Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > HD PVR 2P Decoder reboots very often
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #211  
Old 2017-03-04 , 13:03
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 419
They stopped using the apps about 2 years ago when I told the cause of the reboots. When we were down there in September 2016 shortly after the software update that fixed the problem for some subscribers I used the apps on their decoder and it still rebooted despite the software update. I am sure the problem still persists on their decoder but it does not bother them.
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #212  
Old 2017-03-18 , 11:41
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 4,894
So, I've been waiting for the 19 March to arrive so I can post that my 2P decoder has NOT rebooted for a full month and what happens? Early this morning, 18 March, there's a reboot. Obviously a planned one with some sort of update or whatever but couldn't MC have waited just one more day before doing it? At least I hope it was a planned one and this isn't the start of continuous reboots as in the past. Sigh. I've still not been using the interactive apps though.

Hopefully the lack of reboots will continue for a long time to come. Apart from the scheduled ones of course.
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
Reply With Quote
  #213  
Old 2017-03-18 , 12:14
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 419
BB no reboot on mine last night so I don't think that was a scheduled reboot on yours last night.

My software version is 55-2 loaded on 25/08/2016 at 01:07 That was the "fix" update that as supposed to cure the reboots uploaded just after completion of the Olympic games.

I have really stayed away from the HD PVR 2P for some time. Only used it when my viewing preference clashed with my wife's.

On 14 March I tried the interactive news app and the decoder promptly responded by rebooting after I exited the app.
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #214  
Old 2017-03-18 , 16:41
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 4,894
Mine is also software version 55/2 loaded 25/08/2016. So it would appear as if it was an unscheduled reboot. Here I was thinking my troubles were over. Seems that the 2P decoder doesn't like one using it and after a certain amount of time decides to go on strike. Or it gets it's wires in a knot.
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
Reply With Quote
  #215  
Old 2017-03-18 , 18:10
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 419
Or may be it is a jealous reaction to the Explora being allowed a maintenance reboot daily and it is doing it to draw attention to the fact that it has been left out in the cold.

Jokes aside I feel that I have now done everything on my side to eliminate installation problems as the cause. New 80cm dish. New SLNB and coaxial cable. The Explora 2A is functioning faultless with as close to a perfect signal as I can get it see the attached screenshots.

The problem can only be Hardware or software related and only the MC techies can resolve that.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Explora signal 1.jpg (663.8 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg Explora signal 2.jpg (754.9 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg Explora signal 3.jpg (923.2 KB, 6 views)
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #216  
Old 2017-03-23 , 07:53
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 419
@MC Marietjie It is now almost 3 weeks since the last update. Any new developments?
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #217  
Old 2017-03-23 , 08:41
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,073
Default HD PVR 2P Decoder reboots very often

Nothing new to report. The team are still working on it.

Thank you for your patience.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #218  
Old 2017-03-23 , 08:56
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 419
Not always patient but we are hanging in there.
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #219  
Old 2017-03-23 , 09:02
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,073
Have nudged the broadcast technology folks for an update if there is.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #220  
Old 2017-03-23 , 09:11
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,073
Aaaaand we have feedback from the guy leading the investigation:

There are no leads on what the root cause of the problem is.

This is where we are in the investigation:
  • The core team has been investigating the different monitoring tools to see if they are suitable for this investigation and how the tools can be customized for this purpose.
  • Another team is investigating the communication rates with the smartcard to see if this makes a positive/negative difference in the reproducibility of the problem.
  • Another team is trying to recreate the problem in a Lab environment so that we have a controlled way of reproducing the problem. This will allow us to investigate whether the broadcast contributes to this problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony Entertainment Channel - Picture very very bad LesleyH Picture/Audio Quality 14 2012-11-29 15:39
Pace HD PVR runs very hot then reboots Macman HD PVR 4 2012-01-07 20:10
have to reboot often Gerard0601 HD PVR 3 2010-05-24 17:56
SDPVR reboots very long Theo SD PVR 10 2009-09-30 18:07