Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > The DStv WiFi Connector
Closed Thread  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 2014-11-14 , 11:25
Kang's Avatar
Kang Kang is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 46
Apparently the MWEB Fon wifi extender can be used in the Explora. Any confirmation if this works?
  #22  
Old 2014-11-14 , 11:29
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kang View Post
Apparently the MWEB Fon wifi extender can be used in the Explora. Any confirmation if this works?
Any WiFi extender that has an on-board Ethernet port will work; provided, of course, that it is in decent wireless range of the router when installed next to the Explora.

Just patch the Ethernet port on the WiFi extender to the Ethernet Port on the back of the Explorer, then perform the connectivity check.

Ethernet over mains power is another very good way to get Ethernet to the Explora, in the event that its position is out of Wireless range of the Router. This is how I typically connect.

Cheers, K.
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 49" S-UHD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp, Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. Home Theatre PC, Chromecast
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System, Slingbox Solo; Chromecast

Last edited by Sandtonman; 2014-11-14 at 11:33. .
  #23  
Old 2014-11-14 , 11:39
Kang's Avatar
Kang Kang is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 46
Woo hoo! And I was all depressed that I had to buy the DStv connector. Thanks
  #24  
Old 2014-11-14 , 12:08
Hubert's Avatar
Hubert Hubert is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Earth, Milky Way
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandtonman View Post

Ethernet over mains power is another very good way to get Ethernet to the Explora, in the event that its position is out of Wireless range of the Router. This is how I typically connect.

Cheers, K.
Correct. I hooked up my Trendnet Ethernet over powerline adapter last night and it worked straight away. Plugged one point in the kitchen mains, another in the lounge mains, hooked up the Ethernet cable, and voila!
__________________
Don't you wish there was a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence? There's one marked "Brightness", but it doesn't work.
  #25  
Old 2014-11-14 , 12:49
seanred seanred is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandtonman View Post
Any WiFi extender that has an on-board Ethernet port will work; provided, of course, that it is in decent wireless range of the router when installed next to the Explora.

Just patch the Ethernet port on the WiFi extender to the Ethernet Port on the back of the Explorer, then perform the connectivity check.

Ethernet over mains power is another very good way to get Ethernet to the Explora, in the event that its position is out of Wireless range of the Router. This is how I typically connect.

Cheers, K.

Have you got a price and where available? Thanks.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
  #26  
Old 2014-11-14 , 16:46
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanred View Post
Have you got a price and where available? Thanks.
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Brought mine in from the UK some years ago; but believe there are now plenty available locally.

The only thing you need to be aware of, if you have 3-phase power in your dwelling, is that the two components of the Ethernet-over-the-mains extender, must be on the same phase of the mains supply.

Cheers, K.
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 49" S-UHD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp, Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. Home Theatre PC, Chromecast
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System, Slingbox Solo; Chromecast
  #27  
Old 2014-11-14 , 19:08
Hubert's Avatar
Hubert Hubert is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Earth, Milky Way
Posts: 241
Picked mine up from Incredible Corruption about 6 months ago and have it connected in four different rooms. At the time the Trendnet starter kit was about R599, but there are multiple suppliers and options these days.
__________________
Don't you wish there was a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence? There's one marked "Brightness", but it doesn't work.
  #28  
Old 2014-11-14 , 19:32
seanred seanred is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 85
Thanks Hurbert, Have ordered online for mine.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
  #29  
Old 2014-11-15 , 19:06
Kang's Avatar
Kang Kang is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 46
I'm quite angry. 1stly the mweb extender is a POS. It just does not want to connect to my router, even manually.
2ndly because the DSTV website said the wifi connector is available at a MC service centre I drove all the way to Randburg only to find out they don't have and will only have on Monday. Website says retail outlets will have the connector from Monday. I even phoned the call centre to confirm if MC Randburg had stock.

I guess I should just accept the 'sorry for the inconvenience' I got.
  #30  
Old 2014-11-15 , 19:17
MC Fathima's Avatar
MC Fathima MC Fathima is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,749
@kang
apologies that you could not get the DStv WiFi connector- it will be available in stores from Monday
Where do you live - i will then confirm which outlets have stock. Our branches will also have stock then
Closed Thread  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drifta Wifi Android app compatability jalize DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 0 2014-01-04 13:01
HDPVR signal distribution tips – mini-HDMI connector and RCA to RF Modulator JG Installation 4 2012-07-14 10:30
WiFi Drifter on HoneyComb 3.2 Zwakele DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 0 2012-07-13 16:22
Wifi Drifta Ownership Transfer WizardOfTheHood DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 1 2012-05-25 08:59
DSD990 F-connector rusted up?! Jack Installation 6 2009-01-07 15:01