Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > Suggestion for home streaming
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-03-17 , 10:21
Hooked Hooked is online now
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Default Suggestion for home streaming

Just a suggestion, it would be very useful to stream recordings between decoders on a home network. I have 2 decoders - one upstairs and one downstairs - and find myself having to sit where the particular show I want to watch is recorded. If I could stream the recorded content of one decoder to the other over my home network, I would most certainly even buy two new decoders just for this function

I'm pretty sure this function would be well received by many...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-03-17 , 13:01
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,087
The only possible now is to extend HDMI to all viewing points form both decoder locations, or, to use an RF distribution method, but then HD quality will converted to SD quality.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-03-17 , 14:45
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,336
Yip, what Geoff said . Would be nice to network-share the devices though , like an additional DLNA server I've gone the HDMI route (as per my sig) but also have 3 RF distributions to kids rooms and study, so I can view any recoder from anywhere

If cabling is not your thing and SD is acceptable, at work I've also used an wireless audo video sender (between floors) with some success. Not the same quality as a wired connection, but then I'm fighting every piece of wireless equipment on 2.4ghz in that area Btw, can also change channels remotely
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
40Mb VDSL (ISP AH Capped Unshaped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)

Last edited by Luke7777; 2017-03-17 at 15:37. .
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-03-17 , 15:21
MC Mpho's Avatar
MC Mpho MC Mpho is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 190
Hi Geoff,

I have highlighted this suggestion to our product development team.

Regards,
MC Mpho
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-03-29 , 12:52
AndrewD AndrewD is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 374
I researched this quite a bit before a "took the plunge". In my view the best solution is a True Matrix splitter. This allows any of your decoders to be viewed on an alternative monitor. The splitter comes with a remote so you can change it from the remote environment. Also due to cable lengths I went for the HDMI over Cat 6 option. Takes a little practice to get the Cat 6 plugs installed, but can easily be done by the "home installer".
Its not the cheapest option, but its bullet proof once its done.
HD cabling has all the kit you need.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-03-29 , 13:25
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,336
I could never get the remote of the Matrix splitter to work remotely, although my DStv remotes have no problem
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
40Mb VDSL (ISP AH Capped Unshaped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-03-29 , 21:21
AndrewD AndrewD is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 374
Mine works through the remote blasters
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-04-19 , 14:17
andrewgerm andrewgerm is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cape Town, Western Cape
Posts: 325
Thank you for that, MC Mpho!!
Myself (and a few others) have made mention elsewhere in the forums a while back I believe (and I'm sure Geoff contributed to anything we had said).

I know as part of the discussion, that there was also talk that the DRM could be kept intact.

What would be awesome, would then be to use something like a 4U (the small, non-PVR decoders), not as a 3rd (or more) viewing environment, but as a way to access the Exploras over a network, just to view recordings or downloads on those (and why not just ask to view the live view remotely too).

Buying one of those would likely be a lot cheaper than setting up a bunch of HDMI switches, converters, long cable runs, etc. I believe the cost of that sort of setup would be a lot more expensive than just getting a 4U decoder and connecting via ethernet.

Please? I'm sure we'll all send you some beer or tea emoji
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Supersport streaming is the worst streaming service I've ever used... SinisterKay DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 92 2014-04-19 13:15
New Remote suggestion Barendb Remote Controls 2 2010-06-18 18:37