Forum > DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) > DStv Products > HD PVR > HD PVR 2P + DSD 1131 - XtraView installation advice needed
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2010-06-21 , 12:22
MHlongwane MHlongwane is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 25
Default HD PVR 2P + DSD 1131 - XtraView installation advice needed

Hi Guys

I currently have a DSD 1131 decoder and I would like to get the new HD PVR 2 and Xtra View.

I want to be able to watch 2 channels simultaneously and being able to change those channels from the old DSD 1131 and the new HD PVR2 decoders.

I also want to add two more connections to two different rooms (4 in toto), though, the other two without the ability to change channels.

Here is what I need advice on:
1) What type of LNB should I get; twin/ quad/ etc - where can I buy it and how much? (I'm in Pretoria).
2) Will the above (1) work with the new HD PVR 2P?
3) Do I need to get a Multiswitch? Where and how much?

All in all, how much will this cost me?
HD PVR 2P = R2000
Twin/ Quad LNB (compatible with HD) = R
Multiswitch (if needed) = R

Please advise me where can I get these for a "reasonable" price?

Thanks

Last edited by MC Rory; 2010-06-21 at 17:10. . Reason: Title
  #2  
Old 2010-06-22 , 12:49
sammi sammi is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by MHlongwane View Post
Hi Guys

I currently have a DSD 1131 decoder and I would like to get the new HD PVR 2 and Xtra View.

I want to be able to watch 2 channels simultaneously and being able to change those channels from the old DSD 1131 and the new HD PVR2 decoders.

I also want to add two more connections to two different rooms (4 in toto), though, the other two without the ability to change channels.

Here is what I need advice on:
1) What type of LNB should I get; twin/ quad/ etc - where can I buy it and how much? (I'm in Pretoria).
2) Will the above (1) work with the new HD PVR 2P?
3) Do I need to get a Multiswitch? Where and how much?

All in all, how much will this cost me?
HD PVR 2P = R2000
Twin/ Quad LNB (compatible with HD) = R
Multiswitch (if needed) = R

Please advise me where can I get these for a "reasonable" price?

Thanks
There are posts on the forum that should assist you.

Short answer: you could get a quad lnb OR a twin lnb with 2x4 MS. Either way, it should cost less than R1000. Buy at Space TV or Sats-R-Us.
__________________
Twin LNB > 2x4 Multiswitch ---> HD PVR 2P x2. 60cm Dish (aluminium).
XV (Install 3A) - RF-In to RF-Out: HD PVRs via HDMI to HD TVs and via Optical to HTs. (All Samsung).
  #3  
Old 2011-02-07 , 20:40
marsman7222 marsman7222 is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 27
Default Hdpvr+1131 installation

Please help
Hdpvr2P and 1131
Connected everything as read in this forum
1131 and HDPVR2P remotes sometimes switch of both decoders
Also HDPVR2P sometimes shows weird message on its display CP15.....cant remember the rest

Everything works fine in the 2nd and 3rd viewing environment though(I am only referring to picture etc)
The remotes still switch of both decoders etc
Thx
  #4  
Old 2011-02-08 , 09:14
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,529
This is a configuration setting error on one or both decoders. Please end us a complete list of all the XV setting on both decoders.


Quote:
Originally Posted by marsman7222 View Post
Please help
Hdpvr2P and 1131
Connected everything as read in this forum
1131 and HDPVR2P remotes sometimes switch of both decoders
Also HDPVR2P sometimes shows weird message on its display CP15.....cant remember the rest

Everything works fine in the 2nd and 3rd viewing environment though(I am only referring to picture etc)
The remotes still switch of both decoders etc
Thx
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
  #5  
Old 2011-02-08 , 21:31
marsman7222 marsman7222 is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 27
Communications port: RF-Out
Remote TV Mode: TV1
Relay remote commands: off
Accept relay commands: on

Under the xtraview options on the DSD 1131:
Communications port: RF-Out
Accept remote commands from TV1: IGNORE
Accept remote commands from TV2: ACCEPT
Accept remote commands from TV3: IGNORE
Accept remote commands from TV4: IGNORE

I think it has something to do with the remote eye link both are turned on
Thx
  #6  
Old 2011-02-09 , 09:38
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by marsman7222 View Post
Communications port: RF-Out
Remote TV Mode: TV1
Relay remote commands: off
Accept relay commands: on

Under the xtraview options on the DSD 1131:
Communications port: RF-Out
Accept remote commands from TV1: IGNORE
Accept remote commands from TV2: ACCEPT
Accept remote commands from TV3: IGNORE
Accept remote commands from TV4: IGNORE

I think it has something to do with the remote eye link both are turned on
Thx
Decoders in same room?

The above looks correct -- I assume the one remote is set to "TV1" and the other to "TV2" ?

On both decoders, TVLINK is enabled? Try and disable on one of the decoders.

On the 1131 -- is there a setting for " accept relayed commands anywhere? If this is OFF, the 1131 will not react to tvlink commands.

This should also be set to "ON" if there is such a setting.

The HDPVR2P should only react to "TV1" commands at the decoder and via the TVLINK eye.

The 1131 should react only to "TV2" commands at the decoder or via the TVLINK eye.

You can turn off TVLINK on the 1131, provided the eye is powered from the 2P decoder or from a SLX splitter and it should still receive commands from the tvlink eye.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off