Forum > Value Added Services > DStv Catch Up > Connectivity Speed ????
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2018-01-08 , 21:36
StirlingMac StirlingMac is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
Default Connectivity Speed ????

I have a 20Mbps ADSL connection. The Connectivity Checker tells me I am connected at between 2.24Mbps and sometimes 8.22Mbps. The average is around about the 5Mbps.

Using Speed Checkers on my computers usually puts me at a download speed of 14Mbps. (Decoder and computers all connected by ethernet cables to router)

Is the DSTV Explora 1 showing the right speed or are the decoders very slow with downloads? Is this the norm or acceptable? I also noticed that when the Checker is the process of checking the speed it only shows that it has space for single digit and two after the point. ie _.__. Sorry, hope I have explained this right. So is it unable to show a speed in the tens.

Curious to see if any other members get the same results.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2018-01-09 , 06:22
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,594
I've tested this on a fibre 100/50 line a little while back and it definitely has double digits If I remember, I will do a few checks tonight (Speedtest vs Connectivity checker)
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4Tuner HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2018-01-09 , 08:28
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 4,121
It definitely has double digits yes - I often get speeds in the 90Mbps. But speeds can very drastically - especially during the time of day and specifically prime time. Last night I only managed to get 15Mbps on my 100Mbps line.

It is worth checking at different times of day but I am also not 100% sure how accurate these readings are - they are more of an indication. When I battle with CU+ I always get very low readings.
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2018-01-09 , 09:28
Patrick No 1's Avatar
Patrick No 1 Patrick No 1 is offline
Changes remote batteries moderately.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: On the Intertubes.
Posts: 875
The default server for explora.dstvcdn.com appears to be ddmnap.dstvcdn.com [169.255.192.132 or 197.80.253.243] hosted by MWEB.

This may be overrided for the server best positioned with respect to your ISP.

Sometimes I get:

Code:
$ nslookup explora.dstvcdn.com
Name:	explora.dstvcdn.com
Address: 169.1.1.226

$ nslookup 169.1.1.226
226.1.1.169.in-addr.arpa	name = omoraqix.net.afrihost.co.za.
And sometimes I get:

Code:
$ nslookup explora.dstvcdn.com
Name:	explora.dstvcdn.com
Address: 160.119.80.10

$ nslookup 160.119.80.10
** server can't find 10.80.119.160.in-addr.arpa: NXDOMAIN
Some of the magic appears to be provided by https://www.gslb.me/.

Last edited by Patrick No 1; 2018-01-09 at 14:24. .
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2018-01-09 , 20:27
MC Grace MC Grace is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 477
Hi StirlingMac

The checker has doubled digits. PM your ISP, email address and contact details to help.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2018-01-10 , 08:33
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,594
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke7777 View Post
I've tested this on a fibre 100/50 line a little while back and it definitely has double digits If I remember, I will do a few checks tonight (Speedtest vs Connectivity checker)
Results was a bit up and down with the checker anywhere between 77 and 87Mbps (5 tests) . Speedtest via the same AP the Explora is connected to between 95 and 98
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4Tuner HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2018-01-10 , 18:41
StirlingMac StirlingMac is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
Thanks for replies.

Made a call to Multichoice. Was told that downloads are limited to 4Mbps. Steaming is higher.
Was told today by someone that users with uncapped or high data bundles have speeds "throttled"

Can anyone with a 10 or 20Mbps ADSL check this out.

You guys with fibre must download a 3gig movie in about 5 mins. Wow cannot wait for fibre in my area.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2018-02-06 , 20:53
PeterW PeterW is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 31
Default Buffering issues - DSTV

I have 20 mbps VDSL here at home in Pretoria and Catch-UP etc. is buffering so much it is unwatchable - day or night. I can open 5 HD streaming Youtube movies fine. Did a speedtest today 6 Feb 2018 and it shows :

Download : 19,8 Mbit/s and 31 ms ping if I use the DSTV Speed checker site.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2018-02-10 , 20:45
MC Grace MC Grace is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterW View Post
I have 20 mbps VDSL here at home in Pretoria and Catch-UP etc. is buffering so much it is unwatchable - day or night. I can open 5 HD streaming Youtube movies fine. Did a speedtest today 6 Feb 2018 and it shows :

Download : 19,8 Mbit/s and 31 ms ping if I use the DSTV Speed checker site.
Hi PeterW

Are you still experiencing the same issue? Does the issue occur on HD or SD content?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2018-02-13 , 09:38
ABDurbs ABDurbs is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 63
I have the same issues on my 10mbps ADSL. The speed checker shows me speeds of anything from ../. to 9.78mbps. When I check on my PC I get a constant reading anytime day or night of 8.9 - 9.9mbps.
Both my PC and Decoder are connected via Ethernet.
Result: Constant issues with CU+
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poor connectivity over the weekend Geoff D Discussions 0 2015-08-31 08:41
Desktop Player Connectivity Issue uelmaree123 DStv Catch Up 27 2015-08-18 14:25
drifta on new pc connectivity problem Janetam DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 2 2012-02-17 10:04
Internet connectivity Vebidia HD PVR 6 2009-10-20 13:33