Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > HD PVR 2P Decoder reboots very often
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2016-08-02 , 05:21
MC Mpho's Avatar
MC Mpho MC Mpho is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 244
Unfortunately, this software is only for Pace decoders.

There is no further software release for the 4828 and 4660 decoders as they are at the end of support. Please consider upgrading to a newer model model (perhaps an Explora.

Regards,
MC Mpho



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2016-08-02 , 08:07
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,604
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Mpho View Post
There is no further software release for the 4828 and 4660 decoders as they are at the end of support.
Are you sure??
The 4660 model (4U) is, but the 4828 (2U) has certainly not been announced as being at end of support...? It is also a very young decoder compared...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2016-08-02 , 17:37
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 4,808
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
Are you sure??
The 4660 model (4U) is, but the 4828 (2U) has certainly not been announced as being at end of support...? It is also a very young decoder compared...
My thoughts exactly. Thanks Optimist.
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2016-08-02 , 17:57
MC Brenda's Avatar
MC Brenda MC Brenda is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randburg
Posts: 3,200
Hi guys - apologies - that info is incorrect. A few crossed wires this side - sorry about that.
The only HD PVR which is "end of support" is the UEC 4 tuner HD PVR.
The others are Category 2 decoders. They are still supported in that we can still repair them. We are however no longer developing new features for these decoders. You can read more on the Decoder Lifecycle herehttp://www.dstv.com/topic/dstv-decod...cycle-20150401
If you have decoder insurance on your HD PVR, we'll swop it for you at no charge. If you do not, it can be repaired.
Any queries - let us know how we can help.

Last edited by MC Brenda; 2016-08-02 at 18:01. .
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2016-08-02 , 17:59
MC Mpho's Avatar
MC Mpho MC Mpho is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 244
Thanks for the correction MC Brenda.
Apologies all.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2016-08-03 , 10:12
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,604
No worries, there's a huuuge learning curve for anyone getting into this and we all make mistakes
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2016-08-03 , 14:33
RNDM RNDM is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Jozi
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandonc View Post
Pace HD PVR P2 Model no: TDS865IMC
Somebody help me out here: Since this decoder is still in support brandonc can take the unit to a DSTV service centre and swap his unit out for a refurbished unit??
If so what will this cost?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2016-08-04 , 13:48
Homealone's Avatar
Homealone Homealone is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Glenvista (JHB South)
Posts: 545
@ BB "Will this upgrade only be for the Pace decoders or for the 2U decoder as well?....."

@ MC Mpho "Unfortunately, this software is only for Pace decoders ....."

@ MC Brenda "..... The others are Category 2 decoders. They are still supported in
that we can still repair them. We are however no longer developing new features
for these decoders....."

I am a bit confused: I have a 2U HD PVR that has also started rebooting daily.
If the problem is a 'News App' as stated by MC Mpho, will the fix be for the
2P only or for both 2P and 2U decoders? Please advise urgently.

An Aside: How do I pull quotes from multiple posts together to form the basis for my own post?
__________________
DIY installation, SLNB (LMX501), 88cm dish, XtraView via 'old school' HB cable, Explora-1 (primary), Explora-1 (secondary),
'SD 96' co-axial cables used and routed through 25mm PVC conduit pipe networks, Compression F-type connectors throughout.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2016-08-04 , 14:13
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
No worries, there's a huuuge learning curve for anyone getting into this and we all make mistakes
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homealone View Post
An Aside: How do I pull quotes from multiple posts together to form the basis for my own post?
like this you mean ?

You select multi-quote on the posts that you want to include, then select quote on anyone . Now you can modify the selected contents to your needs
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
40Mb VDSL (ISP AH Capped Unshaped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)

Last edited by Luke7777; 2016-08-04 at 14:18. .
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2016-08-04 , 14:18
Homealone's Avatar
Homealone Homealone is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Glenvista (JHB South)
Posts: 545
Ditsem my ou maat
__________________
DIY installation, SLNB (LMX501), 88cm dish, XtraView via 'old school' HB cable, Explora-1 (primary), Explora-1 (secondary),
'SD 96' co-axial cables used and routed through 25mm PVC conduit pipe networks, Compression F-type connectors throughout.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony Entertainment Channel - Picture very very bad LesleyH Picture/Audio Quality 14 2012-11-29 15:39
Pace HD PVR runs very hot then reboots Macman HD PVR 4 2012-01-07 20:10
have to reboot often Gerard0601 HD PVR 3 2010-05-24 17:56
SDPVR reboots very long Theo SD PVR 10 2009-09-30 18:07