Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > DSTV Explora - Very disappointed
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2017-06-06 , 08:58
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,355
Great.
BTW, I edited my post just before you posted - looks like we're all having similar thoughts ;-)

Please let us know if anything further happens or becomes certain.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2017-06-06 , 09:10
chrisvdh's Avatar
chrisvdh chrisvdh is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Henley on Klip
Posts: 880
You say Ethernet port as well? Three times?

Must be a common source for this problem. Some form of spike is occurring and Geoff mentioning power is the first place I would look...an arcing plug is more likely than three faulty or "soft" Exploras.
__________________
90cm dish; LMX502 ; Explora as Primary in lounge, HD-PVR2 in flat; XV heartbeat via RF outs; Samsung 60LED7000 via HDMI and Sony 42" 576p panel via composite; Flat has 32" Hi-Sense. Denon AVRX1100 configured for 5.1; Sony BluRay; WD media player; All using HDMI/optical/coax.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2017-06-06 , 09:39
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,407
There have been quite a few cases before on the older decoders where a voltage potential between decoders and TVs have been found, even when connected to the same power socket.

I would check for:

(1) arcing on the multiplug
(2) replace the multiplug with a surge protected one such as sold by Clearline for home entertainment systems.
(3) Use a multimeter to see if there is a potential difference between decoders and TV chassis when any connecting cables are disconnected.
(4) Try and always connect 2 pin power plugs the same way round with the Live and neutral always the same for all devices.

Do you experience any other major surges on the power feeds to other appliances?
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2017-06-07 , 12:56
mbeylis mbeylis is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
Please can you send your details though to MC Lindi on Private Message, then she can arrange for someone to speak to you.
Good Day

Is there any feedback on my issue?

Roger from multichoice was at my house yesterday to test the equipment

Thanks
Mark
__________________
Smart LNB
Primary (Explora)
Extraview 1 : Explora
Extraview 2 : Coming Soon
Cables : Many
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2017-06-07 , 12:57
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,142
We have not yet received any feedback - will ask Lindi to follow up
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2017-06-08 , 09:09
mbeylis mbeylis is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
We have not yet received any feedback - will ask Lindi to follow up
Hi

Any news?

I did PM her but no reply

Thanks
Mark
__________________
Smart LNB
Primary (Explora)
Extraview 1 : Explora
Extraview 2 : Coming Soon
Cables : Many
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2017-06-12 , 07:38
mbeylis mbeylis is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 151
Good Morning

Still no feedback as to what the way forward is

Please can I get some feedback

Thanks
Mark
__________________
Smart LNB
Primary (Explora)
Extraview 1 : Explora
Extraview 2 : Coming Soon
Cables : Many
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2017-06-12 , 12:39
mbeylis mbeylis is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
There have been quite a few cases before on the older decoders where a voltage potential between decoders and TVs have been found, even when connected to the same power socket.

I would check for:

(1) arcing on the multiplug
(2) replace the multiplug with a surge protected one such as sold by Clearline for home entertainment systems.
(3) Use a multimeter to see if there is a potential difference between decoders and TV chassis when any connecting cables are disconnected.
(4) Try and always connect 2 pin power plugs the same way round with the Live and neutral always the same for all devices.

Do you experience any other major surges on the power feeds to other appliances?
In a nutshell

Both Decoders (HDPVR4 and Explora) are connected directly to USB ports on TV
Both Decoders (HDPVR4 and Explora) are plugged into same multiplug which has built in power surge protection
This multiplug interm is plugged into an additional power surge plug protector (which I used to protect my phone line)
HDPVR never given me a days hassle. Explora failed 3 times now
__________________
Smart LNB
Primary (Explora)
Extraview 1 : Explora
Extraview 2 : Coming Soon
Cables : Many
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2017-06-12 , 12:54
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,407
Sorry I can't be of further help here. I will be checking my daughter's installation again this week some time and will check for the following on the SLNB.

Any signs of water ingress.
Will check for stray earth currents that may be flowing via the SLNB.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2017-06-13 , 09:28
MC Lindi's Avatar
MC Lindi MC Lindi is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 489
Hi mbeylis

I've been keeping you updated via Private Messages - I apologise that you don't seem to be receiving my messages. I'll look into that urgently.

I escalated your query to the Field Services team on Monday last week - who then sent out a technician to do trouble shooting.

I've also arranged for a customer care rep to contact you with feedback. His name is Tebogo. After his call with you Tebogo has arranged to have Decoder Support collect your decoder for testing at our lab in Randburg.

We're also struggling to pick up your previous 3 decoder swaps. I understand this was done through your insurance. Please could you (via Private Message) send me the dates of the previous decoder swaps. The team is trying to figure out what DStv agency your insurance has been using to swap your decoders as each decoder has a unique smartcard number.

Thank you for your patience as we're trying to resolve this.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony Entertainment Channel - Picture very very bad LesleyH Picture/Audio Quality 14 2012-11-29 15:39
Very Disappointed Client tiboze Service Queries 16 2011-06-14 15:15
Disappointed in MultiChoice Sikie Service Queries 3 2011-01-09 14:54
Cycling Fan Disappointed - Giro d 'Italia Barry Kleu DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 0 2009-05-19 16:58
I'm disappointed. Young_Z Standard decoder 4 2008-12-15 09:13