Forum > Decoders > Installation > DSD1131 XtraView with Explora
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2016-03-22 , 17:41
AtlasWorks AtlasWorks is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 3
Exclamation DSD1131 XtraView with Explora

Hi
I have a client with an Explora.
She now wants to have an old DSD113 single view decoder set up as an extraview decoder.
The problem is she only has one RG6 cable and one CAT5 cable in the conduit with no possible route for another run of cable.
Please help
Thanks in advance
Atlas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2016-03-22 , 18:29
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,356
Welcome to posting Atlas :-)

Tricky situation, I've got a couple of ideas to share;

1. Search the marketplace for a SATCR (unicable)-to-legacy (universal) x2 reverse converter, must exist.
If found, I wouldn't trust a SLNB's (Smart LNB) MC-type proprietary output to work with it properly, so would suggest that a standard SATCR LNB then be used.
The converter would be inside of course, then its two feeds would need to go to a 5-2 Explora Switch.

2. More possible - have the client agree to go for another unicable-supporting second decoder.
Anyway as you say the 113x series are "old" now.
Here you would need a unicable splitter connected inside, again fed from a standard SATCR LNB, I can't recall the brand name of one unicable splitter that is definitely known on the forum to work with MC products but perhaps another Forumite will and post what it is.
I don't know but perhaps the new non-PVR "HD Decoder" can accept unicable (can MC or a Forumite assist with this?), else it would have to be a legacy HD PVR, the 2 tuners aren't bulky and although there's a risk with such purchases there's also more chance of longer MC tech support. And it offers an extra PVR option.

Please let us know how this goes through to the end, very interesting thread to bookmark for others.

Last edited by Optimist; 2016-03-22 at 18:40. . Reason: Detail
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2016-03-22 , 19:01
gwalker gwalker is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 7,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlasWorks View Post
Hi
I have a client with an Explora.
She now wants to have an old DSD113 single view decoder set up as an extraview decoder.
The problem is she only has one RG6 cable and one CAT5 cable in the conduit with no possible route for another run of cable.
Please help
Thanks in advance
Atlas
Then youre only option is to get an HD Single view Decoder and use a unicable with a splitter.

G
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2016-03-22 , 19:05
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwalker View Post
Then youre only option is to get an HD Single view Decoder and use a unicable with a splitter.
Can you confirm with certainty that the non-PVR HD Decoder will accept unicable?
BTW, know that you like to refer to this decoder as the "HD Single view Decoder", but all HD decoders are single view.

Not the only option, you can read my post above for further detail and about other options.

Last edited by Optimist; 2016-03-22 at 19:43. . Reason: Clarity
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2016-03-23 , 14:23
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,356
Here's the missing info re the main suggestions (#2);

You can use an Inverto SATCR and its associated splitter, for details and part numbers see Unicable splitter

I have just been to Hi Fi Corp. and examined the non-PVR HD Decoder, legacy (universal) LNB input only.
EDIT: This info was later determined to be incorrect, this decoder will also accept a unicable input.
_____________________
Helpful links (2016):
New Explora - problems with Catch Up / Box Office
Technical DIY help
To send a PM (Private Messaging) - click on "USER CP" near top left of page

Last edited by Optimist; 2016-05-24 at 19:00. .
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2016-03-30 , 09:02
AtlasWorks AtlasWorks is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 3
Thanks for this info guys.
So just to confirm, I will need one of these from Inverto Part no: IDLB-QUDL41-UNI2L-1PP and connect it in the configuration as described in the attached diagram.
Do you think SpaceTV would be able to supply me with one of these unicable splitters?
Attached Images
File Type: png Untitled.png (25.8 KB, 8 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2016-03-30 , 10:27
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,356
Your best bet is to phone and consult with them, they're very helpful. You could also try www.hdcabling.co.za

I probably can't assist further but will be interested to hear how this works out, all the best with it :-)
Reply With Quote
Reply
Tags
explora, extraview dsd1131, installation, one rg6 cable
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xtraview 1 DSTV Explora + DSD1131 + SLNB snakes Installation 6 2015-09-21 14:04
DStv Explora and Xtraview on DSD1131 dsphatlane Installation 0 2015-04-14 10:03
XtraView HD PVR 2P + DSD1131 acampbell Installation 4 2015-04-01 12:17
HDPVR P2 with DSD1131 Xtraview wilmax XtraView 7 2011-03-05 10:51
Need UEC HDPVR + DSD1131 + XtraView Setup/Config Advice rayzor69 XtraView 8 2010-09-27 13:38