Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > blank screen on explora
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2017-01-03 , 14:09
MC Mpho's Avatar
MC Mpho MC Mpho is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 161
Hi All,

I have noted and have escalated this query.
I will feedback as soon as possible.

Regards,
MC Mpho
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2017-01-11 , 12:51
nemesus nemesus is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Brenda View Post
Hi Guys, can't directly assist with this one - but can you please advise if these Explora's are all connected in XtraView?
If not, is it always tuned to the same channel (if yes, which one).
I have never had this problem on my Explora - not to say it doesn't exist, but any and all info would help the tech team track this down.
I will alert them to this thread in the meantime.
Most of the time I have experienced the issue is when going back to "TV" after watching something in the playlist or catchup.
Just blank screen, no error message. Can however browse iplate and change channels, but still blank screen even after changing channel. Only fix is to reboot.

In my setup the Explora (v1) is the primary decoder in my Xtraview setup.

It happens while being on random channels. Most of the time I am tuned to any of the channels in the 101 --> 121 range, so I typically experience the above while tuned here.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2017-01-11 , 16:00
MC Mpho's Avatar
MC Mpho MC Mpho is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 161
Apologies All.

The blank screen issue will be fixed with the end of January software release.

Regards,
Mpho
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2017-01-14 , 10:52
JeanP's Avatar
JeanP JeanP is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: JHB
Posts: 2,374
Yay. Thanks MC Mpho. I've only this week started to have these issues. Will be looking forward to the s.u fix
__________________
In The Tardis (buzzing through space and time )

Explora
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2017-01-14 , 11:58
jmartinnel jmartinnel is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Mpho View Post
Apologies All.

The blank screen issue will be fixed with the end of January software release.

Regards,
Mpho
I am anxiously waiting for this fix. It start happening in November with my Explora. Have to restart it two to three times a week since it started. I even try Dstv support on Facebook. In the end the person attending to my problem, suggest that my decoder is at fault and that I have to take it in to the Multichoice shop to be tested. I am going to wait for end of January before going that way, because to go standing in a row miles long, is a nightmare.

Fact is, Multichoice does not really worry about two or three people's problems as long as they can get as much subscribers as possible. If they were really worried about this problem ( Blank Screen) and the one of "insert Card", it would be solved many months ago.

Explora Extra view couples to HD PVR2
Bloemfontein
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2017-01-14 , 16:27
jmartinnel jmartinnel is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
This is getting ridiculous now. I am at the third restart for the day. This cannot wait another two weeks.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2017-01-14 , 18:16
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 4,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmartinnel View Post
I am anxiously waiting for this fix. It start happening in November with my Explora. Have to restart it two to three times a week since it started. I even try Dstv support on Facebook. In the end the person attending to my problem, suggest that my decoder is at fault and that I have to take it in to the Multichoice shop to be tested. I am going to wait for end of January before going that way, because to go standing in a row miles long, is a nightmare.

Fact is, Multichoice does not really worry about two or three people's problems as long as they can get as much subscribers as possible. If they were really worried about this problem ( Blank Screen) and the one of "insert Card", it would be solved many months ago.

Explora Extra view couples to HD PVR2
Bloemfontein
Wonder if it's really any use taking the Explora in to the Multichoice shop. All, I THINK, that will happen is you'll be charged for the swap item but have no guarantee that the problem won't still be there. Too many of us are having this problem. I'd rather suggest you wait and see what happens AFTER the "fix" has been downloaded.
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2017-01-14 , 20:17
jmartinnel jmartinnel is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
Thanks beetle. I think it is the best to wait and see.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2017-02-12 , 15:32
Linoman Linoman is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gordons Bay
Posts: 129
I just wanted to say that since the last software update, my Explora 1 and 2 are both behaving themselves quite nicely.
__________________
Explora (Primary); Explora (Secondary); Explora 2 (Tertiary) Smart LNB (LMX501); Drifta and Showmax
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2017-02-12 , 18:48
chrisc chrisc is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 193
The first Explora stopped working (frozen all the time) so I bought a new one in October. This one has a peculiar abberation - when I change the volume the 3 lines showing the channel, current program and next program appears. I need to press Return to get rid of it. When I change channel, say from 401 to 402, it appears again and goes out after 19 or 20 seconds

How can I make this display time shorter? I think 3 or 4 seconds would be adequate
__________________
If music be the food of love, play on
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Explora blank/black screen work workaround XRay PVR Decoders 9 2015-04-02 08:14
Occasional blank screen on Sony Bravia TV vnwaneri HD PVR 10 2010-05-21 10:54
Blank DOD Screen ! Olla DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 4 2010-01-28 13:09
unnatural blank screen Ria van der Moolen Service Queries 2 2009-06-03 15:24
Hd pvr screen goes blank Shaf HD PVR 1 2009-03-18 23:22