Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > Explora User Settings
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2015-11-03 , 12:10
Homealone's Avatar
Homealone Homealone is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Glenvista (JHB South)
Posts: 545
Default Explora User Settings

This morning I find that many of my user settings have reset to their respective defaults.

I stopped counting after the tenth occurrence. Most of these, for me, were spoiling my

viewing experience. I reported zero resets after the last s/w upgrade. Why now?

Hopefully MC can provide a quick answer .....
__________________
DIY installation, SLNB (LMX501), 88cm dish, XtraView via 'old school' HB cable, Explora-1 (primary), Explora-1 (secondary),
'SD 96' co-axial cables used and routed through 25mm PVC conduit pipe networks, Compression F-type connectors throughout.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2015-11-03 , 12:24
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,413
Have you checked if there was a sw update last night or recently, to give effect to the CU now being available to Compact and Extra viewers as well?

If so, we know in the past that MC does not really bother about what effect a sw update has on a users customised settings. Maybe what you have found is the best evidence we have that a general sw update did in fact take place last night ?.......

Even IF the loader level value was not changed in the process.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2015-11-03 , 13:01
MC Fathima's Avatar
MC Fathima MC Fathima is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,749
please confirm which package you are subscribed to
what settings were lost?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2015-11-04 , 09:44
Homealone's Avatar
Homealone Homealone is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Glenvista (JHB South)
Posts: 545
Lo and behold, my Explora was indeed updated with new software at 03:09:54 on 03 Nov '15 (now Load ver/var: 43/2).

Package = Premium.

Tuner 3: S = 62%, Q = 61% (don't harp on the low figures please).

The following user settings were changed to their default values:
i-Plate lines
Help tab on i_Plate
Maintenance time
Alternate language
Audio output
Aspect ratio
Safety net start
Safety net end
Remote control Mode 2
Remote control Mode 3
UHF tuning channel

After the general Explora s/w upgrade in mid Sep '15 I did not experience any user setting changes.

It seems like us users have a never-ending cycle of software and hardware inconsistencies.
__________________
DIY installation, SLNB (LMX501), 88cm dish, XtraView via 'old school' HB cable, Explora-1 (primary), Explora-1 (secondary),
'SD 96' co-axial cables used and routed through 25mm PVC conduit pipe networks, Compression F-type connectors throughout.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2015-11-04 , 10:27
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,357
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homealone View Post
Tuner 3: S = 62%, Q = 61% (don't harp on the low figures please).
Just a neutral comment then - signal values that are too low can lead to all sorts of disruptions and other problems, although that's not necessarily the case here.

Can't comment further, my Load ver/var is still 42/2.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2015-11-04 , 11:24
MC Fathima's Avatar
MC Fathima MC Fathima is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,749
since when have you been experiencing loss of settings?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2015-11-04 , 14:00
Homealone's Avatar
Homealone Homealone is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Glenvista (JHB South)
Posts: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Fathima View Post
since when have you been experiencing loss of settings?
See photo for date and time stamps etc.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Bogus Software Update.jpg (407.7 KB, 22 views)
__________________
DIY installation, SLNB (LMX501), 88cm dish, XtraView via 'old school' HB cable, Explora-1 (primary), Explora-1 (secondary),
'SD 96' co-axial cables used and routed through 25mm PVC conduit pipe networks, Compression F-type connectors throughout.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2015-11-05 , 07:53
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,521
Had a look last night . Mine was updated at the same time, but my settings haven't changed. Forgot to check the safety net settings though...
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2015-11-05 , 07:59
MC Fathima's Avatar
MC Fathima MC Fathima is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,749
@luke7777
thanks for the feedback
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2015-11-05 , 08:05
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,521
But my settings did change after the Sep update Go figure ....
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Explora reset RF settings overnight XRay PVR Decoders 1 2014-11-08 15:40
Explora reboot changes all my settings Gabrielleb PVR Decoders 12 2014-07-14 14:39
User-default AR settings unstable Optimist SD PVR 1 2014-03-02 08:49
User settings - memory issues Brian G SD PVR 4 2011-07-20 23:16
SD PVR - user manual MC iTV2 SD PVR 0 2008-11-19 20:41