Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-08-10 , 08:41
sKuZz's Avatar
sKuZz sKuZz is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 57
Default Ads on Catch Up

I have a premium sub and I'm getting frustrated with ads, especially on catch up. DSTV is a premium paid for service which means I don't want ads. Now that they're on catch up I can't quick skip past them and I'm forced to use the fast forward function to get to my content. Leave the ads for SABC please.

We understand that adverts do not always provide for an ideal viewing experience; it is with this in mind that we only schedule adverts at the beginning of the shows so as not to disrupt your viewing experience.
__________________
Twin LNB -> Explora & UEC (4 Tuner) HDPVR -> HDMI -> HDTV -> Optical out -> Home Theater
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------->>

Last edited by MC Kenneth; 2017-08-11 at 09:31. .
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-08-10 , 15:43
MC Kenneth MC Kenneth is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 24
Hi sKuZz

I'm waiting for our content guys to respond.

Regards,

Kenneth

We understand that adverts do not always provide for an ideal viewing experience; it is with this in mind that we only schedule adverts at the beginning of the shows so as not to disrupt your viewing experience.

Last edited by MC Kenneth; 2017-08-11 at 09:32. .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-08-10 , 18:47
rock4us2 rock4us2 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: South Africa
Posts: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by sKuZz View Post
I have a premium sub and I'm getting frustrated with ads, especially on catch up. DSTV is a premium paid for service which means I don't want ads. Now that they're on catch up I can't quick skip past them and I'm forced to use the fast forward function to get to my content. Leave the ads for SABC please.
My argument always, I pay an arm and a leg already to watch ads. There should be a limit to how low dstv can sink

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
__________________
I watch all sports excluding handball (don't get the point) and i enjoy tv with intellegent dialogue. Explora + Explora 2 + Samsung S5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-08-10 , 20:01
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,809
Since CU ads are only in the beginning of the show they don't bother me that watch - I plan for them while getting ready to view. If they start appearing in the middle of shows I would be unhappy though.

On CU+ it is even less of an issue as that was the times you normally had to wait for the download to buffer.

As far as I am aware you can forward through them on CU. The reason this is not possible on CU+ is because the download needs time to buffer. In the past there was a 30 second countdown/waiting period - the ads just replaced that blank screen.
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-08-10 , 22:13
sKuZz's Avatar
sKuZz sKuZz is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krugie View Post
Since CU ads are only in the beginning of the show they don't bother me that watch - I plan for them while getting ready to view. If they start appearing in the middle of shows I would be unhappy though.

On CU+ it is even less of an issue as that was the times you normally had to wait for the download to buffer.

As far as I am aware you can forward through them on CU. The reason this is not possible on CU+ is because the download needs time to buffer. In the past there was a 30 second countdown/waiting period - the ads just replaced that blank screen.
Used to push up arrow for status bar and then fast forward which skipped the minute or two that the ad ran for. Now you can't do that and have to manually fast forward to get to the show. On catch up especially, the point I push play to catch up on the show/movie not the same outsurance product repackaged once more. I just don't want any ads on my premium service.
__________________
Twin LNB -> Explora & UEC (4 Tuner) HDPVR -> HDMI -> HDTV -> Optical out -> Home Theater
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------->>
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-08-11 , 08:10
JeanP's Avatar
JeanP JeanP is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: JHB
Posts: 2,799
As Krugie said. It's only at the beginning and fast forwarding is the simplest thing to do. Those 30 seconds it takes to FF is a real killer right?!
__________________
In The Tardis (buzzing through space and time )

Explora
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-08-11 , 08:39
rock4us2 rock4us2 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: South Africa
Posts: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeanP View Post
As Krugie said. It's only at the beginning and fast forwarding is the simplest thing to do. Those 30 seconds it takes to FF is a real killer right?!
Its the principle behind it... Today it's 30 seconds, tomorrow 33 secs, before you know it a whole 48 secs! Then we will start getting those side banner ads.

Just wait and see

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
__________________
I watch all sports excluding handball (don't get the point) and i enjoy tv with intellegent dialogue. Explora + Explora 2 + Samsung S5
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-08-11 , 09:17
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 421
On the Expora 2A press pause and fast forward 3 times and it will fast forward to the beginning of the legal notice in a flash. I presume it will work on the Explora too
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-08-11 , 09:32
rock4us2 rock4us2 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: South Africa
Posts: 393
The worst thing is that the ads are monotonous. If it's not about age restriction then Out surance. I mean we watch TV to unwind.

Rather if dstv used that space to advertise other similar programs, on channels that you'd most likely never land, then it be better. Not to try and watch and entire series on CU and get the same ad 12 times no.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
__________________
I watch all sports excluding handball (don't get the point) and i enjoy tv with intellegent dialogue. Explora + Explora 2 + Samsung S5
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-08-11 , 09:34
MC Kenneth MC Kenneth is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 24
We understand that adverts do not always provide for an ideal viewing experience; it is with this in mind that we only schedule adverts at the beginning of the shows so as not to disrupt your viewing experience.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catch Up and Catch Up Plus Ermeric1 DStv Catch Up 8 2017-06-07 18:33