Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2014-05-07 , 16:54
GerhardSA GerhardSA is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 52
Default xtra view for 2 aditional TV's

Hi there guys and gals.
Currently I have a P2 as my primary decoder, and then a 2nd DSD1131 decoder in the main bedroom with extra view.
What do I need to do in order to add another "extra view" to another room enabling the person in that room to view whatever they want (and not what is shown on the primary or extra view decoders)

so basically I have 3 decoders of which one is a P2. how can I enable extra view for the other two decoders and TV's?

thanks
Gerhard
  #2  
Old 2014-05-07 , 19:52
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by GerhardSA View Post
Hi there guys and gals.
Currently I have a P2 as my primary decoder, and then a 2nd DSD1131 decoder in the main bedroom with extra view.
What do I need to do in order to add another "extra view" to another room enabling the person in that room to view whatever they want (and not what is shown on the primary or extra view decoders)

so basically I have 3 decoders of which one is a P2. how can I enable extra view for the other two decoders and TV's?

thanks
Gerhard
You can't the max no of decoders on one subscription is 2.
The only combination that gives you view 3 is the sd pvr pluss any of the other xv enabled decoders such as the p2.
A third decoder will attract a second subscription.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
  #3  
Old 2014-05-12 , 13:20
GerhardSA GerhardSA is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 52
Thanks Geoff.
The reason I wanted to know about this was because we recently got a permanent domestic worker in. I want to give her her own tv in her room so that she doesn't have to occupy one of my two TV's the whole time.

Is it possible to uses a dsd 11110 dcoder and get access to the FTA (SABC1,2,3 and E-TV) from there on without having to pay more subscriptions?
That is all she really needs. I don't want to go and buy another external antenna, install it etc. for this. I only have a small little indoor antenna (rabbit ears) but the picture is obviously terrible, and SABC 3 and ETV does not pick up.

So how would I go about this (I read it is possible) from cabling to setup?
thanks man
Is it possible to
  #4  
Old 2014-05-12 , 13:36
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,533
Easyview might be an option for R29/m
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
  #5  
Old 2014-05-12 , 14:35
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by GerhardSA View Post
Thanks Geoff.
The reason I wanted to know about this was because we recently got a permanent domestic worker in. I want to give her her own tv in her room so that she doesn't have to occupy one of my two TV's the whole time.

Is it possible to uses a dsd 11110 dcoder and get access to the FTA (SABC1,2,3 and E-TV) from there on without having to pay more subscriptions?
That is all she really needs. I don't want to go and buy another external antenna, install it etc. for this. I only have a small little indoor antenna (rabbit ears) but the picture is obviously terrible, and SABC 3 and ETV does not pick up.

So how would I go about this (I read it is possible) from cabling to setup?
thanks man
Is it possible to
The easy view package without PVR facilities using an existing decoder ( single view) is definitely possible.

All that needs to be done from an installation point of view is to decide how best to connect the decoder to the existing antenna.

I presume you are using aTWIN LNB and a MS MS?
Run a cable from the spare port on the 2 x 4 MS and the problem is solved.

Altermnatively, if the distances are too large or there is a cabling (ducts too small) problem, take the plunge and get yourself a Quad (4 -way universal) LNB and then use one of the ports to go direct to the location of the 1110 decoder.

The Easy view packge costs R 29/m and will be on a separate subscription.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
  #6  
Old 2014-05-12 , 14:42
Flynn Flynn is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Midrand, Gauteng
Posts: 2,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
The easy view package without PVR facilities using an existing decoder ( single view) is definitely possible.

All that needs to be done from an installation point of view is to decide how best to connect the decoder to the existing antenna.

I presume you are using aTWIN LNB and a MS MS?
Run a cable from the spare port on the 2 x 4 MS and the problem is solved.

Altermnatively, if the distances are too large or there is a cabling (ducts too small) problem, take the plunge and get yourself a Quad (4 -way universal) LNB and then use one of the ports to go direct to the location of the 1110 decoder.

The Easy view packge costs R 29/m and will be on a separate subscription.
Or if the installation is done correctly, the domestic can view from the PVR or the DSD1131, I got this type of installation in my son's room
__________________
PRIMARY - DSTV Explora, LG 55" Smart 3D LED TV, SONY 7.2 Surround Sound, Sony 3D Blu-Ray player
-----------------------
BEDROOM 1 -
HDPVR 2P, 42" Samsung LED TV
-----------------------
BEDROOM 2 -
Phillips 42" LED TV, Can View Both The PVR & 2P
  #7  
Old 2014-05-12 , 16:44
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flynn View Post
Or if the installation is done correctly, the domestic can view from the PVR or the DSD1131, I got this type of installation in my son's room

Not without affecting the other services - as there will still only be the available viewing environs. I understood the requirement to a separate independent viewing environment, which can only be achieved with another subscription.

or an XV combination that includes an SD PVR .....
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single view to xtra view install wtobin Installation 5 2011-05-09 18:04
HD/Dual View via Xtra view brianfel XtraView 13 2011-04-07 08:53
another Xtra View Q 1hill XtraView 13 2011-03-22 10:08
Xtra View between HD PVR & SD PVR Dominic XtraView 6 2009-01-14 10:17