Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2011-02-15 , 12:00
Andysor's Avatar
Andysor Andysor is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brummeria, Pretoria
Posts: 180
Default Wind moving dish/lnb?

Last year I did a DIY upgrade to HD by neatly replacing my standard LNB with a SATCR. Everything was in alignment and I rotated the new LNB until a friend told me I had good signal quality (100% and 87%) on tuners 1 and 4. About 2 weeks ago after a storm I saw that tuner 4 all of a sudden was down to 0%.

So, after a bit of asking around a friend with a bakkie and a big ladder (2 story house) came around and I rotated the LNB until again I had 100% and 87%. Around a week later now tuner 4 is showing 0%.

Is there a way to fix the position of the LNB? The SATCR is quite a big box so I can imagine it gets more easily dislodged than the standard smaller one. I tightened the bracket as securely as I could with my screwdriver after rotating it.

I'm not too keen on paying an installer to do what should be a simple job.
__________________
60cm dish -> SATCR -> UEC HD PVR -> HDMI Samsung 42" plasma ( -> coax HK Amp) - No XView
  #2  
Old 2011-02-15 , 12:23
Tulani's Avatar
Tulani Tulani is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,841
These kind of work around just calls for technical application as to what you have in place. On just maybe speculation as to your challenge I would advise maybe to find a neat flexible rubber band of reasonable thickness and you warp it around the tightening bracket so that when you screw it up it works as a wedge and holds the lnb securely in place…and yes for some of us too we never call the installers to just "gobble" our hard earned cash for something that can be easily done.
__________________
8Way Universal LNB+Switch; (Explora 2A primary;HDMI to hometheater, HDMI to HDTV +1110 secondary;SDViewing)

silent witness
  #3  
Old 2011-02-15 , 12:59
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andysor View Post
Last year I did a DIY upgrade to HD by neatly replacing my standard LNB with a SATCR. Everything was in alignment and I rotated the new LNB until a friend told me I had good signal quality (100% and 87%) on tuners 1 and 4. About 2 weeks ago after a storm I saw that tuner 4 all of a sudden was down to 0%.

So, after a bit of asking around a friend with a bakkie and a big ladder (2 story house) came around and I rotated the LNB until again I had 100% and 87%. Around a week later now tuner 4 is showing 0%.

Is there a way to fix the position of the LNB? The SATCR is quite a big box so I can imagine it gets more easily dislodged than the standard smaller one. I tightened the bracket as securely as I could with my screwdriver after rotating it.

I'm not too keen on paying an installer to do what should be a simple job.
Three reasons why an LNB rotates in the support bracket:

(1) Neck of LNB is thinner than it should be
(2) Screws holding the two halves together are stripped/ or the plestick has stripped
(3) The cable tension is pulling the LNB off line.

Installer reaction will be : replace antenna --

Try wrapping some rubber tape around the neck.
If the screws are stripped/ plestick stripped, use bigger screws or drill through and replace with bolts
relax cables a bit and use a tie wrap to take tension off the LNB
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
  #4  
Old 2011-02-15 , 13:40
Andysor's Avatar
Andysor Andysor is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brummeria, Pretoria
Posts: 180
Thanks Geoff and Tulani. I'll check the bracket for tightness and add some black electrical tape to the connection. The cable is definitely not too tight as it makes quite a wide loop.

I guess I should get myself a ladder so I don't have to call my friend again after only a week.
__________________
60cm dish -> SATCR -> UEC HD PVR -> HDMI Samsung 42" plasma ( -> coax HK Amp) - No XView
  #5  
Old 2011-02-15 , 14:28
Tulani's Avatar
Tulani Tulani is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andysor View Post
.....and add some black electrical tape to the connection.
Don’t you think a firmer material will give more “teeth grip” and more weather durability? Am thinking insulation tape gets blasted by the sun and is prone to peeling off and you lose grip again??
__________________
8Way Universal LNB+Switch; (Explora 2A primary;HDMI to hometheater, HDMI to HDTV +1110 secondary;SDViewing)

silent witness
  #6  
Old 2011-02-15 , 19:34
CASPER CASPER is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andysor View Post
I guess I should get myself a ladder so I don't have to call my friend again after only a week.
Buy a three section ladder from SA Ladder (http_://_www._saladder.co.za ) (spaces inserted in web address), they are very reasonably priced, and the quality is good.
Tags
install, lnb, satcr, weather
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD 2P fan not moving Hemps HD PVR 9 2010-11-17 06:54
Moving houses Mojeneo XtraView 8 2010-05-27 09:31
moving on lesleyj DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 2 2010-02-09 08:47
moving - reinstallation 2XCENTRIC Installation 8 2009-01-21 00:20
Moving Sd Pvr from hosue to Complex need help Wild1.8t Installation 3 2008-12-31 17:27