Forum > Decoders > Installation > Upgrade HDPVR to Explora
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2015-01-06 , 09:39
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
......Some would argue that as the Explora switch has fixed input ports, that it is in any case better to use a Quattro LNB, and they may be correct in the longer run. IF one wants to retain flexibility on your install, a universal LNB is the better option......
Hi Geoff, thanks.

I understand that you are saying that MC has not made a definitive statement at this point as to whether a Quattro or Quad LNB should be used; or whether either can be used. So there is still lack of clarity.

Furthermore, there is additional confusion as to naming conventions among local suppliers of LNBs.

When I speak to various MC accredited installers they are none the wiser.

It would be really useful for MC to clarify the future LNB requirement. I'll therefore ping a PM to MC to attempt to get an official clarification posted. It's particularly important to get the planning correct in a MUD environment such as ours.

Cheers, K.
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 49" S-UHD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp, Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. Home Theatre PC, Chromecast
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System, Slingbox Solo; Chromecast
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2015-01-06 , 09:52
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,323
May I suggest someone contacts @C4.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2015-01-06 , 09:53
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandtonman View Post
Hi Geoff, thanks.

I understand that you are saying that MC has not made a definitive statement at this point as to whether a Quattro or Quad LNB should be used; or whether either can be used. So there is still lack of clarity.

Furthermore, there is additional confusion as to naming conventions among local suppliers of LNBs.

When I speak to various MC accredited installers they are none the wiser.

It would be really useful for MC to clarify the future LNB requirement. I'll therefore ping a PM to MC to attempt to get an official clarification posted. It's particularly important to get the planning correct in a MUD environment such as ours.

Cheers, K.
Now in your case, where a complete re-design of your MUD distribution may be required, I would think a genuine Quattro LNB will probably be the better option. But there are implications in terms of the cable distribution system.
I would suggest you make contact with Inverto (Unicable), in this regard. They had a very large stand at the AFRICACOM 2014 conference in CT in November last year, where they had on display a number of alternative distribution systems.

I truly miss the openness on MCs part that we had in the past on these matters, as it is very important to understand their thinking. The installers are slightly better off than we are, but in many cases, they are also only "fed" limited information. At the moment all they are "told" is you need a "Quad" LNB and a 90 cm antenna. In my area, some are installing Quattro LNBs, others are installing Quad LNBs. Both work, as all that is needed is two universal ports, where only the switching voltage is important.

Especially for MUD installs, where one would want an install that is open enough to allow competitive DTH providers to operate seamlessly over the distribution network, and NOT customise the MUD design to suit only one service provider.

Moving too early will limit your options, but moving too late will mean not being ready when the switch over occurs. Do not ignore the possibility of switching to optic fibre based distribution systems. Optic fibre distribution systems are already in use in other parts of the World. The technology is mature and has definite advantages over copper RF distribution, especially in high lightning areas.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2015-01-06 at 10:04. .
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2015-01-06 , 10:29
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
...... Moving too early will limit your options, but moving too late will mean not being ready when the switch over occurs .....
Precisely; 100% my thinking.
And yes, we are also considering a fibre solution. I met with your recommended specialist from FTTH last year.

It's a big decision and costly to do well.

Glad I've got the discussion going early.

Cheers, K.
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 49" S-UHD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp, Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. Home Theatre PC, Chromecast
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System, Slingbox Solo; Chromecast
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2015-01-06 , 10:30
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
May I suggest someone contacts @C4.
Have already done so. K.
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 49" S-UHD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp, Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. Home Theatre PC, Chromecast
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System, Slingbox Solo; Chromecast
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2015-01-06 , 14:31
: ) C4's Avatar
: ) C4 : ) C4 is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Planet Zogg
Posts: 1,437
Hi all!
Still here, lots happening behind the scenes
All versions of the switches work with either a Quad or Quattro LNB.
The whole switch and LNB issue will become irrelevant once the new DStv Smart LNB launches. Just one LNB, no switches required. It will reduce cabling and simplify installations significantly. More on this later - we are still in the testing phase. Until that launches (and for years to come) a quad (or quattro) LNB combined with a switch will offer you access to all the broadcast services that are available. Twin LNB installations will in most cases require an upgrade within the next 18 months. (if you want all the services)
Which is why the instruction is to fit a quad for all new PVR and XV installations as the cost difference is much less than getting an installer out again in a year to redo it.
__________________
I don't believe in astrology. I am a Sagittarius and we're very skeptical.
~ Arthur C Clarke
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2015-01-06 , 14:38
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,323
Hi

It sounds like the new MC LNB is being designed to be a lot more SATCR compliant?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2015-01-06 , 14:43
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,369
Thanks for clarifying this specific question, Constant; and for giving a hint of what is coming down-the-line!
As we've discussed previously, this is quite a big deal for those of us with MUD installations. We'd rather wait a while then simplify & upgrade at the same time. My comment re. budgeting stands.
Cheers, K.
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 49" S-UHD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp, Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. Home Theatre PC, Chromecast
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System, Slingbox Solo; Chromecast
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2015-01-06 , 14:53
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,392
@ C4, Constant,

Welcome back! Thanks for the info as provided, much obliged.

There is another issue that was raised today in another thread, that you may be able to help with.

Is it possible to drive the SATCR compliant HD PVRs from the SATCR ports on the Explora switch or not?

Yes, I have been following the development of "Smart LNBs" in other parts of the World also, especially those that are "converting" to optic fibre as a distribution method ---- Have tried a few already with some mixed results ---

I have recently had occasion to install both versions of the Explora switch into my setup, fed from my 8-way universal LNB -----

Geoff D
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2015-01-06 , 15:25
AndriesP AndriesP is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kloofendal
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
Hi

It sounds like the new MC LNB is being designed to be a lot more SATCR compliant?
Sounds a lot like SATCR or more probably closer to the Eutelsat smart LNB! I don't see MC developing brand new technologies on its own aimed at a limited MC market only!

Last edited by AndriesP; 2015-01-06 at 15:48. .
Reply With Quote
Reply  
Tags
explora, hdpvr, installation, lnb, smart lnb, switch, upgrade
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade Xtraview installation from HDPVR + 1110 to HDPVR + HDPVR Tuiphilii Installation 3 2011-07-25 13:13
Single View to Dual View HDPVR Upgrade Kloon Installation 3 2011-05-06 11:12
Upgrade to HDPVR 2P and DSD1131 tonydb XtraView 2 2011-01-03 11:04
Upgrade to HDPVR 2P Bandit XtraView 2 2010-12-20 11:52
HDPVR NO Software to upgrade DSD masawara HD PVR 8 2009-12-14 11:03