Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-02-27 , 15:12
kas-burner kas-burner is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 34
Default Dish Size

Hi ,

I am gathering info on a DIY installation and was wondering about the dish size.

I see MC recommend a 80cm dish if you want to go the Explora route. I took a tape measure and it seems my dish is 75cm, is there a way to confirm that it is possible to have a 75cm dish. Will this be good enough or is this actually a "80cm" dish

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-02-27 , 15:16
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,850
The size is usually 80 or 90, 75 wouldn't be a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-02-27 , 15:23
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 307
75 cm is fine , we measure against the gain of the dish.
you can find the other axis measures 80cm and above .
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-02-27 , 15:27
kas-burner kas-burner is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 34
Ok thanks for the feedback
Another question if I buy a Smart LNB will I be able to install the LNB with the existing cables , HD PVR (4T) + HD PVT (2P) in Xtraview?
Will this work until I buy the Explora
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-02-27 , 15:30
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 307
yes , the Hdpace 4 tuner will use userbands 0 1 2 3 and you can manually change the pace 2p to userband 5 and 6 by pressing the white button on satcr mode . ensure both cables get attached to the satcr port on the back of the decoders marked satcr, than change the lnb menu to satcr universal.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-02-27 , 15:33
kas-burner kas-burner is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 34
Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-02-27 , 17:52
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,258
To add, the larger the antenna diameter the more gain it has and the better the antenna is at rejecting interfering signals. Try and see what make of antenna you have and we can then check on what its spec is.

Yu can always go larger than what MC recommends. The original recommendation was 90 cm diameter, but was changed to 80-85cm at some stage presumably because this size antenna is more readily available.

Somewhere on the forum there is a MC post stating what the minimum gain of the antenna should be in dBi
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
size of dish linda General 4 2012-09-29 12:35
There's an HDTV size for every room and every budget, but which size is right for you Tulani Satellite & TV Technology 29 2012-07-17 20:03
Dish size Gerry Installation 38 2011-01-09 14:38
Dish size ipodmusicman HD PVR 6 2010-05-16 14:58
What is The Right Size of Dish One Must HAve Maplayer Installation 19 2010-04-01 11:13