Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2009-07-10 , 23:50
Glen's Avatar
Glen Glen is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 260
Default Shocking service

We picked up the new smartcard for the SD PVR yesterday and today we called the call centre to activate Xtra View. The first person immediately started going through the settings and telling us that "Communication Port" should be set to "RF IN" on the HD PVR. Since we have a 4B installation (and installed it ourselves), I thought that changing this was a bad idea, but anyway, we told him we'd have to change the cables around and would call back later (I just *love* the fact that you speak to a different person every time you call in! [sarcasm]).

So, we moved the heartbeat cable from RF OUT to RF IN on the HD PVR, and called the call centre again. This person also checked settings, and then we proceeded with the activation. After everything was done, we were still left with a "Waiting for communication from Primary decoder" message on the SD PVR, and after trying a bunch of things which involved flicking back and forth between the HD and SD PVR about a hundred times (each time meaning a change to the TV input, Amp, and RCU), she finally told us that MC were having signal issues and that we should call back in about an hour if the message had not gone away. It hadn't.

Time for the third call of the day. This guy knew *nothing*. In fact, he even told us that he didn't receive enough training. He put us on hold twice and each time left for what seemed like ages. Eventually he told us that he was trying to get hold of an expert, so we asked him to please get that expert to call us back. No call received.

I'm now also not able to access the HD PVR channel from the 2nd and 3rd TVs.

I thought that this would be a 2 minute call, instead we spent about an hour on the phone at *our* expense, and the end result means that we're worse off than when we started!

Should the heartbeat cable have been moved? Should the call centre agent even ask us about such things? (since I don't see it mentioned here.) Are there any competent call centre agents?

So we have cr*p service, cr*p broadcast quality, and cr*p decoder software. Good job.
  #2  
Old 2009-07-11 , 10:37
Barendb's Avatar
Barendb Barendb is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Pretoria, Doornpoort
Posts: 1,017
Move the cables back.
Change the settings on the EXTRAVIEW to RF-OUT.
Then call them if everything is not working.
If they ask you if the cable is in the RF-IN. Just say yes. They have no idea of where it is and it can be on the RF-OUT as long as the settings is correct.
__________________
4B - Dual LNB - 2x6 MS - HD-PVR[Out] - SD-PVR[Out] (XV Activated)
RF Dist: T-PIECE- SLX(4) Splitter, 3 x TVLINKS: LCD Plasma, LG LCD connected via HDMI Splitter
  #3  
Old 2009-07-11 , 13:46
Glen's Avatar
Glen Glen is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barendb View Post
Move the cables back.
Change the settings on the EXTRAVIEW to RF-OUT.
Then call them if everything is not working.
If they ask you if the cable is in the RF-IN. Just say yes. They have no idea of where it is and it can be on the RF-OUT as long as the settings is correct.
Changed back. Still not working.

They can call me for a change.
  #4  
Old 2009-07-11 , 14:24
CASPER CASPER is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen View Post
They can call me for a change.
Fat chance of that happening....
  #5  
Old 2009-07-12 , 18:22
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen View Post
Changed back. Still not working.

They can call me for a change.
You are going to wait until hell freezes over. I suggest you send a PM to mcaitv for help. and leave it on RF OUT!
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
  #6  
Old 2009-07-12 , 19:35
Glen's Avatar
Glen Glen is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by CASPER View Post
Fat chance of that happening....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
You are going to wait until hell freezes over.
Not if MCA itv reads this topic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
I suggest you send a PM to mcaitv for help. and leave it on RF OUT!
I intend to if this topic isn't noticed by late morning tomorrow.

Glen.
  #7  
Old 2009-07-13 , 11:22
MC Brenda's Avatar
MC Brenda MC Brenda is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randburg
Posts: 3,246
I think the topic heading doesn't do the service you have recieved justice :- (
Bad, bad, bad... have escalated as discussed on PM. Apologies are not enough.
  #8  
Old 2009-07-13 , 11:35
: ) C4's Avatar
: ) C4 : ) C4 is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Planet Zogg
Posts: 1,437
If your setup was working and you tested the heartbeat path ( via remote relay) you should not change it.

Just tell the Call centre the installation has been checked and you are just phoning ot get it activated.

The Call centre should only ask about the installation if it is not working, or if the caller is enquiring about XtraView.
__________________
I don't believe in astrology. I am a Sagittarius and we're very skeptical.
~ Arthur C Clarke
  #9  
Old 2009-07-13 , 11:59
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by : ) C4 View Post
If your setup was working and you tested the heartbeat path ( via remote relay) you should not change it.

Just tell the Call centre the installation has been checked and you are just phoning ot get it activated.

The Call centre should only ask about the installation if it is not working, or if the caller is enquiring about XtraView.

Welcome back! Hope you had a good break and are ready to do battle!
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
  #10  
Old 2009-07-13 , 12:19
Glen's Avatar
Glen Glen is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by : ) C4 View Post
If your setup was working and you tested the heartbeat path ( via remote relay) you should not change it.
That's what I thought. I forgot how to test the heartbeat path -- I'm using remote blasters from the other 2 rooms to the lounge, the remote blaster receiver is sending commands to the SD PVR. I can control the SD PVR with the HD PVR remote by changing the dial to "A" (IIRC). The 2 other rooms have SD PVR RCUs, to test, would I need to use an HD PVR RCU in one of the other 2 rooms? That would then send commands to the SD PVR which would relay them to the HD PVR. Is that correct?

Quote:
Originally Posted by : ) C4 View Post
Just tell the Call centre the installation has been checked and you are just phoning ot get it activated.
Except that now it's in a "half-activated" state -- pin code stuff is done, but there's a "Waiting for communication from Primary decoder" message on the SD PVR. Can they do something from their side to fix this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by : ) C4 View Post
The Call centre should only ask about the installation if it is not working, or if the caller is enquiring about XtraView.
Then there is a problem with the call centre staff.
 
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off