVR on one account and you want to be able to rent movies on each?

Presumably there would be separate registers for each PVR but does this stretch to separate BO accounts?
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2013-12-17 at 13:04. .
  #5  
Old 2013-12-17 , 09:41
MC Nic's Avatar
MC Nic MC Nic is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Randburg
Posts: 4,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
I was asked this question over the weekend. Did not know the answer.

What happens IF you have more than one PVR on one account and you want to be able to rent movies on each?

Presumably there would be separate regiosters for each PVR butdoes this stretch to separate BO accounts?
Hi Geoff,

Your BoxOffice account is linked to your customer number. You can have multiple PVRs linked to a single customer number (and BoxOffice Account), BUT each smartcard will need to be separately registered for BoxOffice.

MC Nic.
  #6  
Old 2013-12-17 , 12:35
Misen75's Avatar
Misen75 Misen75 is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Nic View Post
Morning Misen75,

Are you by any chance renting movies from different PVRs?

MC Nic.

No. I only have one PVR. I am not sure if this problem is linked to the fact that I am unable to rent movies from my BoxOffice account without first making the payment, even though my DSTV subs are paid by debit order.
__________________
90CM DISH | UNIVERSAL TWIN LNB | EXPLORA (PRIMARY) | PACE HD PVR 2P (SECONDARY) | 50" LG LED HDTV | DSD 1131 (EASYVIEW).
  #7  
Old 2013-12-17 , 12:54
MC Nic's Avatar
MC Nic MC Nic is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Randburg
Posts: 4,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misen75 View Post
No. I only have one PVR. I am not sure if this problem is linked to the fact that I am unable to rent movies from my BoxOffice account without first making the payment, even though my DSTV subs are paid by debit order.
It shouldn't be. Once your cell number is linked to your BoxOffice Account, it should stay there.

I suggest logging onto the self-service site (here http://selfservice.dstv.com) to manage your cellphone numbers and make sure your number is correctly linked.

Once you've logged in, click on MY ACCOUNT, then scroll down to BOXOFFICE and click MANAGE CELL NUMBERS.

(Incidentally, you can ask our call centre to link your BoxOffice Account to our debit order system. Call 011 289 2244)

MC Nic.
  #8  
Old 2013-12-17 , 13:07
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Nic View Post
Hi Geoff,

Your BoxOffice account is linked to your customer number. You can have multiple PVRs linked to a single customer number (and BoxOffice Account), BUT each smartcard will need to be separately registered for BoxOffice.

MC Nic.

Thank you very much.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
  #9  
Old 2013-12-17 , 14:08
MC Nic's Avatar
MC Nic MC Nic is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Randburg
Posts: 4,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
Thank you very much.
You're welcome
  #10  
Old 2013-12-17 , 14:44
gwalker gwalker is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 7,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misen75 View Post
No. I only have one PVR. I am not sure if this problem is linked to the fact that I am unable to rent movies from my BoxOffice account without first making the payment, even though my DSTV subs are paid by debit order.
The Box Office has its own account and as I understand has to have a positive balance and seperate to the main DStv account. There is a way to top it up from a Debit Order

Maybe MC Nic can explain how the Box Office Debit order works.
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
 
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unsolicited cellphone spam! :-( Optimist DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 4 2013-09-12 09:21
How to view movie if not in a cellphone reception area? Lasco DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 4 2012-12-28 22:09
Registered but cannot access my account Liebenberg Service Queries 5 2012-11-01 18:51
Adding cellphone numbers to my BoxOffice account Merv DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 4 2011-07-27 13:46
New decoder registered to someone zimwaves Service Queries 7 2011-06-07 10:22