Forum > Decoders > Installation > Upgrading Installation
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2015-01-03 , 19:26
Bazinga Bazinga is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 20
Default Upgrading Installation

Hi guys

So I bought my dad an Explora for Xmas and he needs to upgrade his installation. He currently has a single view decoder with a single LNB connection and obviously needs to upgrade it to a twin LNB. Could anyone tell me how difficult this is to do if I want to upgrade the installation myself? Eg, how much is a new LNB, and how difficult is it to run new cables etc. I would call out on installer but I'd rather do it myself and save a couple hundred rands.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2015-01-03 , 20:33
gwalker gwalker is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 7,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bazinga View Post
Hi guys

So I bought my dad an Explora for Xmas and he needs to upgrade his installation. He currently has a single view decoder with a single LNB connection and obviously needs to upgrade it to a twin LNB. Could anyone tell me how difficult this is to do if I want to upgrade the installation myself? Eg, how much is a new LNB, and how difficult is it to run new cables etc. I would call out on installer but I'd rather do it myself and save a couple hundred rands.
Do you have a 80cm dish?
You will also need a quad LNB for feature proofing else will need to replace in 2016
Cost of a quad LNB is about R500
You might find some selling dual
Also the LNB position needs to be finely tuned
if you based in Gauteng I can recommend an installer

G
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2015-01-03 , 20:41
Bazinga Bazinga is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwalker View Post
Do you have a 80cm dish?

You will also need a quad LNB for feature proofing else will need to replace in 2016

Cost of a quad LNB is about R500

You might find some selling dual

Also the LNB position needs to be finely tuned

if you based in Gauteng I can recommend an installer



G

Hmm ok I didn't take those points into account so I might as well call an installer. Could you give me the details as I'm based in gauteng
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2015-01-03 , 20:53
gwalker gwalker is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 7,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bazinga View Post
Hmm ok I didn't take those points into account so I might as well call an installer. Could you give me the details as I'm based in gauteng
ok, details sent via PM
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Tags
explora, installation, lnb
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E107-4 error when upgrading to PVR Interested_in_DSTV HD PVR 25 2013-08-09 16:25
Upgrading from old PVR to new HD PVR Dane213 Installation 4 2010-08-02 10:20
Upgrading from SD PVR to HD PVR 2P - can I use my existing installation? Dane213 SD PVR 8 2010-07-06 19:21
Upgrading from Duelview to SD PVR + HD PVR on Xtraview vr - g XtraView 29 2010-04-12 13:29
Upgrading to HD PVR SNER HD PVR 21 2010-03-03 13:24