Forum > Decoders > Remotes > New A7 remote - advanced features
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2016-11-20 , 17:09
JeanP's Avatar
JeanP JeanP is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: JHB
Posts: 2,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
All that's known so far is that there were some further official delays.
Ahhh I see I'm guessing they will release it closer to Xmas as A nice gift idea
__________________
In The Tardis (buzzing through space and time )

Explora
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2016-11-22 , 08:44
ivanj's Avatar
ivanj ivanj is offline
Has to hide the DStv remote from the little one.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The east.. of JHB
Posts: 2,939
all i can say is, its a awesome remote, and very easy to program
__________________
Pace HdPVR 2p(Offline) ,PaceHDPVR 4P,UEC 2U, And ExploraQuad feed LNB , 2x8 MS , NO Extra View , Samsung Series 6 LED (eh6030) , Connected via HDMI
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2016-11-22 , 10:26
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 7,680
The remote will be available at our Walk-in Centres from 1 December onwards.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2016-11-26 , 14:07
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,092
Looks like that sale date is confirmed.

Is it my imagination, or is there a massive price increase on this remote over the A6?

Taken the shine off my recent Explora 2 purchase, considering I need another 3 remotes.

Edit : OK, which idiot in the design team thought that it was good to change the remote numbers to colours? Really?
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision

Last edited by Simon; 2016-11-26 at 14:16. .
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2016-11-26 , 14:49
JeanP's Avatar
JeanP JeanP is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: JHB
Posts: 2,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon View Post
Looks like that sale date is confirmed.

Is it my imagination, or is there a massive price increase on this remote over the A6?

Taken the shine off my recent Explora 2 purchase, considering I need another 3 remotes.

Edit : OK, which idiot in the design team thought that it was good to change the remote numbers to colours? Really?
Nope it's not your imagination the price has increased. However the back lit buttons could be the things that put the price up. Also inflation plays a part too I'm sure
__________________
In The Tardis (buzzing through space and time )

Explora
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2016-11-26 , 14:55
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,092
Wonder if they'll let me swap the A7 (unused) for the A6 and then I can buy some A6s.

The colours are a HUGE issue for my setup.
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2016-11-26 , 17:45
Homealone's Avatar
Homealone Homealone is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Glenvista (JHB South)
Posts: 544
"In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king."

Is the one eye not colour blind then?
__________________
DIY installation, SLNB (LMX501), 88cm dish, XtraView via 'old school' HB cable, Explora-1 (primary), Explora-1 (secondary),
'SD 96' co-axial cables used and routed through 25mm PVC conduit pipe networks, Compression F-type connectors throughout.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2016-11-26 , 18:31
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homealone View Post
"In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king."

Is the one eye not colour blind then?
Hahahaha! Excellent. But, as the Lord of one domain to another, a question.

Unless your setup is two completely separate viewing environments where no content from one is watched on another. How do you remember which decoder is linked to which content and how to make sure the remote works?

Colour? ;-)

Mine has been oh so simple for oh so long.

TV Channel 1 = SDPVR 1 = Remote 1
TV Channel 2 = SDPVR 2 = Remote 2
TV Channel 3 = HDPVR = Remote 3

Now it's going to be ...

TV Channel 1 = Explora 2 (1) = Remote Red
TV Channel 2 = Explora 2 (2) = Remote Green
TV Channel 3 = Explora 2 (3) = Remote Orange

Yeah, like my subjects are ever going to remember that across the divide of five viewing environments and three decoders.
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision

Last edited by Simon; 2016-11-26 at 18:36. .
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2016-11-27 , 10:35
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12,822
Although not ideal for your circumstances, surely you don't want to give up the programming ability of the A7 Simon - couldn't you just put a sticky label on each A7?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2016-11-27 , 11:32
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,092
Nope. There is one environment where a programmed remote might be useful, but the other 4 don't need it at all (the A6 is programmable enough for that environment). So, 3 remotes at R249 each for functionality that I don't need.

If I go A6 on those, I can save a lot, but then they'll be different.

You cannot believe how techo retarded the members of my family (and some other families I know) are.

It has to be as simple as TV Channel 1 = Remote Channel 1. If I can't do that, the Explora 2 goes back to the store.

Until DSTV does what the rest of the world did ages ago - Whole Home DVR with shared content. In which case, all of this ceases to be a problem.
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DStv Remote (A6) User Guide & Advanced Options MC Brenda Explora HD PVR 0 2013-08-23 14:04
HD PVR: features wishlist - what features do you think are missing? : ) C4 HD PVR 258 2012-10-22 09:22
More advanced search features Pinnekj°tt DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 3 2010-09-27 08:14
Can't get into Advanced Options menu Derik Muntingh HD PVR 1 2010-06-03 08:43
Advanced options Pin Code fred2345 HD PVR 1 2010-05-05 19:15