Forum > Decoders > Installation > blown LNB after plugging SD decoder into HD multiswitch with TV-Link still on
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2014-07-22 , 09:20
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,529
So nothing wrong with the antenna, LNB, or MS!

Just a plain old connector problem!
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2014-07-22 , 09:21
garybenade garybenade is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
The channels are still not working after disconnecting the shorting wire. Could the multiswitch have been damaged by the short?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2014-07-22 , 09:28
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by garybenade View Post
The channels are still not working after disconnecting the shorting wire. Could the multiswitch have been damaged by the short?
yes it is possible. Switch off everything, disconnect all cable from the MS. Keep track of which cable goes where. wait a few seconds to allow any capacitors to discharge, reconnect and try again. The MS may just recover. If not it is damaged, try the spare port if you have one available.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
Reply  
Tags
hd-pvr, lnb, tv-link
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a 2x4 multiswitch for a 4p dstv decoder HTC_guy Installation 5 2014-01-02 17:04
Secondary Decoder cannot be remote controlled through the TV Link blackguyza XtraView 1 2012-07-26 08:13
TV-Link not working on my decoder. xcalibur Remote Controls 15 2011-07-11 18:01
TV Link on a 1110 Decoder ekrazy Installation 2 2010-06-30 22:48
HD-PVR + HD-PVR multiswitch on multiswitch erasmudj XtraView 4 2010-06-04 11:35