Forum > Decoders > Standard Decoders > Missing Channels on Premium Bouquet
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2018-01-23 , 14:54
Bruce99 Bruce99 is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
Default Missing Channels on Premium Bouquet

My DSTV HD MODEL 4U just keeps dropping channels and replacing them with the E48-32 error message.
I could go through the whole lot, but let me just focus on the sports channels.
200 Blitz HD: E48-32 message
201 SS1 HD: working
202 SS2 HD: E48-32 message
203 SS3 HD: working
204 SS4 HD: working
205 SS5 HD: E48-32 message
206 SS6 HD: E48-32 message
207 SS7 HD: E48-32 message

LNB Type is SMATV for my apartment in Cape Town
I have done a re_scan and also a Reset to Factory Default.
Does anyone have any ideas where I can start looking at solutions for this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2018-01-23 , 15:34
MC Sandipa's Avatar
MC Sandipa MC Sandipa is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 160
Hi Bruce99,

I have escalated your query and will feedback as soon as I can.

Regards,
MC Mpho
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2018-01-23 , 16:33
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,624
All those listed as not working are Horizontally polarised.
You're on a communal system and so have lost some of the original SMATV settings. Only your building's BC or landlord can help as the communal systems in use are many and too varied for our help.
However, if you come back with details someone may be able to assist further if needed.

Hi Mpho, welcome back :-)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2018-01-24 , 08:06
MC Sandipa's Avatar
MC Sandipa MC Sandipa is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 160
Thank you Optimist. Adding to your comments:
It looks like the wrong settings are being used in the menu.

If your decoder is on a SMATV installation, then you will have to enter all the Shifted frequencies on the “Home Network” setting screen and then scan the decoder.

Please get the correct settings from your body corporate if you live in a complex and if your decoder has a ‘special’ installation.

If it is a normal setup where you have your own personal satellite dish then the settings should not be set to SMATV.

Please let us know how it goes.

Regards,
MC Mpho
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2018-02-27 , 12:06
Terrence's Avatar
Terrence Terrence is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NW Johannesburg
Posts: 458
This may be a different issue from the specific case in the OP; however, since switching to the 4U (from an 1110), on a simple single-view domestic installation, we've noticed that a few times a month on average, we get missing channels or a "no signal" message after the daily (in our case, early morning) reboot. Weather is not a factor - it's happened on days of rain, and on perfectly clear and still ones.

Channels I recall this happening with are VH1 Classic (323), BBC World News (400), and SABC 2 (192). Sometimes it's the channel the decoder was left on the previous night; sometimes the error appears on trying to tune to the channel. It can usually be resolved with one or two hard reboots; however, it is annoying.
__________________
DStv Premium; DSD 4U (4136)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2018-03-01 , 11:05
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,624
Hi there Terrence,

Don't automatically rule out the weather - if water gets into old, cracked or poorly insulated cables or the LNB it can have an effect for ages.

All channels mentioned are Vertically polarised, which suggests at least a possible LNB skew angle misalignment.
If weather is aggravating that then Bob's your aunty, there's the combined problem.

My suggestion - call in an installer, and based on the history of problems you've had preferably someone new and recommended by word of mouth.

I'm not helping much now, and for future tech posts the best place may be in the Installations forum section.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Tags
e48-32 error, missing channels
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DStv Premium Bouquet puggy General 14 2013-04-23 11:31
Premium bouquet? No thank you Jack DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 17 2013-01-14 12:58
HD channel in non-Premium bouquet Jack DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 1 2013-01-09 16:06
Public bouquet missing Anoop HD PVR 4 2011-01-07 13:19
HD bouquet displaying few channels only brentsw3 XtraView 5 2009-10-25 14:40