Forum > DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) > DStv Products > HD PVR > UEC 4-tuner HD PVR: interference sound (almost like static)
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2010-06-29 , 10:19
xrapidx xrapidx is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 37
Unhappy UEC 4-tuner HD PVR: interference sound (almost like static)

I have the UEC 4 tuner PVR - suddenly over the past week there's an interference sound coming from the PVR. Almost like static.

I'm using a decent HDMI cable from the PVR to my AV receiver, and I'm 100% sure its the PVR causing the interference as the minute I hit the off button, the problem is solved.

My signal strength also remains above 92% even in the rainy condition we currently have.

Any ideas what this could be? It seems to increase and decrease with the volume on the PVR.

Last edited by MC Rory; 2010-06-29 at 12:31. . Reason: Title
  #2  
Old 2010-06-29 , 10:39
Tulani's Avatar
Tulani Tulani is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,837
Have you tried using optical and / or digital coax for your sound? This may assist eliminate HDMI caused problems and diagnose source of noise.
__________________
8Way Universal LNB; (UEC 4tuner HDPVR primary;digital coax to hometheater, HDMI to HDTV +1110 secondary;SDTV)

silent witness
  #3  
Old 2010-06-29 , 10:43
xrapidx xrapidx is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulani View Post
Have you tried using optical and / or digital coax for your sound? This may assist eliminate HDMI caused problems and diagnose source of noise.
I can try optical - but this is going to involve about an hour of moving things around to get it working. Damn annoying.

I have swapped the HDMI cable, its definitely not the problem.
  #4  
Old 2010-06-29 , 10:53
Tulani's Avatar
Tulani Tulani is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,837
Take your time mate, that’s what troubleshooting is all about. Good luck
__________________
8Way Universal LNB; (UEC 4tuner HDPVR primary;digital coax to hometheater, HDMI to HDTV +1110 secondary;SDTV)

silent witness
  #5  
Old 2010-06-29 , 11:18
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,335
Rule number 1 - if it ain't broken don't fix it!
Rule number 2 - make sure it is your installation/equipment that is causing the problem before you start fixing it.
  #6  
Old 2010-07-03 , 15:25
xrapidx xrapidx is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
Rule number 1 - if it ain't broken don't fix it!
Rule number 2 - make sure it is your installation/equipment that is causing the problem before you start fixing it.
doubt its my equipment. Every other input source has perfect sound.

I just bought an optical cable and tried that, sound is definitely better over optical - but the interference sound is still there.

considering the sound is digital - can it be affected by signal strength at all? (in relation to sounding like an interference problem
  #7  
Old 2010-07-03 , 18:38
gwalker gwalker is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 7,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by xrapidx View Post
doubt its my equipment. Every other input source has perfect sound.

I just bought an optical cable and tried that, sound is definitely better over optical - but the interference sound is still there.

considering the sound is digital - can it be affected by signal strength at all? (in relation to sounding like an interference problem
a. You have a faulty decoder
b. you have a floating earth
c. Your amp has an old firmware on, I had to update my firmware to resolve some digital sound issues once upon a time
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
  #8  
Old 2010-07-05 , 11:29
Tulani's Avatar
Tulani Tulani is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,837
what name/make/type/model/brand amplifier are you using?
__________________
8Way Universal LNB; (UEC 4tuner HDPVR primary;digital coax to hometheater, HDMI to HDTV +1110 secondary;SDTV)

silent witness
  #9  
Old 2010-07-05 , 11:33
gwalker gwalker is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 7,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
Rule number 1 - if it ain't broken don't fix it!
Unless it will save you money, i.e. less electricity
Give you more functionality
Stability
Make life easier or less complication for the wife
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
  #10  
Old 2010-07-05 , 11:38
xrapidx xrapidx is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwalker View Post
a. You have a faulty decoder
b. you have a floating earth
c. Your amp has an old firmware on, I had to update my firmware to resolve some digital sound issues once upon a time
How can I rule out the decoder? My amp has the latest firmware, and only does this on DSTV, all other sources are DEAD quiet.

It is still there using optical and HDMI - can also be heard when surround is off or on, its also there in-between changing channels.

If I'm on a channel - and the signal strength is 98% - I can still hear it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulani View Post
what name/make/type/model/brand amplifier are you using?
Onkyo TX-NR807 - speakers are Polk audio Rti-A9s (not sure if they're relevant though).
 
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off