Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > Explora calling home
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2017-04-28 , 09:33
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,323
Here is something to check for those with working Exploras .

This parameter may have to be set to allow IF you are making use of remote recording.
Or if making use of CU+ and Showmax?
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-04-28 at 09:36. .
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2017-04-28 , 10:02
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,128
No, although part of the same system it's a separate setting which makes no difference to any online functionality Geoff. But thanks, you've helped the thinking with the theory I've been considering...

@Andrew - is it possible that someone else in your household is fiddling when there's sometimes connectivity problems without you being aware?
Switching the Explora Connected Services setting off and back on does the following;
1. It will cause the reporting to turn back on.
There is a warning message in the first instance that explains how to turn it off again if not desired, but if it hasn't then been turned off then any repetitive toggling will not display the warning again, until the reporting has been manually turned off. (Just tried it again to be sure.)
2. Any downloads, scheduling for downloads and those time settings, and the download history will be erased.

So if that's what's happening, not recommended, and in my experience it does not help with any occasional connectivity issues.
One exception we've known about for a long time - for initial setup, some have a problem getting going until this setting is toggled once (turned back on after a reboot).
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2017-04-28 , 10:12
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
No, although part of the same system it's a separate setting which makes no difference to any online functionality Geoff. But thanks, you've helped the thinking with the theory I've been considering...

@Andrew - is it possible that someone else in your household is fiddling when there's sometimes connectivity problems without you being aware?
Switching the Explora Connected Services setting off and back on does the following;
1. It will cause the reporting to turn back on.
There is a warning message in the first instance that explains how to turn it off again if not desired, but if it hasn't then been turned off then any repetitive toggling will not display the warning again, until the reporting has been manually turned off. (Just tried it again to be sure.)
2. Any downloads, scheduling for downloads and those time settings, and the download history will be erased.

So if that's what's happening, not recommended, and in my experience it does not help with any occasional connectivity issues.
One exception we've known about for a long time - for initial setup, some have a problem getting going until this setting is toggled once (turned back on after a reboot).
Why toggle the parameter ON if OFF when doing the above action if it is not needed? A SW bug? Or, is it because it has to be ON?

Now if left ON, what does it do? Send the collected data at regular intervals as part of the comms back to MC? What does MC then do with the data if so? Discard it if no agreement has been reached with the specific user?

This is exactly the on-going debate with Microsoft, and it never gets answered there to the satisfaction of Windows users. MS has over many months grudgingly admitted to certain things and provided the user with slightly more control but has never come completely clean either.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2017-04-28 , 11:43
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,323
The default for this setting is ON

The message that appears on the screen reads:

Quote:
When you connect your DStv Explora to the internet, data about how you use your decoder is automatically sent to us.
This data is not tied back to individual users and is used for research to improve our products.
More info (including Terms and Conditions) on dstv.com.

If you do not want us to collect your data, you can switch Usage Monitoring off under System Settings in the Settings menu.
A User will not always be aware that this parameter has returned to the default state should they have chosen to set it to OFF.

In essence this is the same argument going on with Microsoft, Google and many other Internet service providers. The defaults are just about always ON and one has to consciously opt out. And then remember after every update to go and check the settings.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-05-01 at 15:53. .
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2017-05-01 , 09:45
Patrick No 1's Avatar
Patrick No 1 Patrick No 1 is offline
Changes remote batteries moderately.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: On the Intertubes.
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
we DO NOT collect data off your internet connected Explora about what you are watching
Then what EXACTLY does "Usage Monitoring" report?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2017-05-01 , 09:55
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,128
This was posted earlier;

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
Folks, we do not collect data about your viewing habits from your Explora that is connected to the internet. We have a DStv-i Panel that gives us that data. It is unethical to collect data without getting express permission from customers. (Sorry @Geoff your suspicions are unfounded).

We only track what shows are downloaded via Catch Up Plus but not what you are actually watching on your Explora on Catch Up or live television.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2017-05-01 , 10:14
Patrick No 1's Avatar
Patrick No 1 Patrick No 1 is offline
Changes remote batteries moderately.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: On the Intertubes.
Posts: 872
Optimist, that tracking can be done server side. I believe that there is more information that is logged and uploaded via the "Usage Monitoring".
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2017-05-01 , 10:22
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick No 1 View Post
Optimist, that tracking can be done server side.
Agreed, but I think that server side usage is controlled by giving this permission. So then not an actual function other than to pass back a permission byte of info - given the public concerns about the subject it looks like MC are being sensibly over cautious.
But perhaps they plan for more in the future, the disclaimer seems to cover far more than just this. As long as they keep people informed...

Last edited by Optimist; 2017-05-01 at 10:36. .
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stop calling you're making it worse shintorojin Customer service 16 2015-01-27 14:00
Calling in to the Call Centre PeterW Service Queries 4 2012-07-26 10:36
HD PVR 2P installation - how do I know it works before calling MultiChoice? tjarlee Installation 3 2010-06-21 07:43
Calling all HD-PVR users hard-drive noise playback! J Gundlach HD PVR 17 2009-02-28 08:00