Forum > DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) > DStv Products > HD PVR > Calling all HD-PVR users hard-drive noise playback!
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2009-02-27 , 07:06
J Gundlach's Avatar
J Gundlach J Gundlach is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 845
Default Calling all HD-PVR users hard-drive noise playback!

Hi all,

I noticed when I play a recorded TV show, hard-drive is quit noisy.
Any body else wants to comment !.

Regards

Jochen
  #2  
Old 2009-02-27 , 07:31
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by J Gundlach View Post
Any body else wants to comment !
I'll admit that I haven't noticed as yet.

As a sort of related query. Does the PVR do any sort of defragmentation process? If not, this could obviously result in increased hard drive noise during playback eventually.

I have also had to do a format of my PVR in the past to correct an strange error. I noticed, however, that this was a quick format and not low level which might have the ability to identify errors on the drive. I suppose that this could be fixed by some sort of disk checking utility?
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
  #3  
Old 2009-02-27 , 10:24
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,407
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon View Post
I'll admit that I haven't noticed as yet.

As a sort of related query. Does the PVR do any sort of defragmentation process? If not, this could obviously result in increased hard drive noise during playback eventually.

I have also had to do a format of my PVR in the past to correct an strange error. I noticed, however, that this was a quick format and not low level which might have the ability to identify errors on the drive. I suppose that this could be fixed by some sort of disk checking utility?
(1) I cannot comment on the HD PVR drive but can tell you what the situation is on the SD.

(a) no defrag process - and yes the HDD does get into a mess.
(b) A Reformat does correct somewhat
(c) Examing HDD with standard utility software shows just how severe the fragmentation gets.
(d) The SD HDD is a standard IDE drive and most utlity s/w will work, even a derfag routine. What I have done in the past is to clean up the drive completely by deleting all stored data, doing the normal low level checks and then reformatting the HDD in the decoder after replacement in the SD decoder.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
  #4  
Old 2009-02-27 , 10:38
J Gundlach's Avatar
J Gundlach J Gundlach is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 845
@Geoff D and Simon,

If got my HD-PVR from Tuesday this week.
Started recording on Wednesday.
I noticed when playing a recording their is noise. Then this morning when eveything is quite at home I watched another recording.
I sat 2.5meters from the HD-PVR and heard the harddisk activity.
This to me is noisy, to others it might not.

Regards

Jochen

Last edited by J Gundlach; 2009-02-27 at 15:55. . Reason: Spelling
  #5  
Old 2009-02-27 , 10:45
Merv's Avatar
Merv Merv is offline
A big, eagle-eyed baobab.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Westville, Durban
Posts: 5,213
Are you watching silent movies on TCM?
__________________
Twin LNB > Explora Switch > Pace HDPVR 2P + Explora (+UEC HDPVR 4U)
Video: HDMI > 4x2 switch > TVs
Audio: Optical > Amp
  #6  
Old 2009-02-27 , 10:45
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
(a) no defrag process - and yes the HDD does get into a mess.
Also, no "chkdsk" utility to identify and mark bad sectors on the drive I assume?
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
  #7  
Old 2009-02-27 , 10:47
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by J Gundlach View Post
I noticed when playing a recording their is noise. Then this morning when eveything is quite at home I watched another recording.
I will listen out, but I haven't noticed as yet. Where is your decoder located? Is it somewhere that is likely to reflect more sound?
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
  #8  
Old 2009-02-27 , 10:50
J Gundlach's Avatar
J Gundlach J Gundlach is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 845
@Simon,

I dont think so.
See under your private messages, I left you a message yesterday.
Like to get more feedback on your SatCR installation.

Regards

Jochen
__________________
SATCR Installation:
Decoders used:UEC HD-PVR + HD-PVR-2P Decoder.
Equip. Setup Decoder (HDMI) -> (HDMI) Sony KLV-40S400A :: Sound Decoder (Fiber) -> Fiber Yamaha RX-V663 ; HD-PVR-2P -> (AV) and 3rd TV viewing (RF).
Installation 2A done.
UEC is primary device and HD-PVR-2P Decoder secondary device.
  #9  
Old 2009-02-27 , 12:49
JG's Avatar
JG JG is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon View Post
Also, no "chkdsk" utility to identify and mark bad sectors on the drive I assume?
Not a menu function, no, but I think it does have some sort of disk checking utility built in.
When I took my SDPVR in for the smartcard swop, the technician checked the drive too. The recordings would not play - wrong procedure was followed - so of course the decoder was presumed faulty .

The decoder scrolled "Checking disc" on the display for quite some time. I did not see how he got the decoder to do this and he would not tell me either.
  #10  
Old 2009-02-27 , 13:44
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,407
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon View Post
Also, no "chkdsk" utility to identify and mark bad sectors on the drive I assume?
Not that I have detected, but then I have not really done much "reformatting" or setting back to factory defaults either.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
 
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off