Forum > Content > General > MNET Analogue decoders being replaced
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #121  
Old 2018-04-10 , 08:27
Josey Josey is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 16
So I phoned the number you gave me Marietjie and the person on the other end was not able to help. She just said that if I want to record I need to get the PVR decoder. So in effect I am paying R400 per month for very few shows that I am quite often unable to watch and now also unable to record. What is the point? I can rather spend that money on something that gives better value for money. I will find other means to watch my shows.
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 2018-04-10 , 08:31
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,408
Pls send a PM to MC Kenneth so he can escalate this for you. There is a solution for you to record - he can pass your details to the right person to contact you.
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 2018-04-12 , 14:04
Metallicson Metallicson is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Pinetown.KZN.
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
Pls send a PM to MC Kenneth so he can escalate this for you. There is a solution for you to record - he can pass your details to the right person to contact you.
@ Marietjie; Does anybody know how many Migrants there are that wants help with this problem? We are getting conflicting information passed onto us. Thus far there are only 2 Forumites that are pursuing this, as far as this thread is concerned.
I got a call from an agent, she was instructed to call to reassure me that they are busy trowing options around, that there will be a solution, with a cost to me involved. Apparantly M-Net Go cannot offer recording of programs.
The lady also mentioned Explorer 1? I was promised a confirmation e-mail of the options, but alas that was last week and I have not received anything yet. Unfortunately I could not follow everything that was said as it was noisy around me.
May I also send MC Kenneth a PM? or is it by invitation only?
Your efforts are appreciated.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 2018-04-13 , 08:09
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,619
While you're waiting...
MC Kenneth is in charge of this forum, I've no doubt he would welcome your and any others' PM.

Maybe MC do have the final solution and it's been mislaid in some communications, but if they don't yet perhaps the hold up may be that they're considering suggesting the 2P decoder instead or as well - it's inexpensive, small, but likely to cover all needs here. But there could be a supply availability issue, although I suspect that's no worse a situation than with the original Explora. The other possible issue is age, how many years a 2P can still be supported in the ways needed, in which case an Explora is much better.
Can't think of any other current possible options.

That said, IMO it's best to deal with the forum Mods only as far as any facts go, at least until they confirm it's best to go back to the specialist team for this.
And if this goes on beyond next week, note that the new forum will then be at https://community.dstv.com
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 2018-04-13 , 09:24
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,619
Sorry, should have offered more facts re this earlier post, which should clear up the rest of it;

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metallicson View Post
I see the Migrants problem as such; Previous setup: aerial signal to
M-Net decoder- av out- recorder-tuner/tune in all channels- av out to tv. Record 1- watch another.
Nope, Watch 1 / Record 1 has never been possible on any M-Net analogue decoder.
Yes, on the stereo Delta 9000+ the AV output could work "separately", but it only supplied the default channel 7's selected channel when the decoder was in standby mode so it couldn't help achieve that additional RF duality practically.
The Comcrypt decoder was suspected of being designed for more, but that was never enabled, at least not in the many years I was involved with all of that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metallicson View Post
New cenario; Dish- decoder- hdmi to tv. Decoder rf to recorder- cannot tune all channels seperately, the decoder only supplies the channel signal that has been chosen. Not able to record 1- watch another. So Migrants have a 50/50 situation; You cannot access 2 channels at the same time, 1 recording and the second watching, but, even so, it is better than not being able to record all those late night shows to watch at a more convenient time.
Or, an Explora2 which will solve that problem, and as is the usual, you will have to pay, there is no such thing as a total free-bee.
MC big heartily gave us something, but it wasn't free, we lost something we've had for many years, being able to record.
(edited due to concerns about inaccurate and misleading information)

As discussed above, to do Watch 1 / Record 1 would be something new and therefore would require the access fee.
BTW, that also allows you to pause and rewind live TV. And you could even record M-Net AND CSN at the same, by using your external recorder as well.

Last things to note - items recorded on the actual decoder itself can only be accessed while there's still an active subscription, and audio / radio channels can't be recorded on any decoders.

Last edited by Optimist; 2018-04-13 at 14:16. . Reason: Tidy up
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 2018-04-13 , 11:01
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,619
One other rumour it's best to sort out now since I have the time - MC being blamed for the concern that SABC / eTV can't be watched separately without handicapping other channel-etc.-via-decoder usage.

It's not MC's fault that all analogue signals are being done away with, nor their responsibility to assist you in getting that in the same independent way as before.
The installers removing or disabling any terrestrial antennae is also nobody else's fault, but it wouldn't have helped for long anyway.

If a usage concern due to multiple TVs etc. - my suggestion is to also buy an inexpensive decoder for FTA satellite use. Currently you can get the one made by Sentech, or the better options OpenView HD decoder.
No subs involved with either.
But for each completely separately operating FTA channel wanted in your home you need a decoder.
BTW, this is the reality for anyone else also still wanting those old terrestrial channels via independently supplied options.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
And you could even record M-Net AND CSN at the same, by using your external recorder as well.
By this I meant only if you aren't trying to watch something else via the decoder at the same time. Can of course be any two of the channels you have access to and want recorded at the same time.
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 2018-04-13 , 11:25
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metallicson View Post
@ Marietjie; Does anybody know how many Migrants there are that wants help with this problem? We are getting conflicting information passed onto us. Thus far there are only 2 Forumites that are pursuing this, as far as this thread is concerned.
I got a call from an agent, she was instructed to call to reassure me that they are busy trowing options around, that there will be a solution, with a cost to me involved. Apparantly M-Net Go cannot offer recording of programs.
The lady also mentioned Explorer 1? I was promised a confirmation e-mail of the options, but alas that was last week and I have not received anything yet. Unfortunately I could not follow everything that was said as it was noisy around me.
May I also send MC Kenneth a PM? or is it by invitation only?
Your efforts are appreciated.
Pleaes only liaise direclty with the team who have already been in touch with you. This is our special escalations team for migration. If you send my self or Kenneth a message, we're just going to send it on to that team.

M-Net GO is the package you are on. Whether or not you can record, has nothing to do with the package but with the decoder you are using.

Please liaise directly with the team via email (the migraitons email address I supplied) or phone them on 011 289 2270. If you are not getting joy, ask to speak to Rashida Adam who is the manager of that team.
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 2018-04-13 , 12:23
Metallicson Metallicson is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Pinetown.KZN.
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
Pls send a PM to MC Kenneth so he can escalate this for you. There is a solution for you to record - he can pass your details to the right person to contact you.
@ MC Marietjie, please bear with me, but you have advised Josey on the 10th to do just that?
That is the reason why I posted to you, I am trying to be proactive.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 2018-04-13 , 12:47
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,619
Sounds like you should try again...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
If you are not getting joy, ask to speak to Rashida Adam who is the manager of that team.
Some of us know Rashida, she's excellent so would sort out any remaining concerns. But she's extremely busy so do give her some time.
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 2018-04-13 , 13:45
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metallicson View Post
@ MC Marietjie, please bear with me, but you have advised Josey on the 10th to do just that?
That is the reason why I posted to you, I am trying to be proactive.
Since that post, I posted the email address that you can use - this is a more direct process. MNetMigrations@multichoice.co.za
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MNET Analogue Decoder bighit General 6 2014-06-04 13:29
Carte Blanche 'spin-off' programs possibly being replaced Brian G DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 0 2010-12-06 23:59
South Park and King of the Hill being replaced? jclpmd DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 8 2010-11-09 07:38
Xtraview with analogue MNet? Toilet Duck XtraView 5 2009-11-03 10:57