Forum > Broadcast Errors > Broadcast Errors > Frustrating Record Function
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2017-07-25 , 15:24
francet francet is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 42
Thanks Mpho


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2017-07-27 , 09:51
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,324
What is worrying me about this is that if we are not careful, the entire idea behind ensuring that a repeat is scheduled for a partial recording will be compromised.

That is and remains the prime purpose of the facility.

What is going wrong here is two-fold.

(1) A user problem. When you schedule recordings, especially a once off of a series, you have to make absolutely sure that you select the once off option and NOT the series option.

(2) A EPG problem. One of many. If the persons loading the EPG information fail to do things properly, a highlight package will be scheduled as part of a series instead of as a stand alone event, which will then trigger the above issue. Secondly, if a highlight package is scheduled as part of a series, it MUST be scheduled as if it is a new episode and not as if it is just part of the last item broadcast.

(3) Another way would be to NOT replace partial recordings ever, but leave it to the user to clean up afterwards.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-07-27 at 10:10. .
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2017-07-27 , 10:07
RyanDavid RyanDavid is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 154
The "(1)User problem" certainly doesn't apply to the issue I raised, as I was recording an individual program not a series. I very rarely record a whole series and that seems a very easy mistake to avoid.

Most sports events aren't even listed as series (try to record an EPL game and you won't have the option to record all the EPL games in the season, from what I recall) so this doesn't seem to apply to the issues raised so far in this thread.

When I record a series it is a deliberate action ("I want the whole of Westworld as I don't trust CU") and I don't really have an issue with replace in that case, assuming it works and doesn't replace a copy with a tiny problem with one with a bigger problem. But the examples we've raised here of recording the end of something and wanting to return to it later (to find it's been overwritten) are a different issue. I agree that the EPG problems are a factor though, if the TDF stage highlights I referred to had been properly labeled this situation would have been avoided.

When I recorded the end of Stage 21 of the TDF it wouldn't have mattered whether I recorded the individual program or the whole series (which I don't think there was an option for), the decoder would have still replaced it as "incomplete", in this case with an incorrectly labeled highlights package. So this "user error" is not relevant to the problem I had.

Last edited by RyanDavid; 2017-07-27 at 10:17. .
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2017-07-27 , 10:12
MC Mpho's Avatar
MC Mpho MC Mpho is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 245
Hi GeoffD,

Thanks for your input in this matter. I will forward it to the Explora product team.
Herewith a response they have provided, I hope it helps:
The issue of the live rugby match being replaced by highlights is a scheduling/metadata issue and should never happen. This has been raised with the scheduling team.

The partial recording being replaced by a full recording has been a feature since launch. This is the first complaint we have received on it. The more likely use case is that customers would want the full recording rather than the partial one. If possible, bookmark from the original recording could be inserted.

Regards,
Mpho



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2017-07-27 , 10:16
RyanDavid RyanDavid is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 154
I just want to turn this function off, for all the reasons I have explained. Will we ever get to a point where we don't have "scheduling/metadata issues which should never happen"? Just look at the other threads around the forums. Please consider giving us the option to disable this.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2017-07-27 , 10:17
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Mpho View Post
Hi GeoffD,

Thanks for your input in this matter. I will forward it to the Explora product team.
Herewith a response they have provided, I hope it helps:
The issue of the live rugby match being replaced by highlights is a scheduling/metadata issue and should never happen. This has been raised with the scheduling team.

The partial recording being replaced by a full recording has been a feature since launch. This is the first complaint we have received on it. The more likely use case is that customers would want the full recording rather than the partial one. If possible, bookmark from the original recording could be inserted.

Regards,
Mpho



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks for the feedback. I would hate to see the idea of partial recording replacements being compromised because of an issue with how the EPG info (metadata/scheduling issue) is loaded. THAT IS the problem and not the functionality of the decoder recording software and how it works.

It just adds to the never ending list of issues we have with the EPG information, how it is loaded into the system for the various decoder models, and how it is checked before it is streamed out.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2017-07-27 , 16:58
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 419
I fully support and agree with Geoff's point of view on this matter. I find this feature very handy when during channel hopping I happen to come across a program or movie which I like to see from the beginning. Recording it partially save me the trouble to search for a repeat, the decoder will find and record a repeat if it become available within the next few days.

Rather sort out the cause of the problem than fiddling with something that is working as intended.
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2017-07-29 , 12:55
Silk Silk is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 37
Instead of replacing the partial recording, why not create a new recording in the playlist for the re-scheduled program? The user can then choose to either watch the partial or the full recording and delete whichever one he doesn't want?
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pvr loses it's record function? orinoco SD PVR 1 2011-12-27 16:20
E76 TV2 Disabled / WARNING: This function cannot be performed ... Glen SD PVR 4 2010-04-24 14:43
My frustrating 1st experience with the HDPVR Kang HD PVR 0 2009-12-05 02:47
No Descriptive Function Text for HD-PVR Remote's Colour Buttons CBR:. HD PVR 5 2009-01-07 18:47