Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > "Failed" recordings
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2016-10-05 , 11:19
Mad Cat's Avatar
Mad Cat Mad Cat is online now
Changes remote batteries daily. Has an entire thread named after her.
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nelspruit
Posts: 4,552
Default "Failed" recordings

Not sure what is happenning here:

I had a back up recording set for Quantico yesterday morning 8:30am. When I got home, all trace of it was gone. No recording, no failed recording, nothing. Was not too concerned as CU had downloaded.

Set recordings last night for amonsgt other things, Queen Sugar and 12 Monkeys (which has not downloaded on CU, so it is a must have). This morning, Queen Sugar was failed due to Conflict, new recording was set by PVR. However, 12 Monkeys has just disappeared - nothing to be found.

What could this be?
__________________
Explora x 2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2016-10-05 , 11:27
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,190
I think maybe related to our other thread in the broadcast errors forum section: SBR info error with Westworld
I'm 90%+ certain that my mentioned SBR schedule for Shameless did disappear, the only difference is that it must have returned again.
Hopefully this new bug is something MC is already sorting out.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2016-10-06 , 10:15
MC Trisan MC Trisan is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Cat View Post
Not sure what is happenning here:

I had a back up recording set for Quantico yesterday morning 8:30am. When I got home, all trace of it was gone. No recording, no failed recording, nothing. Was not too concerned as CU had downloaded.

Set recordings last night for amonsgt other things, Queen Sugar and 12 Monkeys (which has not downloaded on CU, so it is a must have). This morning, Queen Sugar was failed due to Conflict, new recording was set by PVR. However, 12 Monkeys has just disappeared - nothing to be found.

What could this be?
Hello

I'm investigating Quantico. For 12 Monkeys did you set a series recording or a once-off? If it's a series recording, could you check to see if any other episodes have been set when you are home?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2016-10-06 , 11:25
Mad Cat's Avatar
Mad Cat Mad Cat is online now
Changes remote batteries daily. Has an entire thread named after her.
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nelspruit
Posts: 4,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Trisan View Post
Hello

I'm investigating Quantico. For 12 Monkeys did you set a series recording or a once-off? If it's a series recording, could you check to see if any other episodes have been set when you are home?
All my recordings, except Survivor, are series recording. I reset for 12 Monkeys episode for early this morning are it recorded fine. I also reset for Quantico yesterday afternoon, just to test, and that worked fine too. I did these, the Explora did not set them for me.
__________________
Explora x 2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2016-10-06 , 18:21
MC Trisan MC Trisan is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Cat View Post
All my recordings, except Survivor, are series recording. I reset for 12 Monkeys episode for early this morning are it recorded fine. I also reset for Quantico yesterday afternoon, just to test, and that worked fine too. I did these, the Explora did not set them for me.
I've had a look. It is possible the decoder was somehow confused with the 12 Monkeys recording as it changed days, it moved from midnight to 23:59 the previous night, but the decoder should have tracked this change. In both cases, even if there was some kind of error, the decoder should have automatically set a recording for the next available event. Please let me know if you see this again.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2016-10-07 , 07:43
Mad Cat's Avatar
Mad Cat Mad Cat is online now
Changes remote batteries daily. Has an entire thread named after her.
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nelspruit
Posts: 4,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Trisan View Post
I've had a look. It is possible the decoder was somehow confused with the 12 Monkeys recording as it changed days, it moved from midnight to 23:59 the previous night, but the decoder should have tracked this change. In both cases, even if there was some kind of error, the decoder should have automatically set a recording for the next available event. Please let me know if you see this again.
Thank you for the feedback. I will advise if I experience this again.
__________________
Explora x 2
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-02-09 , 08:13
Mad Cat's Avatar
Mad Cat Mad Cat is online now
Changes remote batteries daily. Has an entire thread named after her.
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nelspruit
Posts: 4,552
I had 6 recordings set for last night. The last 2 were Missing and Bull. Missing only recorded 6 minutes and Bull nothing at all. Nothing appears under Failed Recordings. Explora has rescheduled the recording for Bull. Can't set a new recording for Missing as Explora says it has already been recorded (all 6 minutes of it).

Just reporting as both have downloaded on CU.
__________________
Explora x 2
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-02-09 , 08:55
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Cat View Post
Can't set a new recording for Missing as Explora says it has already been recorded (all 6 minutes of it).
You probably know most of this Ms. Cat, so posting it for other readers, and to debate the recording rule with MC.

If you delete the partial recording it will allow that Missing episode to be recorded again.
Or you can just do so with a MR (Manual Recording) which bypasses that rule.

Instead of having that as a firm rule, IMO a question should pop up that states there's already a copy and asking to confirm another recording.
As the rule stands it's just been an irritation for me quite a number of times, I would think will be confusing many, and can only help someone forgetful enough from making the small mistake of recording a second copy.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-02-09 , 09:01
Mad Cat's Avatar
Mad Cat Mad Cat is online now
Changes remote batteries daily. Has an entire thread named after her.
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nelspruit
Posts: 4,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
You probably know most of this Ms. Cat,



Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
... IMO a question should pop up that states there's already a copy and asking to confirm another recording.
Agree, would prefer the option.
__________________
Explora x 2
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-02-09 , 09:52
MC Trisan MC Trisan is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Cat View Post
I had 6 recordings set for last night. The last 2 were Missing and Bull. Missing only recorded 6 minutes and Bull nothing at all. Nothing appears under Failed Recordings. Explora has rescheduled the recording for Bull. Can't set a new recording for Missing as Explora says it has already been recorded (all 6 minutes of it).

Just reporting as both have downloaded on CU.
Hello

I've had a look at the BBC First schedule for last night and all programmes were correctly scheduled with no changes in the last month (besides a minutes here and there).

Which leads me to believe the issue is with the number of recordings you've set, do you make use of the 'Conflicting Recordings' function? You can find this under the DStv Menu - Planner - Schedules - Conflicting Recordings.
This screen summarises all recordings that will conflict in the coming week (so you only have to check once a week). There are two more repeats of The Missing, my guess is that they both conflict with other recordings you have, hence the Explora is unable to set a new one for them.
The other solution is to delete the series recording for this show and set a new one.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Failed recordings doosthui Explora HD PVR 5 2014-01-14 21:13
A clue re failed recordings (all? incl. the Explora?) Optimist HD PVR 0 2013-08-26 06:35
Failed recordings! Kensi SD PVR 7 2012-11-27 20:14
Failed series recordings tag11 HD PVR 19 2010-12-15 11:14
Nickelodeon: "The Troop" - Failed to air tsume DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 4 2010-06-14 15:18