Forum > Content > General > CNN lost signal?
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2017-09-13 , 14:12
JeanP's Avatar
JeanP JeanP is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: JHB
Posts: 2,874
Maybe it was something to do with hurricane/tropical storm irma. CNN international HQ is located in Atlanta Georgia. Storm is/was in that area
__________________
In The Tardis (buzzing through space and time )

Explora
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2017-09-13 , 14:45
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,874
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeanP View Post
Maybe it was something to do with hurricane/tropical storm irma. CNN international HQ is located in Atlanta Georgia. Storm is/was in that area
Possibly but I'm sure there should then be some lost signal indication or something and not just a black screen with no message?
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2017-09-13 , 15:20
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,146
if the signal to the satellite upload is lost completely, you cannot send an on screen message.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2017-09-13 , 15:48
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,874
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
if the signal to the satellite upload is lost completely, you cannot send an on screen message.
Is something being done or investigated? It just went off again - again at 15H47 - exact same time????


And is this not being picked up by the monitoring teams?

EDIT: Back on 15H53
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.

Last edited by Krugie; 2017-09-13 at 15:53. .
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2017-09-13 , 16:00
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,146
It's not that it is not being picked up by the teams - the interruption is just so short. My understanding is there is a lot of interference there are the moment, so nothing that can be done on either end. It's like rain fade - you just need to please be patient as it does recover again.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2017-09-13 , 16:05
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,874
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
It's not that it is not being picked up by the teams - the interruption is just so short. My understanding is there is a lot of interference there are the moment, so nothing that can be done on either end. It's like rain fade - you just need to please be patient as it does recover again.
Thanks MoM - but it is very strange that it happens at the exact same time to the minute at least 2 days in a row? And signal back on at the exact same time as well. That points to a different kind of problem.
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2017-09-13 , 16:17
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,521
Irma wasn't threatening Atlanta when the interruption happened on the 11th. Was still hovering around the Florida/Georgia border and beating up everyone on the east coast from Jacksonville to Charleston Was at least 20 min
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2017-09-13 , 17:34
JeanP's Avatar
JeanP JeanP is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: JHB
Posts: 2,874
It was just a suggestion.
__________________
In The Tardis (buzzing through space and time )

Explora
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2017-09-13 , 20:40
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeanP View Post
It was just a suggestion.
I got that Had a boy close to Charlotte in South Carolina at that stage, so I was keeping an eye on where she was causing havoc
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)

Last edited by Luke7777; 2017-09-13 at 20:43. .
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD signal lost on secondary TV ym8016 XtraView 9 2011-06-02 09:03
"lost" lost me! Sankie DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 0 2010-04-20 12:29
Lost Signal jwilliamson Service Queries 1 2010-03-04 16:21
Signal lost on almost all channels simonb123 HD PVR 5 2010-01-06 08:45
Lost Signal walterl SD PVR 4 2009-06-24 18:33