Forum > Value Added Services > DStv Now > Dstv now used overseas
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-02-01 , 09:48
JeanP's Avatar
JeanP JeanP is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: JHB
Posts: 2,687
Question Dstv now used overseas

Good morning.

This might be a silly question to ask. And I'm sure it has been answered somewhere

Can Dstv Now be used in other countries for example UK?

Thanks
__________________
In The Tardis (buzzing through space and time )

Explora
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-02-01 , 10:01
chrisvdh's Avatar
chrisvdh chrisvdh is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Henley on Klip
Posts: 872
No. Licensing issues are territory bound.
__________________
90cm dish; LMX502 ; Explora as Primary in lounge, HD-PVR2 in flat; XV heartbeat via RF outs; Samsung 60LED7000 via HDMI and Sony 42" 576p panel via composite; Flat has 32" Hi-Sense. Denon AVRX1100 configured for 5.1; Sony BluRay; WD media player; All using HDMI/optical/coax.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-02-01 , 10:14
JeanP's Avatar
JeanP JeanP is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: JHB
Posts: 2,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisvdh View Post
No. Licensing issues are territory bound.
Bugger. Thanks for the info
__________________
In The Tardis (buzzing through space and time )

Explora
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-02-01 , 10:57
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,039
Hi there Jean - yes this is correct. As our licensing is only for this territory, you cannot access the content on DStv Now outside of SA.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-02-01 , 11:02
JeanP's Avatar
JeanP JeanP is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: JHB
Posts: 2,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
Hi there Jean - yes this is correct. As our licensing is only for this territory, you cannot access the content on DStv Now outside of SA.
Thanks. I'd just thought I would ask
__________________
In The Tardis (buzzing through space and time )

Explora
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-02-01 , 11:03
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,039
No harm in that at all!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-02-01 , 11:31
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisvdh View Post
No. Licensing issues are territory bound.
Correct. And geo-blocking based on IP address is in place.
Cheers, K.
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 42" LED TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp (5.1), Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. LG Blu-ray; Simplink working
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System (5.1), Slingbox Solo; 3-way XV; Bravia Sync working
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-02-01 , 12:44
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,854
At one stage, I think a year or two ago, it was mentioned that (some?) online content could at least be accessed anywhere in Africa, how does that now stand?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-02-01 , 16:00
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,039
Some of the content is available on ShowMax overseas eg kykNET.
In terms of other content, there is no consistency in terms of which content is available across Africa - some are only SA, other Africa-wide. So best to just stick to SA only.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-02-01 , 16:26
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
In terms of other content, there is no consistency in terms of which content is available across Africa - some are only SA, other Africa-wide. So best to just stick to SA only.
Sorry Marietjie, I think I phrased that badly. Not talking about what content is available in which African countries.

We were told that those in S.A. who were travelling elsewhere in Africa could still online-access the S.A. content subscribed to (can't recall the details).
You and I even assisted someone, I think in the south of Spain just off the African coast, who was hoping to gain access that way but obviously couldn't.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SA DSTV vs. Overseas Crusher General 2 2016-06-01 13:01
Deactivate DSTV when overseas for a month? Crusher Customer service 3 2016-04-12 17:25
suspending subscription while overseas gambit Service Queries 1 2009-05-05 08:09
Sharks vs Chiefs - Widescreen overseas?? benitok DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 2 2009-02-28 16:47