Forum > Broadcast Errors > Broadcast Errors > Kyknet Boekklub logo.
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-09-27 , 22:00
DPA1 DPA1 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 288
Default Kyknet Boekklub logo.

The kyknet HD logo really large on the screen. WHY? See images.

I cannot even see the head of the actors.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20170927_215409.jpg (846.8 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg 20170927_215217.jpg (890.7 KB, 14 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-09-29 , 12:19
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 466
Were those pictures taken from live airings or a recording?

I never watched the episode live but made a recording and ended up watching it on CU. On CU the logo is acceptable.
In fact I recorded it on both the Explora 2A and the HD 2P. I deleted the recording on the Explora before you posted this but this morning decided to do a bit of cleaning of the recordings on the HD 2P and decided to have a look at Die Boekklub recording.

Have a look at the pictures I took of the exact scenes you posted.

The question is why the difference? Different decoder rendering of the logos by various decoders or a different stream recoded with different logos?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Kyknet 1.jpg (532.8 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg Kyknet 2.jpg (470.1 KB, 7 views)
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-09-29 , 12:27
DPA1 DPA1 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 288
Yes, your logo acceptable.

Watched from recording, recorded Wednesday, the first repeat after original broad cast. SDPVR.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-09-29 , 12:29
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,873
Looks like the logos for DPA1 are in the 4:3 safe area and not the top left corner so possibly CU (or even CU+)?
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-09-29 , 12:38
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jan Horn View Post
The question is why the difference? Different decoder rendering of the logos by various decoders...
No, the decoders are not involved with supplying any logos separately, it's all combined before broadcast or delivery via CU+.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jan Horn View Post
...or a different stream recoded with different logos?
More or less correct - yes, they use different logos for CU sometimes.


The biggest difference noticed before is between SD CU AND live TV or HD CU for 101 M-Net - the SD CU logo is tiny compared.

Wish MC would take the trouble to explain why one of these days... and please sometime make things not only consistent, but also smaller when needed. Ta
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-09-29 , 12:56
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 466
Please note that my pictures are from a recording on the HD 2P not from CU.

The recoding was made the Tuesday 26 September 20:00 airing and not a repeat. When did we have those extra large logos on the other channels? Was it Wednesday the DPA1's recording and was Kyknet also effected?

Edit the large logos were on 24 September could not have bee the reason.
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10

Last edited by Jan Horn; 2017-09-29 at 13:02. .
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-09-29 , 13:03
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,356
@DPA1 uses a SD PVR, see his mention of that earlier. So another case of SD and HD differences...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-09-29 , 13:10
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
@DPA1 uses a SD PVR, see his mention of that earlier. So another case of SD and HD differences...
I also though so but the logo says HD?
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-09-29 , 13:19
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krugie View Post
I also though so but the logo says HD?
Well spotted

But that has to just be a mistake made by the channel, you can see it is the SD PVR by its well recognised on-screen info which in this case is of course delivered by the decoder;


info indicator - SD PVR.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-09-29 , 13:36
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
Well spotted

But that has to just be a mistake made by the channel, you can see it is the SD PVR by its well recognised on-screen info which in this case is of course delivered by the decoder;


Attachment 8412
Well spotted as well I have not seen an on-screen SD PVR images in AGES!

But a serious mistake by the channel - and possibly related to why the size is like that as well?
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jukebox on kyknet and kyknet & kie Nicova General 1 2017-07-03 19:48
Programming Request: Die Boekklub JacoHD General 4 2017-03-17 16:49
Kyknet - Boekklub DPA1 General 2 2016-10-21 20:56
kykNET Musiek rebrand to kykNET NOU! MC Lindi General 2 2015-07-31 08:42