Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > Signal strength / quality on Explora
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 2015-06-21 , 11:16
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by faf_za View Post
Hi all,I installed my Explora today coming from a 2 Tuner HD Pvr. 80cm dish with smart LNB. Signal strength on both tuners on the HD Pvr was 98% with quality on 100%. On the Explora tuner 1 is on 89% strength with quality only 83% and tuner 3 is only 72 strength and 60% quality. I am not sure why the values are so different between the 2 decoders. Should I align my dish better for the Explora to improve the signal values?
Hi, see this post: http://forum.dstv.com/showthread.php...627#post248627
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 2015-10-18 , 14:52
Chebsy Chebsy is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 71
Default Tuner 2 status on Explorer Decoder

A while back I asked about the Explorer Tuner 2 Status, but I haven't had a chance to try and sort it out until now.
From what I can pick up on a search of the forum (I can't find my message), it seems that the Tuner 2 will only show percentages during recordings.
Please can you confirm if this is still correct,as all references quoting this directly are old.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 2015-10-18 , 15:42
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,466
Yes, you need to start a recording before checking tuner 2. Values displayed beforehand, if any at all, seem to be inaccurate "fading ghosts" of previous recording activity.

Any further help will have to wait for others, all the best with it.

You can find you old posts by clicking on your name at the top of any one of your posts, then you get this sub menu;



Find posts.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 2015-10-18 , 20:45
Chebsy Chebsy is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 71
Default Tuner status

Great Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 2016-05-09 , 08:55
XRay's Avatar
XRay XRay is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 530
The call centre staff need to be informed about the issue with singal levels on the Explora. I spent an hour sorting out my new Explora thinking it was in another country but the support staff kept hinting the issue was with my set-up.

What is really frustrating is that Tuner 1 is strength 95% quality 100% but tuner 3 is strength 60% quality 80%. I don't have issues getting catch-up but any issues and the support staff almost don't want to help unless the strength is 80%+ and Quality is 100%
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 2016-05-09 , 09:11
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by XRay View Post
What is really frustrating is that Tuner 1 is strength 95% quality 100% but tuner 3 is strength 60% quality 80%. I don't have issues getting catch-up but any issues and the support staff almost don't want to help unless the strength is 80%+ and Quality is 100%
Those signals may appear good enough to you, but the Explora is more sensitive and lots of forum experience says otherwise for longer term usage, and our findings are on a parallel with what MC has posted about it before.
I have nearly 40 years of on and off experience, I am sure that the "slightly" better values suggested below make enough of a difference.

The best way to test that we regularly present Forumites recommend;
To test tuner 2 always start a recording first (recording the same channel as the one it's suggested you view live for each tuner 1 test).
Test channel 262 (vertical polarisation), and then 405 (horizontal polarisation) for tuners 1 & 2. For tuner 3 just take the readings.

Recommended:
Strength 80%+ on both horizontal & vertical polarities on tuner 1 & 2, 65 to 70%+ on tuner 3. Quality for all tuner results on 90%+, perhaps 1 or 2% less would do.

Last edited by Optimist; 2016-05-09 at 10:00. . Reason: Clarity
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 2016-05-09 , 16:41
XRay's Avatar
XRay XRay is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
Those signals may appear good enough to you, but the Explora is more sensitive and lots of forum experience says otherwise for longer term usage, and our findings are on a parallel with what MC has posted about it before.
I have nearly 40 years of on and off experience, I am sure that the "slightly" better values suggested below make enough of a difference.

The best way to test that we regularly present Forumites recommend;
To test tuner 2 always start a recording first (recording the same channel as the one it's suggested you view live for each tuner 1 test).
Test channel 262 (vertical polarisation), and then 405 (horizontal polarisation) for tuners 1 & 2. For tuner 3 just take the readings.

Recommended:
Strength 80%+ on both horizontal & vertical polarities on tuner 1 & 2, 65 to 70%+ on tuner 3. Quality for all tuner results on 90%+, perhaps 1 or 2% less would do.
Case of "Nothing has changed"
Tweaked the skew angle and altitude angle to sort out sagging. 100% quality all round. (Possibly the original installation was not as accurate as the Dualview decoder didn't need it to be as accurate in 2002.)
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 2016-05-09 , 17:54
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by XRay View Post
Case of "Nothing has changed"
Tweaked the skew angle and altitude angle to sort out sagging. 100% quality all round. (Possibly the original installation was not as accurate as the Dualview decoder didn't need it to be as accurate in 2002.)
It's caught quite a few by surprise, quite a bit more sensitive a machine
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 2016-05-09 , 19:00
AndriesP AndriesP is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kloofendal
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
It's caught quite a few by surprise, quite a bit more sensitive a machine
Especially the Explora in combination with the Smart LNB!
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 2016-05-10 , 14:23
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,466
Not always so straight forward though, don't miss this interesting developments thread in the CU section: bates motel
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low signal quality but high signal strength Frankie_SA Picture/Audio Quality 5 2014-02-25 07:50
Explora Signal Strength. Racer Explora HD PVR 3 2013-11-16 09:34
Signal Strength and Quality Berjhay Installation 10 2012-05-24 14:39
Signal Quality / Strength roberichansen HD PVR 8 2010-02-25 13:10
Signal Quality/strength Switch XtraView 2 2009-01-26 22:54