Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2010-11-10 , 09:04
sualk's Avatar
sualk sualk is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 674
Default Best safety net setting?

I would just like to know from fellow viewers with a HDPVR what the best option is to set the "Safety Net" recording to?

Mine is currently on default(3mins before/10 mins after) but when I watched the recording from last night,it still had part of the ending from the movie before.

Any recommendations?
__________________
Setup: Twin LNB, Pace HD PVR 2P, HDMI, 40" HiSense Full HD LED TV.
  #2  
Old 2010-11-10 , 09:14
Theo's Avatar
Theo Theo is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: in front of a Pace 4T.
Posts: 2,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by sualk View Post
I would just like to know from fellow viewers with a HDPVR what the best option is to set the "Safety Net" recording to?

Mine is currently on default(3mins before/10 mins after) but when I watched the recording from last night,it still had part of the ending from the movie before.

Any recommendations?
24 hours on both sides.
I'll make the end bigger, because one can miss the beginning, but ot the end.
__________________
I hate people who take drugs......Customs men for example.
  #3  
Old 2010-11-10 , 09:23
Tulani's Avatar
Tulani Tulani is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,838
2min on either side has proved to be ok with me. I rarely miss any part of the opening or end of any recording. 99% of the time, conclusion of recording e.g. movies leaves +/-10min (of usually rolling credits) before the safety net starts. I have decided to shorten this to maximize on the usage of the small HDD
__________________
8Way Universal LNB+Switch; (Explora 2A primary;HDMI to hometheater, HDMI to HDTV +1110 secondary;SDViewing)

silent witness
  #4  
Old 2010-11-10 , 09:31
sualk's Avatar
sualk sualk is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 674
I sense a bit of sarcasm in your reply Theo

It's all good.

I'm new to this PVR tech-no-lo-gy and watned to find out what's the best way of doing things.
__________________
Setup: Twin LNB, Pace HD PVR 2P, HDMI, 40" HiSense Full HD LED TV.
  #5  
Old 2010-11-10 , 09:32
Doug_Dread's Avatar
Doug_Dread Doug_Dread is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wild West of Jozi
Posts: 463
Minimum before, they're never early, and maximum after, they frequently run late. The safety net is unfortunately not going to save you from the numerous EPG errors, so set important programmes as well as one of their repeats to record, easy to cancel if nothing goes wrong.
__________________
Dual LNB, 2x6-way m/switch (4 used), Pace HDPVR 4 tuner, 65" Samsung UHD TV 16:9, WD media player/Samsung J7500 BluRay player, all connected via HDMI through a Denon X3200W AVR.

Last edited by Doug_Dread; 2010-11-10 at 09:34. .
  #6  
Old 2010-11-10 , 09:39
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by sualk View Post
I sense a bit of sarcasm in your reply Theo

It's all good.

I'm new to this PVR tech-no-lo-gy and watned to find out what's the best way of doing things.
Well it is up to you ---- the larger the buffers are the less recording capacity you have IF you are a hoarder of content.

I set 10 min start and end buffers, because i simply hate to miss out on any content --- if a show is cut off at the start and end, I do not watch it - it goes straight to the delete bin.
So all recordings get checked to see if the start and end are okay, before I watch them, simple.

If the s/w allowed for bigger buffers, I would set them bigger.

BTW: IF you view a recording, press the "yellow" button = displays the timeline, and there are "markers" on the time line showing the "theoretical" start and end points of the desired content. FFW to the strat marker if the buffer content bothers you.

Wait a while until you experience the numerous EPG errors and then you will appreciate the reason for the buffer settings.


Agree with Theo, bigger end buffers are more NB than large start buffers.

Last edited by Geoff D; 2010-11-10 at 10:04. .
  #7  
Old 2010-11-10 , 09:44
Theo's Avatar
Theo Theo is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: in front of a Pace 4T.
Posts: 2,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
Agree with Theo, bigger Start buffers are more NB than large end buffers.
Andersterom.
__________________
I hate people who take drugs......Customs men for example.
  #8  
Old 2010-11-10 , 10:05
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theo View Post
Andersterom.
Oops fixed thanks Theo.
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When setting up a new dish, where do I start? Liverpool2010 Installation 4 2010-07-26 09:24
Setting of TBRs KennethM HD PVR 9 2010-04-27 11:51
Original Resolution Setting kevbo HD PVR 1 2009-08-05 17:58
SCART Setting Bug Simon HD PVR 4 2009-05-11 13:56
New Issue: TBR setting changes channels by itself Geoff D HD PVR 1 2009-02-20 11:52