Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-09-13 , 10:36
gwenrb gwenrb is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 21
Wink showmax casting??

I hope someone can help as I am really dim when it comes to tech, but I want to cast showmax and catch-up to my samsung TV using something like chromecast.
My questions are as follows:

1) what would be the best wifi to connect my samsung tablet to chromecast, keeping in mind I don't want to stream?
2) Is chromecast the best option?
3) If I have downloaded a video to my tablet and I cast it to my tv via Wifi does use data, there is no point doing it if I am doubling up on data costs?
4) Keep in mind that my network is too slow and patchy to stream live.
Thanks guys
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-09-14 , 08:45
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,865
The Mods can usually answer these things best, but here's a few basics;

ShowMax like DStv is under the Naspers group, but for most ShowMax queries at this stage we've been told that you need to contact them directly.
It's believed they may offer casting, but unconfirmed.
WiFi does not ever involve a charge for usage, I doubt there are any exceptions to this.

If you have an Explora it could be the easiest option, but not right now as ShowMax can only be streamed on Exploras at this stage.
Keep an eye on the forum for Explora ShowMax downloads being introduced sometime.

I can't help further.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-09-14 , 09:26
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,044
Hi there.

1. Up to you to determine which provider you want to use.
2. For Samsung yes. Check you might need an additional device to be able to Chromecast - pls check with a place like Incredible Connection
3. Nope once downloaded, you are not using data, you're just replaying it

We really are not experts in casting, so pls do some research and reading.

Let us know how you get on.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-09-14 , 09:57
JeanP's Avatar
JeanP JeanP is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: JHB
Posts: 2,691
With a smart tv you don't need Chromecast. Smart tv's have their own casting application built in. You just need a casting app. Seeing that it's a Samsung smart tv. Google Samsung smart tv casting app. That should give you options
__________________
In The Tardis (buzzing through space and time )

Explora
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-09-14 , 15:25
gwenrb gwenrb is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeanP View Post
With a smart tv you don't need Chromecast. Smart tv's have their own casting application built in. You just need a casting app. Seeing that it's a Samsung smart tv. Google Samsung smart tv casting app. That should give you options
LOL Lucky for me I have the stupid Samsung TV
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-09-14 , 17:06
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,308
Can't speak for Samsung, but AFAIK all current model LG TVs have the Show Max app which works very well and has a decent UI. Mine has given zero problems.

If you don't have a smart TV then you will need a spare HDMI port in your dumb TV to accommodate a Chromecast dongle. I picked up 2 of these in the UK recently for 19 quid each; a bargain. So I can confirm that the UK specification Chromecast works fine in South Africa.

I am casting from a Galaxy S7 Edge running Nougat. I cannot vouch for non-Android smartphone platforms.

Still struggling to initiate a Showmax cast from my Google Home to the Chromecast; though YouTube, Spotify and Netflix are all casting fine from my "Home" in SA; She also picks up local weather and landmarks in the Sandton area when questioned.

Cheers, K.
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 42" LED TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp (5.1), Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. LG Blu-ray; Simplink working
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System (5.1), Slingbox Solo; 3-way XV; Bravia Sync working

Last edited by Sandtonman; 2017-09-14 at 17:15. .
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-09-14 , 20:45
JeanP's Avatar
JeanP JeanP is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: JHB
Posts: 2,691
You Can get a local chromecast in takealot.

19 that's a steal for a chromecast
__________________
In The Tardis (buzzing through space and time )

Explora
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-09-15 , 17:57
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeanP View Post
1) You Can get a local chromecast in takealot.

2) 19 that's a steal for a chromecast
1) Yip, JP; it's the UK firmware on the Device
2) Yip, over the bank holiay weekend the Chromecast was 19 quid and the Home 99 quid
Cheers, K
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 42" LED TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp (5.1), Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. LG Blu-ray; Simplink working
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System (5.1), Slingbox Solo; 3-way XV; Bravia Sync working
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Casting downloads does not work deonroel DStv Now 6 2017-06-07 12:06
Casting: A need for a sticky? Geoff D DStv Now 3 2017-04-05 10:30
MultiChoice adds ShowMax to the DStv Explora decoder MC Marietjie PVR Decoders 77 2016-08-31 12:20
showmax problems Cookies DStv Now 3 2016-08-15 13:43
ShowMax now on Explora Optimist General 3 2016-06-24 09:44