Forum > Decoders > Installation > Bad picture quality on certain channels
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2017-06-01 , 11:55
badboy4life badboy4life is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Honeydew
Posts: 35
Optimist...did you have a read at this post...seems similar

http://forum.dstv.com/showthread.php...084#post343084
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2017-06-01 , 11:58
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,447
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
@Krugie, looks like you're not out of the woods yet with your earlier situation... my tuner 3 strength is still quite a bit higher.
Seems like it yes although the issue is only tuner 3 (and quality is still 100%) - I have no issues with CatchUp or BoxOffice downloading so probably just going to leave it for now. No longer any Live TV or recording issues whatsoever.
__________________
DSTV Explora (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary), Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI Picture and Audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. RF connection from Explora & HDPVR 2P to bedroom for Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2017-06-01 , 12:28
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,161
You could try a bit of fine tuning on the skew angle to see if it improves SS on tuner 3.

More likely that you have an issue the SLNB. Which model is it? The LMX 500? 4 unicable ports with 2 Universal ports?

In one of the threads someone used a blanket to cover the SLNB to prove the temperature problem. Try that.

If the LMX 500 contact MC (send MC Field Services a PM) for help.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2017-06-08 , 18:57
chrisc chrisc is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 205
Since getting an Explora and a Smart LNB in April 2016, the LNB has been replaced 3 times. The usual problem is a breaking up picture. I also called Space TV who supplies the installer, they said there was a "bad batch" of which they had a 30% return rate.

In Cape Town yesterday, we had some bad weather and all channels stopped working, with 0% signal quality. The installer came today, to find the (third) LNB has water inside! So I now have a 4th LNB. This evening, the tennis on 206 is unwatchable!

Each call costs between R600 and R1200

I feel I am going backwards here, having purchased all the recommended products and have had them "professionally" installed with an installer using a meter, new cable, without a positive result

The people at the call centre deny that there have even been any faulty Smart LNBs, but why did Space TV agree with the installer who said he had replaced over 40 in the past 9 months!

No-one will accept responsibility, all shift the blame on someone else or a crappy factory product. I am paying close to R1000 a month for half a service
__________________
If music be the food of love, play on
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2017-06-08 , 20:38
chrisc chrisc is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 205
Another problem manifested today. There are about 18 recordings on the Playlist (red button). Choosing PLAY on any of these gets a "PG Blocked" message

The Parental Control is set to None

The lady in the Help Centre tells me this is impossible!!!!!!
__________________
If music be the food of love, play on
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2017-06-09 , 11:38
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 7,928
I've moved your thread to the Installation section of the Forum, so our Field Services team who are in charge of the installers can see your issue and respond to it.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2017-06-09 , 12:21
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisc View Post
Since getting an Explora and a Smart LNB in April 2016, the LNB has been replaced 3 times. The usual problem is a breaking up picture. I also called Space TV who supplies the installer, they said there was a "bad batch" of which they had a 30% return rate.

In Cape Town yesterday, we had some bad weather and all channels stopped working, with 0% signal quality. The installer came today, to find the (third) LNB has water inside! So I now have a 4th LNB. This evening, the tennis on 206 is unwatchable!

Each call costs between R600 and R1200

I feel I am going backwards here, having purchased all the recommended products and have had them "professionally" installed with an installer using a meter, new cable, without a positive result

The people at the call centre deny that there have even been any faulty Smart LNBs, but why did Space TV agree with the installer who said he had replaced over 40 in the past 9 months!

No-one will accept responsibility, all shift the blame on someone else or a crappy factory product. I am paying close to R1000 a month for half a service

Thanks for the tip Chris! I will be checking my daughters SLNB over the weekend and I will be sealing the seams with silicone sealer as a precaution!
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2017-06-09 , 16:20
badboy4life badboy4life is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Honeydew
Posts: 35
UPDATE: problem fixed. The SLNB was the culprit
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2017-06-09 , 16:23
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,161
These issues with the SLNB models are becoming quite serious.
Any idea where the water/moisture is getting in?
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2017-06-11 , 18:26
chrisc chrisc is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 205
Space TV only agreed to replace the second SLNB, I have had to pay for all the others. Is there no guarantee on these devices?

If I had treated my customers like this, I would have been out of business rapidly! Telling me that they do not make them, only sell the boxes is no help

BTW: Right now on channel 205 (Grand Prix) 98% signal strength, 0% signal quality. What is going on? Fine during the day, as soon as it gets cold the picture deteriorates with flashes and shrieks from the speakers
__________________
If music be the food of love, play on

Last edited by chrisc; 2017-06-11 at 18:32. .
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad picture quality on secondary decoder MasterEC Standard decoder 6 2012-04-29 21:06
picture quality on certain channels shafwaan Standard decoder 9 2011-12-10 20:02
M-Net Series: "Men of a Certain Age" - picture quality is grainy linda DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 7 2010-08-25 09:31
Why is Burn Notice picture quality so bad on mnet HD??? saunm Picture/Audio Quality 5 2009-09-18 22:50
CSI Miami picture quality bad. Plain ugly. J Gundlach Picture/Audio Quality 0 2009-09-01 23:21