Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-02-01 , 10:42
EmJay EmJay is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 285
Default Grimm episode 4

Here we are, more than 24 hours after it was broadcast on Monday, and Grimm still hasn't found its way on to my version of the CU catalogue. To say that the wife is peeved is a gross understatement. Yes, it's sitting there on CU+, but refusing to make an appearance on CU.



Lots of other stuff that I would class as rubbish, has drifted down from the cloud, but that's another story. Roll on the day when we are able to be selective about what pollutes our CU and consumes otherwise valuable disk space.



Where's my Grimm?

Explora
Sent via TapaTalk
__________________
Regards,
Mike Fry
(sent from desktop)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-02-01 , 10:48
JeanP's Avatar
JeanP JeanP is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: JHB
Posts: 2,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmJay View Post
Here we are, more than 24 hours after it was broadcast on Monday, and Grimm still hasn't found its way on to my version of the CU catalogue. To say that the wife is peeved is a gross understatement. Yes, it's sitting there on CU+, but refusing to make an appearance on CU.



Lots of other stuff that I would class as rubbish, has drifted down from the cloud, but that's another story. Roll on the day when we are able to be selective about what pollutes our CU and consumes otherwise valuable disk space.



Where's my Grimm?

Explora
Sent via TapaTalk

I have grimm on my normal CU it loaded as normal after the prime time airing. I know because I watched it Monday night.


Did you perhaps have a storm or clouds or something Monday night?
__________________
In The Tardis (buzzing through space and time )

Explora
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-02-01 , 12:24
EmJay EmJay is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeanP View Post
Did you perhaps have a storm or clouds or something Monday night?


Not that I 'm aware of. Guess the problem is more to do with the decoder being busy when the slot for pushing Grimm out to CU comes around.
__________________
Regards,
Mike Fry
(sent from desktop)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-02-01 , 12:28
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmJay View Post
Not that I 'm aware of. Guess the problem is more to do with the decoder being busy when the slot for pushing Grimm out to CU comes around.
On the Explora there is a dedicated tuner for CU so it doesn't matter what the decoder is doing at the time of the download - the only thing that should really affect it (in theory) is bad weather (and power failures off course )
__________________
DSTV Explora (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary), Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI Picture and Audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. RF connection from Explora & HDPVR 2P to bedroom for Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-02-01 , 12:38
EmJay EmJay is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krugie View Post
On the Explora there is a dedicated tuner for CU so it doesn't matter what the decoder is doing at the time of the download - the only thing that should really affect it (in theory) is bad weather (and power failures off course )


Are you sure? You generally come across as very knowledgeable on things DStv. I thought tuner 1 was dedicated to the primary, satellite feed. Tuner 2 is for recordings and Tuner 3 for everything else: Epg, CU etc. Have I got it wrong? Where's the dedicated CU tuner?
__________________
Regards,
Mike Fry
(sent from desktop)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-02-01 , 12:59
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmJay View Post
Are you sure? You generally come across as very knowledgeable on things DStv. I thought tuner 1 was dedicated to the primary, satellite feed. Tuner 2 is for recordings and Tuner 3 for everything else: Epg, CU etc. Have I got it wrong? Where's the dedicated CU tuner?
You answered your own question - tuner 3 is that dedicated tuner . EPG data takes a few seconds - the rest of the time tuner 3 only downloads Catchup and BoxOffice. Only one download gets sent at a time - so that makes it dedicated. The only thing that should interfere with receiving any files is when there is no signal.

That's in theory though - there have been CU download issues in the past but then it generally affected all (or most) users. I did receive Grimm and so did other people.
__________________
DSTV Explora (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary), Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI Picture and Audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. RF connection from Explora & HDPVR 2P to bedroom for Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-02-01 , 12:59
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12,793
The other things that come through on tuner 3 will all be part of the same feed so there's no interference at all in that respect, what's sent out reaches all with good connections at the time.

There are occasional glitches that cause CU not to reach all Exploras, maybe it's that again but this is just a possibility guess. It's been quite a long time since that last happened.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-02-01 , 18:28
EmJay EmJay is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 285
Obviously, that damned overnight maintenance reboot causes problems. As well as forcing me to have to reboot my ADSL router in order to maintain WiFi connectivity, it would appear that it can also cause synchronization problems between the decoder and CU. I did a forced reboot (pressing and holding the decoder standby button) and the first thing I noticed was the CU+ episode 4 disappearing. Hopefully, I will now receive the missing episode 4 on CU.

Explora
Sent via TapaTalk
__________________
Regards,
Mike Fry
(sent from desktop)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-02-01 , 18:34
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12,793
That's an interesting theory.
Do you have the maintenance reboot set at the default 04:15 or at a time you prefer?

Also, is your tuner 3 signal strength >75% and quality >90% in good weather?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-02-01 , 18:48
EmJay EmJay is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
That's an interesting theory.
Do you have the maintenance reboot set at the default 04:15 or at a time you prefer?

Also, is your tuner 3 signal strength >75% and quality >90% in good weather?


Maintenance time set at 04.15



Tuner status

1 - strength 100% quality 100%

2 - currently inactive

3 - strength 72% quality 100%



Finally had to reboot the router again to restore WiFi connectivity. Neither rebooting the decoder nor resetting the WiFi connector had the desired effect. In fact, that earlier hard reboot of the decoder lost WiFi connectivity. All talking to each other now.
__________________
Regards,
Mike Fry
(sent from desktop)
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GOT and Grimm on Pace 4T PG31 DStv Catch Up 7 2014-05-26 18:24
Grimm Ep15 Sankie DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 4 2013-10-21 18:02
Grimm pushed back again? Citanul DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 2 2013-03-11 14:01
Grimm Season 1 dolby DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 2 2012-10-17 11:17
Grimm KennethM DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 2 2012-02-16 15:38