Forum > Decoders > Installation > Secondary Explora 2A Picture Snowy After Software Update
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 2017-02-15 , 14:23
Fing Fing is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 20
I forgot to mention that Kevin from Dstv George also change the UHF frequency settings between the two decoders, as the two Explora's were on the same frequency, which apparently isn't right.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 2017-02-15 , 16:04
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,087
Okay.

Explora (TV1) has RF extended to BR. I presume you use a tvLINK in that room? If so, then tvLINK power must be activated on that decoder, and the remote commands will be received on the RF OUT port. This decoder can be left on the default UHF channel number or it can be changed to anything you want, preferably a lower channel number in the 20's. Make sure all the tvLINK settings are correct and that if there is a setting for which RF port is in use, set it to RF OUT.

Explora (TV2) and the HD decoder RF signals are combined with a T-piece. These two decoders must be set to use different UHF channel numbers (at least separated by 2, thus say 23 and 25). I would also ensure that the channels numbers chosen are different from the one used by the TV1 decoder. RF has a habit of leaking into connections causing ghosting and interference.

It is on these two decoders where you have to decide which one will power the tvLINKs and any other splitters that might be in place. Only one should be set to provide tvLINK power. (it should not matter which, so long as both are not trying to provide tvLINK power).

With regard to the skew angle, I will post the angles for you in a while. ( For George).

The angles:

Elevation: 27.45 degrees
True Azimuth: 61.70 degrees
Skew 47.18 degrees

The skew is measured from the 0 position on the scale on the SLNB, only slightly more than 45 degrees down LNB seems to be set at too much of an angle on the picture.


I see the image of the Diplexer did not get through. Wonder why?
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-02-15 at 16:40. .
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 2017-02-15 , 16:28
Fing Fing is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
Okay.

Explora (TV1) has RF extended to BR. I presume you use a tvLINK in that room? If so, then tvLINK power must be activated on that decoder, and the remote commands will be received on the RF OUT port. This decoder can be left on the default UHF channel number or it can be changed to anything you want, preferable a lower channel number in the 20's. The primary decoder's RF Out goes to a TV in my bedroom. I don't have a TV-Link, but either use an old remote extender or change it manually. The UHF setting is Ch63(807.25Mhz)

Explora (TV2) and the HD decoder RF signals are combined with a T-piece. These two decoders must be set to use different UHF channel number. I would also ensure that the channels numbers chosen are different from the one used by the TV1 decoder. RF has a habit of leaking into connections causing ghosting and interference. The secondary Explora UHF setting is Ch46(671.25Mhz) The HD Decoder UHF setting is Ch32(559.25Mhz)

It is on these two decoders where you have to decide which one will power the tvLINKs and any other splitters that might be in place. Only one should be set to provide tvLINK power.

With regard to the skew angle, I will post the angles for you in a while. ( For George).
Thank you for your assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 2017-02-15 , 18:30
cdbjhb cdbjhb is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 488
Look at Geoff's post again, he edited in the angles.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Picture Snowy after SLX splitter NeillB XtraView 7 2013-04-04 05:13
Xtra view - snowy picture palmerc XtraView 4 2011-07-02 20:40
Snowy pic on XV secondary TV Mclaren Installation 5 2010-09-28 14:55
TVLink causes snowy picture asteyn SD PVR 7 2009-04-21 09:57
Snowy Picture on HD PVR through RF out ChristoStrauss HD PVR 3 2008-11-19 12:01