Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > DSTV Explora - Very disappointed
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 2017-06-13 , 09:48
mbeylis mbeylis is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 151
Good Day MC Lindi

I have sent you a PM now

Awaiting feedback from Teboga this morning

Thanks
Mark
__________________
Smart LNB
Primary (Explora)
Extraview 1 : Explora
Extraview 2 : Coming Soon
Cables : Many
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 2017-06-13 , 09:54
MC Lindi's Avatar
MC Lindi MC Lindi is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 472
I've received your message, thank you. Please send me as much information as you can - serial numbers would be very helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 2017-06-13 , 10:21
mbeylis mbeylis is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 151
I was wondering

I am sure I read somewhere that you can now transfer the content from one explora to another but only once

But I cant seem to find the press release or thread which stated this

Is this correct though and what are limitations?
__________________
Smart LNB
Primary (Explora)
Extraview 1 : Explora
Extraview 2 : Coming Soon
Cables : Many
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 2017-06-13 , 10:23
mbeylis mbeylis is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 151
ok found the thread

http://forum.dstv.com/showthread.php?t=38254
__________________
Smart LNB
Primary (Explora)
Extraview 1 : Explora
Extraview 2 : Coming Soon
Cables : Many
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 2017-06-14 , 13:25
mbeylis mbeylis is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 151
Thank you Multichoice for sorting out my problem and especially to Thebo for keeping me updated. Awesome customer service
__________________
Smart LNB
Primary (Explora)
Extraview 1 : Explora
Extraview 2 : Coming Soon
Cables : Many
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 2017-06-19 , 08:25
mbeylis mbeylis is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 151
So my excitement was short lived

Apparently the decoder I was given was not a new decoder as originally indicated but rather a refurbished one

Set it up on Friday afternoon and it immediately started making an all to familiar sound to me - mechanical failure on the hard drive

This was further confirmed when I tried to record anything and kept getting the error message "hard drive failed"

This is really annoying and frustrating to me. This is really a huge inconveniene to have to keep going back to the multichoice centre on a regular basis. Is there a misconception that I like doing this? NO. All I want is DSTV Decoder that works without hassles and clearly the Explora models are not able to do this just judging by the number of decoders being brought in the service centre

I do not want a refurbished Decoder. There is clearly a reason it was needing to be refurbished in the first place and yes it might work for a couple of months and then break and then I am left with the same fight and hassle again to get it replaced

Counting the Decoder given to me Friday this in now the 4th one

I kindly request that I be given a NEW Explora as promised to me over the phone by the multichoice agent

Please would someone from multichoice contact me in this regard
__________________
Smart LNB
Primary (Explora)
Extraview 1 : Explora
Extraview 2 : Coming Soon
Cables : Many
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 2017-06-19 , 08:39
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,356
Terrible experience

If you maybe do want to try get it working in the meantime, here's a procedure that is known to best help, even if you can't get into the menus - worked for me and I've never looked back since.

FP = Front Panel

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Fathima View Post
Press and hold the standby key, the decoder will reboot. Then press the P+ immediately, until CODE is displayed

Then Press the below key combination. 0101 will be displayed on the FP when these keys are pressed.

P- P+ P- P+ for HDD format(0101)
then once again P+ (1) to confirm
you will see "hddf" in front panel display
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 2017-06-19 , 08:50
mbeylis mbeylis is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 151
The Decoder itself works in that I am able to watch TV

Non of the extra features though like pause, rewind, record etc are working

I dont want to risk getting an obviosly faulty HDD working only for it to crash with all my recordings at a later stage

What I want is simple, well at least I thought it was : a working Decoder
__________________
Smart LNB
Primary (Explora)
Extraview 1 : Explora
Extraview 2 : Coming Soon
Cables : Many
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 2017-06-19 , 08:59
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,373
On DCC you will always get a refurbished one
Quote:
In the event of a mechanical or electrical fault, we will replace your Approved Decoder at your nearest MultiChoice service centre, with a refurbished Approved Decoder on a like for like basis
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
40Mb VDSL (ISP AH Capped Unshaped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 2017-06-19 , 09:01
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 7,928
This could be to do with your account and whether the Access Fee is activated correctly. And not with the decode at all.
Pls log in to your account in My DStv online or on the DStv Now app and check if there is an Access Fee against your account and an Explora decoder with the smartcard number of the current one.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony Entertainment Channel - Picture very very bad LesleyH Picture/Audio Quality 14 2012-11-29 15:39
Very Disappointed Client tiboze Service Queries 16 2011-06-14 15:15
Disappointed in MultiChoice Sikie Service Queries 3 2011-01-09 14:54
Cycling Fan Disappointed - Giro d 'Italia Barry Kleu DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 0 2009-05-19 16:58
I'm disappointed. Young_Z Standard decoder 4 2008-12-15 09:13