Forum > Decoders > Installation > Heartbeat new Explora 2A decoder, LNB, RF out & RF in.
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2016-11-15 , 01:59
WarrenLaw WarrenLaw is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 13
I currently have an Explora, Explora 2 and a HD single view 4S decoder.

They're all connected to the SLNB and each decoder is connected to each other via RF out.

I want to get rid of the extra cabling between each decoder.

Please will someone explain how I go about using diplexers to do so?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2016-11-15 , 16:11
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 314
you can purchase 2 diplexers only as the explora 2a doesn't require a external diplexer . than you add the diplexers to the explora and 4s . just remember make the explora 2a primary if using diplexers and stay within 20m on each leg to the slnb

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2016-11-15 , 16:34
WarrenLaw WarrenLaw is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 13
Thank you! Much appreciated.

Unfortunately this will not work for me as 2 of the decoders are just over 20 meters away from the satellite.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2016-11-15 , 16:41
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 314
it will work up to max 30m when explora 2a is primary. I just prefer to keep the standard of 20m . make sure explora 2a is primary and give me feedback.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2016-11-15 , 16:44
WarrenLaw WarrenLaw is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 13
That's great! I will give MC a call to have them change my primary decoder to the 2a.

Any idea where I can pick up a diplexer in the Alberton area?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2016-11-15 , 16:51
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 314
not sure. there is space and ellies and Ariel king in jhb in eloff extention .

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2016-11-15 , 16:53
WarrenLaw WarrenLaw is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 13
Thanks!

I will provide feedback once it is completed...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2016-11-15 , 17:44
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,340
There is one other consideration.

While the HB connection between decoders is solved with using the LNB cabling and diplexers using the RF IN ports on the old Explora and the HD decoder 4S and 4U,

This does NOT solve how one views content on all decoders at all viewing points. So if this is a requirement where you want to allow viewing of content and recordings on any of the decoders in any of the rooms, then this solution is not going to work.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2016-11-15 , 18:03
WarrenLaw WarrenLaw is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 13
Thanks for the feedback.

That is definitely something to take into consideration.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2016-11-15 , 21:32
trevorf trevorf is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 13
I don't know why they don't include wifi in the decoders, and use it for the HB!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Explora 2A + Explora HeartBeat BruceA Installation 4 2016-09-29 09:27
Heartbeat with Smart Lnb wezhira Installation 34 2016-06-08 08:37
Smart lnb - heartbeat cable swalker Installation 4 2015-07-27 23:07
1110 decoder swopped out, new one also faulty (RF-out is terrible) Toilet Duck Service Queries 1 2010-08-23 12:46
Have tried all combinations of RF Out to In, or Out to Out etc ... jaimo XtraView 3 2009-02-22 20:53