Forum > Customer service > Customer service > DSTV: Really Poor Service!
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-01-25 , 21:43
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,195
Default DSTV: Really Poor Service!

I went away on the 14 the December and returned back home On Sunday the 22nd January at 21:00.

I switched off all my decoders. On switching on Sunday, ABSOLUTELY NOTHING WORKED, and it stayed like that until about 18:00 on the 23rd, almost 24 hours later.

I saw every conceivable error in the book on both decoders. Numerous reboots triggered by myself were always followed by more reboots.

The SD PVR reported "service suspended" when the primary decoder worked and vice versa!

All sorts of hardware related decoder errors, including faulty HDD on both.

"No signal" many times, even during start up. The last string of errors were all E 19, then when that stopped, numerous reboots followed while the decoders tried update the EPG ....

I even had " no signal" on channel 100.

Then, miraculously after all that time completely of their own accord, both decoders started working ....

I am totally convinced that all this is attributable to the service authentication system.

Really MC? Just how many other holiday makers had the same problem on their return home? No wonder MC needs such a large call centre.

PS: I deliberately did not phone the call centre ... I wanted to see if the service would restore itself and how long it would take. I also refrained from trying any of the self service options for the same reason.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-01-26 , 13:43
AndriesP AndriesP is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kloofendal
Posts: 153
Must be your ancient installation Geoff
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-01-26 , 13:48
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,506
Funny

Actually it's related to the smartcards timing out after just over 2 weeks of not being connected.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-01-26 , 14:35
MC Mpho's Avatar
MC Mpho MC Mpho is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 225
So sorry Geoff,

I have escalated this query as well.
I'll advise if the infield support team has anything to add.

Regards,
Mpho
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-01-26 , 14:38
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,415
That will teach you to go for almost 6 weeks !!! What were you thinking ??
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
40Mb VDSL (ISP AH Capped Unshaped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-01-26 , 16:05
LesleyH's Avatar
LesleyH LesleyH is offline
Lurks quietly in the background, and changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 1,927
Why switch them off?
__________________
Explora plus SDPVR with Xtraview
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-01-26 , 16:22
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke7777 View Post
That will teach you to go for almost 6 weeks !!! What were you thinking ??
Went to help my mother with lots of things - she will be 95 in July.

Oh and left before the lunatics went on leave and returned after the loonies and their kids were all back at work and school.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LesleyH View Post
Why switch them off?
Because there is absolutely no point in leaving them on --- the recording function breaks down so often to effectively be useless.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-01-26 , 19:43
RNDM RNDM is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Jozi
Posts: 115
Take the decoder/s on holiday with you!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-01-26 , 20:39
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by RNDM View Post
Take the decoder/s on holiday with you!
Too much PT, not worth the effort.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-01-27 , 13:12
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,283
Hi Geoff,
I frequently travel for extended periods, as you know. I turn the power off when away. It normally takes around an hour or so for the decoders to come back up with the necessary authorisations. I've never seen the messages and issues you've reported and never an overnight wait. I'll check again when I'm back in Jhb mid-Feb and post the results here. Cheers, K.
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 42" LED TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp (5.1), Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. LG Blu-ray; Simplink working
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System (5.1), Slingbox Solo; 3-way XV; Bravia Sync working
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Online Guide - poor service & poor response Optimist Customer service 2 2015-11-17 14:11
Poor Poor service ricklou Service Queries 3 2010-09-20 22:24
Poor service at local agent in Secunda normj55 Service Queries 2 2010-09-01 20:29
Poor service (lip-sync issue) Ermeric1 HD PVR 5 2010-06-01 16:22
Poor customer service nate Service Queries 1 2009-06-18 09:48