Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > Explora remote -slow response
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2015-10-13 , 18:18
PeterW PeterW is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 29
Angry Explora remote -slow response

I have a new DSTV Explora and the remote control response is slow since I switched it on out of the box. Brand new batteries. When opening the grid and navigating up or down it takes 2-3 seconds to move the bar as well as the bar keeps getting stuck and then jumps - like elastic.

I did a factory default reset and still it is ok for the first few hours and then starts to go slow after a while. I wasted R2000 on this debvice that promises the world and doe snot deliver on the marketing hype. - my old PVR 2P worked much better and smoother. Please DSTV, sort out this bug as it is very frustrating.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2015-10-13 , 18:32
AndriesP AndriesP is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kloofendal
Posts: 154
Here is a link to a previous thread on this topic:

http://forum.dstv.com/showthread.php...explora+remote

Personally, I just got used to this slow response.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2015-10-20 , 10:43
WouterW WouterW is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 15
Default Slow Response

I bought a new explorer about 3 weeks ago.

I have the exact same problem. Press the button on remote and it takes 2-3 seconds to respond and change the channel.

Is this a norm on the explorer.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2015-10-20 , 10:45
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by WouterW View Post
Is this a norm on the explorer.
Unfortunately yes - MC are working on it, see this thread: Explora:Background Processes

EDIT: You may also want to see this thread;
Decoder Confusion
.

Last edited by Optimist; 2015-10-20 at 10:54. .
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-06-18 , 21:59
francet francet is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 40
Good day all. Anyone else having a very slow response using their remote for the explorer since Friday or is it just me?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-06-19 , 07:31
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,563
Hi, best to make a new thread, this one is nearly 2 years old so could have confused others re current behaviour.

EDIT: Since done - see Slow response from Explorer

Last edited by Optimist; 2017-06-19 at 09:49. .
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-06-19 , 08:34
francet francet is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 40
Thanks Optimist. Will do.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-06-20 , 08:57
MC Sandipa's Avatar
MC Sandipa MC Sandipa is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 68
Hi All

Our tech team has assured me that they are looking into this issue. I will keep you posted on the outcome.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-06-20 , 11:43
MC Sandipa's Avatar
MC Sandipa MC Sandipa is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 68
Hi all

Tech team has asked for this exercise to be performed and for you to give us feedback please?

1) Perform channel change using the remote while the TV is ON and check the response.
2) If this is easily seen then please switch off TV and do a channel change and check how quick the channel changes by looking at the front panel.
3) If the reaction is faster with the TV switched off then one of the TV settings must be causing the TV to emit infrared signals.

This scenario was seen with our TV's when we launched the Explora which was fixed by changing TV settings. Such settings would be Energy saving mode or TV back-lighting which need to be turned off.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-06-20 , 11:51
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,563
Hi Sandipa - you've missed my earlier comment that this thread is years old, so hope you don't mind, I'm going to put a copy of your post in the more modern thread.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Explora: Slow Response & Double Remote Clicks MorneVorster PVR Decoders 46 2015-11-29 11:58
Explora slow response dealer101 PVR Decoders 14 2015-05-25 16:25
Slow response to remote commands Geoff D Remote Controls 45 2010-10-12 09:15
Remote control response is slow joelarcus HD PVR 4 2010-08-25 18:51
slow response, and no response Crusher HD PVR 5 2008-12-22 12:34