Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2011-11-24 , 16:16
Rambam Rambam is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9
Default Installation upgrade, will this work?

Hi Everyone.

Time has come to add an additional TV at home. Current setup comprises of a 90cm fibreglass dish, with a dual LNB running into a 2 to 4 splitter leading into a Pace HDPVR and into a FHDLCDTV. I wish to add a second TV with the same functionalilty as the orginal one, so it should be able to view HD programs, record them and playback independently of the other one.

So I will add a new HDPVR, a 2 to 6 splitter and a RF heartbeat cable between the 2 PVR's (is this even needed?). The RF cables from my dish come down into the lounge and will be a mission to move, so I plan to just place the new splitter were the current one is and run new RF cables from the lounge to the new HDPVR in the bedroom (about 15 - 2- metres of coax),will this be an issue, attenuation?

From what I understand, once this is all connected all I need to do is get the second smart card added to my subscription as an Xtraview one and it should work, or am I missing something? I attached a very rough sketch of how it will look.

Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2011-11-24 16.14.18 (Medium).jpg (73.6 KB, 40 views)
  #2  
Old 2011-11-24 , 16:20
Tulani's Avatar
Tulani Tulani is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,833
15m heartbeat cable is OK. You are good to go !
__________________
8Way Universal LNB; (UEC 4tuner HDPVR primary;digital coax to hometheater, HDMI to HDTV +1110 secondary;SDTV)

give it all you got today
  #3  
Old 2011-11-24 , 16:20
gwalker gwalker is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 7,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rambam View Post
Hi Everyone.

Time has come to add an additional TV at home. Current setup comprises of a 90cm fibreglass dish, with a dual LNB running into a 2 to 4 splitter leading into a Pace HDPVR and into a FHDLCDTV. I wish to add a second TV with the same functionalilty as the orginal one, so it should be able to view HD programs, record them and playback independently of the other one.

So I will add a new HDPVR, a 2 to 6 splitter and a RF heartbeat cable between the 2 PVR's (is this even needed?). The RF cables from my dish come down into the lounge and will be a mission to move, so I plan to just place the new splitter were the current one is and run new RF cables from the lounge to the new HDPVR in the bedroom (about 15 - 2- metres of coax),will this be an issue, attenuation?

From what I understand, once this is all connected all I need to do is get the second smart card added to my subscription as an Xtraview one and it should work, or am I missing something? I attached a very rough sketch of how it will look.

Thanks!
Welcome to the forum.
I enjoyed your TV been in 16:9 ratio on your drawing.

The Heart beat cable is needed.

Have a look at the Xtraview manual for more help, but that is pretty spot on.

Please make sure you use quality RG6 cable.

G
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
  #4  
Old 2011-11-24 , 16:22
Rambam Rambam is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9
Default Thanks!

Awesome, thanks for the quick response guys, half day tomorrow so will see how installation goes :-)
  #5  
Old 2011-11-24 , 17:56
Homealone's Avatar
Homealone Homealone is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Glenvista (JHB South)
Posts: 545
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I do not use a multiswitch and am curious to know what the

maximum distance is between a multiswitch and a decoder for the

signal/s to still be within specs?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
__________________
DIY installation, SLNB (LMX501), 88cm dish, XtraView via 'old school' HB cable, Explora-1 (primary), Explora-1 (secondary),
'SD 96' co-axial cables used and routed through 25mm PVC conduit pipe networks, Compression F-type connectors throughout.
  #6  
Old 2011-11-24 , 19:04
Tulani's Avatar
Tulani Tulani is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homealone View Post
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I do not use a multiswitch and am curious to know what the

maximum distance is between a multiswitch and a decoder for the

signal/s to still be within specs?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ellies multiswitches are sold complete with corresponding tailor made coaxial “jumper leads” with F connectors at both ends and that’s what I have and at a quick glance they look like +/- 1meter and they are most ideal
__________________
8Way Universal LNB; (UEC 4tuner HDPVR primary;digital coax to hometheater, HDMI to HDTV +1110 secondary;SDTV)

give it all you got today
  #7  
Old 2011-11-24 , 21:18
Homealone's Avatar
Homealone Homealone is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Glenvista (JHB South)
Posts: 545
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Will @Rambam's proposed installation with co-ax cables running

from his MS to the decoder in the bedroom 15 to 20m away be OK

as far as attenuation is concerned?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
__________________
DIY installation, SLNB (LMX501), 88cm dish, XtraView via 'old school' HB cable, Explora-1 (primary), Explora-1 (secondary),
'SD 96' co-axial cables used and routed through 25mm PVC conduit pipe networks, Compression F-type connectors throughout.
  #8  
Old 2011-11-25 , 09:03
Tulani's Avatar
Tulani Tulani is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,833
it will work at that distance
__________________
8Way Universal LNB; (UEC 4tuner HDPVR primary;digital coax to hometheater, HDMI to HDTV +1110 secondary;SDTV)

give it all you got today
  #9  
Old 2011-11-25 , 09:07
gwalker gwalker is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 7,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homealone View Post
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Will @Rambam's proposed installation with co-ax cables running

from his MS to the decoder in the bedroom 15 to 20m away be OK

as far as attenuation is concerned?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulani View Post
it will work at that distance
Provided the signal strength and quality of the LNB/dish is decent and decent quality RG6 cable is used end to end.
G
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
  #10  
Old 2011-11-28 , 09:28
Rambam Rambam is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9
Default :-)

Cool, job done, took 5 hours and almost 100M of coax but signal is 100% on both TV's and Xtraview enabled and running! Thanks for the advice all
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will the HD PVR work with only one LNB? sualk HD PVR 19 2012-05-23 01:31
Upgrade Xtraview installation from HDPVR + 1110 to HDPVR + HDPVR Tuiphilii Installation 3 2011-07-25 13:13
UEC HD PVR: remote blasters do not work after upgrade Alien66 HD PVR 52 2010-08-04 10:49
Quality Installation work. Geoff D Installation 1 2010-05-27 09:40
Installation Idea... will it work? ThaneF XtraView 3 2009-06-15 08:10